Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX479

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MX479

Enjoy new levels of printing convenience with utilizing features such as AirPrint and Google Cloud Print. The Automatic Document Feeder holds 30 sheets, making it easier to copy, scan or fax multiple page documents. FastFront enables you to quickly and easily change ink and add paper all from the front of the printer. With the optional XL or XXL pigment black ink cartridge, you won't have to replace your ink cartridges as often.
Average Customer Rating:
1.923 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
8
0 out of 3(0%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX479
Review 1 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: grammabanana
Location: Chicago, Il
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

almost what I wanted

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2014
Basically it is a good printer except I can't seem to get it to work wirelessly. I do appreciate that it doesn't shake while printing. I do find the instruction manual confusing and I once had a really bad paper jam that I was certain I would have to take in to a repair shop to fix. I definitly would like this machine better if it would open up so that I could remove the paper jam. I do admit I haven't tried to fax on it yet, It handles large jobs but the tray to hold the copied or printed paper is too small and the paper falls on the floor.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: Misse
Location: Apple Valley, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Unhappy customer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2014
This printer came with no written directions for it's use. All it said was to go online and get digital instructions. I have used a Canon Pixma for over 7 years with not a day of trouble until it stopped feeding the paper. I purchased another Pixma and it is a total nightmare. I sometimes find it necessary to scan and print a document NOT ON COMPUTER. Of the 6 that I tried to scan and print, I was only able to be successful with two.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: Duke
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Rotten luck

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2014
Had to return this model to the store for a refund due to the fact that although the printer was connected it would not show up on the system, no matter what. Unfortunately they had no other models to exchange it with, so I was forced to go with a different brand.
So sorry!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: ionic programmer
Location: Binghamton, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

excellent printer and scanner with great features

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2014
I have had this printer for about 6 months and I really like it. Scanning works great, printing is great, wireless is easy to set up and use. Some people are complaint about very minor things like printing with the paper door closed and scan formats. These are things you should have looked into before buying the printer. Don't buy a printer that doesn't do what you want to do and then berate the item for it. Again, I really really like this printer. It does exactly what you would expect a wireless printer and scanner to do, and does it well. Even draft mode prints look really good. There are a large bevy of printing options. Scanning is decently fast and you can scan multiple items into one document. Perfect!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: v
Location: Richmond Ca
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Pixma Mx 479

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2014
Wish I had read reviews before purchase. I have had to reinstall 2X and still can not print. Have gone over the manual, followed online suggestions to no avail HELP
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: j
Location: MI/FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

no good

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2014
Not user friendly. Have 890 and love it. My surface recognized 890 and hooked up with no problem. 479 will not hook up.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: liz
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Fax trouble

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2014
Having trouble faxing' can't seem to send or receive fax
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: theonlyiceman
Location: Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice capable printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2014
Our Canon MP620 gave up the ghost after many years of trouble free service so decided to get another Canon. This one was easy to set up as long as you download the installer package from Canon website. Does a good job of printing and automatically detected the wireless printer from 2 laptops. Tried to set up IPad air print and the photo printer worked first time but document printer will take a little manual configuration. Overall, pretty easy. Can't beat the price and features.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: ibtran
Location: Tucson
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Sbasically Third Rate

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2014
Cover can not be closed without emptying paper tray. Can only scan to PDF, not jpeg, or any other file type. Will not start automatically. You have to open paper output tray before it will print. My old MX340 would open automatically.Very poor design. Spend the extra bucks to get a real three-in-one.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: Arnie
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Does not wifi scan or fax

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2014
I have had this cannon fax printer for a for a few months now and all I can do is copy. I can't scan or send or receive a fax. The instructions are extremely poor.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: ooo
Location: illinois
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2014
not reccamended cheap poor construction not impressed poor plastic poorly put together im gonna get my money back
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: g.r.
Location: Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Product replacement: No

WORST PURCHASE EVER!!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2014
Cons: not compatible with mac & canon site stinks
If you have a Mac stay far away from this printer. I have been trying to setup the printer with no luck. Have searched online to find how to setup this horrible printer and can not download the setup manual or link. Have been trying to get this printer to work but without setup it is useless. This was a gift and sadly going to ask my sister to return it for a different brand. What a waste of my time.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: JM
Location: Bad
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

BAD

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2014
Cons: understand instrustion ~ imcomplete
Can't understand Instrucvtion ~ Can't fax ~ Can't up-date time & Date!!!!!!! Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site