Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX479

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MX479

Enjoy new levels of printing convenience with utilizing features such as AirPrint and Google Cloud Print. The Automatic Document Feeder holds 30 sheets, making it easier to copy, scan or fax multiple page documents. FastFront enables you to quickly and easily change ink and add paper all from the front of the printer. With the optional XL or XXL pigment black ink cartridge, you won't have to replace your ink cartridges as often.
Average Customer Rating:
2.548 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
15
0 out of 3(0%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX479
Review 1 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: amcc
Location: Augusta GA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Top Notch

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2015
This printer is Top Notch, that is what I expected and that is what I got.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: luv2photo
Location: Pennsylvania
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

does well

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2015
The printer prints nicely, and scans nicely. I wish it had more controls and the option to scan at a higher resolution so I can enlarge some of my smaller photos.
The included software is not as user friendly as would like. It can be hard if not impossible to adjust the photo to fit in the given window. I have most often opted to print from other software that will let me adjust my photos as I see fit. It also will not let you say print 8x10 on letter size paper. you have to pick letter paper and then the "layout" you want, and hope it turns out to be the right size. Also you can not add papers, such as transparencies or t-shirt transfers.
I do love the wireless feature to print from my phone. All in all good value for the money, not the best I have owned not the worst either.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: Anonymous

Better as an artificial reef

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2015
What a waste of money. I have spent more time managing this piece of junk than any other printer I have owned. I have to reset the wifi every day - I am not exaggerating. And before you say it Canon, it is not the wifi. I have tablets, laptops and smart TVs and none of them have to be reset EVERY DAY! It is my fault though, I went for budget and I got what I paid for. Now I flush the money I spent on it down the drain! This was my second attempt at Canon - never again Canon!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: nacede43
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2015
Worst printer I have ever had. Absolutely can't get it to scan. Canon directions are worthless. The little unlit LCD information screen is too dark to read. I have to shine a flashlight on it.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: L.Marie.Murph
Location: Chicago, Il
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2015
I gave it a four out of five only because I wish the tray that holds the printed documents were a little longer to hold the documents as it prints. All in all, it's a great printer for students and what I need. I love AirPrint as well as Google cloud print.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: Grad student
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2015
This is a great printer. Easy to install and use. Uses very little ink. A must have. Love it.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: toad
Location: Norwood NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

like the way it works

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2015
I like the easy with which it works and the brightness of the color printed on the paper. The print looks like a laser printer did the work.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: dedmale
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2015
The best printer I have owned. It was easy to set up and it is simple and easy to use as a wireless or with a modem as I do.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: Charlie
Location: Lafayette, LA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2015
This printer has it all and is very easy to use. It would have gotten 5 stars except I think setting the printer up could be easier. Took over an hour to finally have it set up to print wirelessly from computer.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: goatman
Location: AR
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

poor

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2015
showing same problems with paper feed as last canon i sent back
Review 11 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: Patti Reviewing
Location: NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good printer, but not with stacked envelopes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015
This is the second time I purchased the MX470 series printer. It's a great buy for the price. Prints very quickly. I don't use it for pictures so I cannot comment on the quality there.
I use it every day for printing invoices and envelopes. It is very reliable but does not work well with envelopes that are stacked. It grabs more than one at a time and then jams the printer. When I print one envelope at a time it works perfectly.
I never print anything in color, yet the color ink runs out at the same rate as the black ink, which is very frequently.
Even though I bought this printer a second time, I don't think I'd buyit again. However, it is OK for someone who is not going to work it as often as I do.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: Frusty
Location: Grand Island, NE
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

JUNK

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2015
Maybe it works - who knows!
Why a reputable company would produce something this complex with no written instructions and hidden on line manuals is a mystery. Got it to send FAX and all it says
is how to receive. Had it 3 days & spent HOURS.
Taking it back. CANON, we have bought our last
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: Jay
Location: San Anotnio,TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Bad product, dont waste your money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2015
Very difficult to get this product to work o wireless
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: trish
Location: Killeen, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great for the price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2014
This printer does exactly what it claims to do. Setup was a bit confusing because of the router I have but I was able to get it connected after reviewing the online manual steps. I just wanted to clarify that it is compatible with MAC (I have it connected to my MAC and my PC) contrary to what another reviewer posted. I honestly have no complains about the machine. It was well worth the price and does exactly what it is supposed to do.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: Prof.
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Very poor design

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2014
Poor design, wastes a lot of desktop space. Control panel is inadequate for wireless set up making getting this thing on a network very difficult.
Print quality is OK. About as expected.
As a vehicle to drive ink sales, it is a failure because people just aren't going to use this thing for the long haul.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: Love it! Hate it!
Location: Henderson, KY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Hang in there....it may be worth the frustration!

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2014
I have been a Canon customer for years....Canon point and shoots, Canon Scanner, Canon photo printer, etc. All have been fine. I have stuck with Canon because when I had a problem with a point-and-shoot they responded quickly and helpfully. BUT THIS ALL-IN-ONE PRINTER has about ended my Canon patronage. It's not the print or scanning but THE SET-UP. It made me want to pull my hair out, as other reviews spoke to. It came with minimal guidance and what was available in the internet was not much more helpful. I finally got the printer set up but I couldn't tell you how it came together, frankly. I spent hours trying to set up and then retry and then retry. But, it works fine now although I haven't used it much. It is quick; the quality is excellent; it is noisy and it goes through all sorts of gyrations when you turn it on. It has soured me on Canon, unfortunately. Will I stay with Canon? The jury remains out.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: Skeeter
Location: NC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon Pixma 479

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2014
I have owned several printers but this one is by far the best. Easy setup. I really like the wireless connection. No problem to print from my computer, phone, or tablet. This is a great buy for the money. My first Canon and will not be my last.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: Reed
Location: Ellijay, Ga
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014
I had my MX479 less than two months when the bottom half of each page started printing blurry--both print and picture.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: grammabanana
Location: Chicago, Il
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

almost what I wanted

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2014
Basically it is a good printer except I can't seem to get it to work wirelessly. I do appreciate that it doesn't shake while printing. I do find the instruction manual confusing and I once had a really bad paper jam that I was certain I would have to take in to a repair shop to fix. I definitly would like this machine better if it would open up so that I could remove the paper jam. I do admit I haven't tried to fax on it yet, It handles large jobs but the tray to hold the copied or printed paper is too small and the paper falls on the floor.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX479
Nickname: Misse
Location: Apple Valley, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Unhappy customer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2014
This printer came with no written directions for it's use. All it said was to go online and get digital instructions. I have used a Canon Pixma for over 7 years with not a day of trouble until it stopped feeding the paper. I purchased another Pixma and it is a total nightmare. I sometimes find it necessary to scan and print a document NOT ON COMPUTER. Of the 6 that I tried to scan and print, I was only able to be successful with two.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site