Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM

EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 10 -18mm 1:4.5-5.6 Lens Construction 14 elements in 11 groups Diagonal Angle of View: 107° 30' - 74° 20' Focus Adjustment: Rear focus system
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM
Review 1 for EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: jetalbert
Location: Washing DC suburbs
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Nice & Wide Lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2015
This is my first wide angle lens and I can not be happier. I use this lens on a 60D and a 70D Mark 2, but even with the crop factor it's still pretty wide. I am very happy with the image quality. Now to photograph a whole new world.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: KansasShooter
Location: Kansas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent, affordable ultra-wide

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2015
I've only had this lens for two weeks, but it's already a favorite. I do video and stills for organizations, businesses and individuals who can benefit from professional photography but can't afford the typical invoice, so I have to watch my costs. This lens, though certainly not as durable as an L series lens, rivals the famed 16-35mm L glass in sharpness and general optical performance. If you are careful with your gear, want uncompromising optical performance, shoot on APS-C sensor Canon cameras and CAN compromise a bit on maximum aperture, this lens may be for you. The STM focus motor is very quiet – almost silent – and greatly enhances video work with the constant focus ability on cameras like the 70D and EOS-M.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: Zeee
Location: CT
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

best ultra wide with low price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2015
I bought this lense for my 70d and so far i am very much satisfied with it. It's fast and smooth, Auto focus is just perfect. Built quality is also pretty good. Trust me it's the best ultra wide one could get for this price!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: pcnew
Location: Birmingham, al
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2014
Lens is sharp throughout the zoom range even wide open. Vignetting is minimal in the corners wide open. Highly recommend this lens for landscape photography.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: Bomed
Location: Il
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2014
Perfect lens for indor realestate photography. Sharp, flawless images.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: G. Kinchen
Location: Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Fast Auto-Focus, Super-Sharp Images

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2014
Pros: Super-sharp images, image stabilization
The EF-S 10-18 mm f/4.5-5.6 IS S.T.M lens is a great lens for the price. Canon has closed the gap between professional and pro-sumer photographer. This lens is Sharp, Quiet and light weight. Mounted on a Canon 7D this lens performs well especially with Image Stabilization. Photos were sharp and focus is fast. Great Price with IS for this lens....Compared to others in Ultra Wide Angle Range. Overall performance gets the grade A and this Lens for this range is a Great Choice....
34 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: Pairadice Music
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: Poor build quality
The E F-S 10-18 mm f/4.5-5.6 IS S.T.M lens are the best by far for an S.T.M Ultra Wide Angle Lens.When i first shot with it i was amazed an in such shock by the performance and quickness.It was very sharp and quiet,the weight made it even more comfortable to do hand held shots and angles for a longer amount of time.The lens is plastic and as well as the back mount,that's the only thing i'm that's not 5 Star about this lens.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: velize3
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2014
A great product for the price. I bought this for a couple of weddings I was attending and I got great pictures at both of them. No complaints yet.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: Jim
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

New Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
I had been thinking about a super wide angle lens for awhile and had kicked around the idea of getting the 10-22mm lens for my 60D, but I wasn't sure if I'd use it enough to justify the price. Then Canon came out with this new 10-18mm STM IS lens, and at this price range I knew I had to have it. Went out shooting today and boy do I like it so far! The AF seems very quick, and all of my pictures seemed quite sharp. I was pretty much shooting from AV 4.5 to 8 today. The Image Stabilization is really nice for indoor shots where you need a slower shutter speed to get enough light. I did not have a problem with camera shake / blur in my indoor shots today at all. Outdoors in the sun, I could shoot at a much faster shutter speed, so I'm not sure if the IS made a difference or not, but I can say that all of my shots outdoors were sharp as well. I had heard a few people mention some vignetting in corners at 10mm with this lens and thought I was getting some as well, but then realized that even with an extremely shallow and wide lens hood on, it was just the hood making the corners dark - doh! I took the hood off and voila, no more dark corners! I did not notice any vignetting in corners at all without a lens hood, and this lens is so wide that I would not recommend using a lens hood with it or you may learn the hard way, like I did. You can get some really cool pictures of things focusing on objects or people in the foreground, and having the super wide background. It gives a perspective that I can't get with my other lenses, and I'm really glad I added this one to my collection - love it so far! I rated this lens all 5's except for a 4 on build quality. Now don't get me wrong, this lens feels very tight and solid to me and it's light, but not at all cheap feeling. The only reason I gave it a 4 on build is that it has a plastic lens mount, so I didn't feel I could rate that part quite as high as I would one of my metal mount lenses like my 85mm f1.8 or my 18-135mm. However, my 50mm and 55-250mm lenses also have plastic lens mounts and I've never had any problem whatsoever with them and they both get a lot of use. I'm fine with the plastic lens mount, and it's well worth it to me because it means Canon was able to put this lens right in the price range I wanted - perfect! For me personally, I'd rather have the IS and STM on this lens with a plastic mount, than give those up for a metal mount and a higher price, but that's just my personal preference. Others may feel differently, which is obviously why Canon makes such a wide variety of lenses, and kudos to them for doing so! If you have a crop sensor DSLR and are thinking about a super wide angle lens, I highly recommend this one. I was positively giddy looking at the pictures I took today with this lens. Really pleased to have this new tool in my camera bag! Great job Canon on putting this high quality lens at such a great price point. Worth every penny and I'm so glad I got it!
69 of 69 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: kangurw
Location: Newark, NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Its a very good wide zoom lens for that price.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
Cons: Poor build quality
I bought this lens because the price. I give a try, and I was suprise with the quality of pictures with a 70D. Images is sharp when I crop 100%.
I am very happy with this lens
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM
Nickname: Kevin M
Location: PA, USA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Wide-angle STM

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus
Cons: lower build quality
I was happy to see Canon release a wide-angle EF-s STM lens. I purchased it for shooting wide-angle video. The lens focuses very fast and quiet, has very good color, contrast, and is fairly sharp for wide-angle. The only down-side is the lens has a plastic lens mount. I don't think this will be too much of an issue, due to limited use, but I would have paid an extra $50 for a tad better build quality.
So far, the lens is performing as expected and has very good image quality. I'm happy to have it in my lens bag.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site