Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS 35mm SLR Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS 35mm SLR Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS-1v

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

EOS-1v

Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS-1v
Review 1 for EOS-1v
Nickname: d2f
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

no excuses anymore

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2010
Pros: Superior build quality, Good light-metering, easy to use, bright viewfinder & 100% view
Cons: loose battery compartment, battery power level indicator not linear, control wheel does take some getting used to
Each camera I have owned enabled me to express myself in different ways. Yet each had it's unique set of limitations, but this is not the case with this Canon Film Flagship. The viewfinder is bright and clear of distractions, the focusing is fast and accurate, and the metering good enough for about 95% of the situations I have come across so far. The key to solving those tricky situations is manual overrides, which in this case are easy to access and use. All of this leads to increased confidence in this tool, this in turn is reflected in the photographs I create using it. Also I no longer carry a second camera body.
Bottom line, there is no excuse anymore for not producing the very best images quality wise, leaving only myself and my imagination as the truly limiting factor.
The only small nit I have is the battery compartment sometimes comes loose and camera loses power. A little loc-tight may solve that problem. Also the battery power indicator sometimes appears to be misleading, showing full power at start up only to settle down to some mid level just a minute later, but this could be an artifact of the copy I own or the battery itself.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS-1v
Nickname: Pellix guy
Location: Tampa, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Extremely durable & accurate!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Nice custom functions, Superior build quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Good light-metering, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Owning 2 EOS 1N bodies, I purchased the 1V to replace one of the 1N's. To my surprise the increase in functionality & accuracy of the camera's functions over the 1N was amazing. When the 1V was introduced around 2000, I didn't think it offered that many advances over the 1N.... WOW! Was I wrong!!! On a recent lengthy excursion, I shot 30 rolls of EKTACHROME 100VS, 25 rolls VELVIA & 20 rolls of ELITECHROME 100X, MOSTLY w/ the 1V. Since chrome processing is NOT subject to an operator's eye, the comparison between those rolls shot w/ the 1V & the 1N are dramatic. Too bad that digital has dominated the photo scene so much in the past several years. I can't imagine CANON being able to make a 1V any better than they did!!!!
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS-1v
Nickname: Dragon
Location: Portland, Oregon
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Best Film Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice custom functions, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Good light-metering
One of the very best film cameras ever made.
I had a lot of different cameras of the past 35 years, and this one is a jewel !!!
Thank you Canon.
No cons.
It is a superb camera in every way !!!
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS-1v
Nickname: dvsphoto
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great photos

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, Nice custom functions, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Good light-metering
Cons: Difficult to use
I have enjoye using this camera for years, it's very dependable in most situations. Very diverse in it's ablity to go from a protrait shot to a moving sporting event. Better the most pro digital cameras I've used in the past.
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS-1v
Nickname: santa monica
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

built to last; pro-quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice custom functions, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
I bought my used 10 years ago, and it's operated without a hitch since then. Including heavy use in 70 countries, in temperatures ranging from -15 to 120 F. It is a heavy camera, but it's designed to be used by professionals, to last-and-last, and to withstand the rigors of heavy use, so I guess it would not be realistic to expect a light weight. I could not be happier with this camera, and only wish I could afford to also buy the digital version of this! (I use a Sekonic light meter, so I cant' speak to the accuracy of the in-camera meter.)
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS-1v
Nickname: KSPhoto
Location: Chicago,Il
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Wish I could have done better

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice custom functions
Cons: Poor light-metering, fair photo guality, light meter inaccurate, heavy
I have found that the meter to be inaccurate and hard to predict and the photo quality suffered on most of the photos. Heavy
10 of 74 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS-1v
Nickname: canon man
Location: Vina,Al
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

one of the best investment for film cameras

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
This camera is top of the line in film camera by canon I've own this camera for about 3 years with the professional lenses this a truely awesome camera, It fits and feels great in your hands I have 2 lenses the f2.8 200mm image stablization and the f2.8 17-70mm and the picture is as real as you can get. I would highly recommend this product.
41 of 46 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS-1v
Nickname: ssully
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

6 years later

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice custom functions, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Good light-metering
Cons: weight
I bought mine used 6 years ago after I got fed up fixing my Rebel 2000 & wish I had bought it sooner! I still use it a lot even after switching to digital(Rebel Xti) 1 1/2 years ago. It's been going to sea with me since I got it & still works fine.
13 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS-1v
Nickname: Doctor
Location: Athens
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

THE BEST SLR EVER ! ! !

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2008
Pros: Superior build quality, easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice custom functions, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Good light-metering, super fast autofocus
I own this camera for a few years now and i have used it in a variaty of situations from sports and wild life to landscapes to macro to portrait. The beast is the best of them all!!! Build like a tank, metering excellent, autofocus super fast, ten frames per second, what else can you ask for... I even find it cheap now that i know what it's capable of!!!! This camera is the reason i've not gone digital yet. And i am not going to for now!
145 of 161 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site