Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 35mm f/2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

EF 35mm f/2

Minimum focusing distance of only 0.8 feet (25cm) You can approach the subject closer and still obtain a more natural wide-angle effect Beautiful background blur at wide apertures 7 elements in 5 groups
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 35mm f/2
Review 1 for EF 35mm f/2
Nickname: Ry
Location: CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Fantastic lens!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, high contrast
Cons: no lens hood included
Got this lens today, tested it right away, took about a hundred or so shots.. very impressed, faster focus than the 50 1.8 MK2. Great contrasty images! Bokeh pleasant and not harsh at all. Build quality is great given the price, but could have come with a hood? focus is spot on. Using it on a 600D. Havnt tried it on a FF yet..
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 35mm f/2
Nickname: chelseamh
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus
I upgraded to this lens recently after the kit lens my dad and I have been sharing for almost 10 years now totally broke. It was definitely time for an update because I needed a good lens to go with my new Canon 60D. I'm really pleased with this lens because you get a lot for a relatively small price tag. A complaint I've heard about this lens is how noisy the focus ring is, which is true it's pretty loud but I've gotten used to it at this point. It focuses very quickly and produces pretty sharp images. You do lose sharpness wide open but that expected. I love how the focus grip doesn't effect the focus when you're in auto focus mode. You don't have to worry at all about bumping the lens and damaging the focus, which is actually a reason why my old lens broke. Overall I'm super pleased with this lens.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 35mm f/2
Nickname: VA Pro
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

excellent value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2012
Pros: Super-sharp images, great size/performance
EF 35/2 is a great buy, for the price I was not expecting the image quality this lens delivers - very sharp wide open, and it only gets better stopped down. Bokeh is usually very smooth, however stopped down a bit the iris opening makes for visible pentagrams if there's pinpoint highlights in the out of focus area; doesn't bother me at all, but some may find it objectionable. Flare is decently controled, chromatic aberation is visible at wide apertures but less trouble than some other comparable optics I've shot. AF speed is plenty fast though a little noisy. Small size, light weight, and respectable build make this lens handle well. I love it!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 35mm f/2
Nickname: nature lover
Location: chicago
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great for macro.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2012
Pros: Super-sharp images, low light
Just took this lens to Alaska and on a cruise ship. Great for flowers and moss pictures. Of course good for portraits, but the best thing was being able to limit the use of your flash, due to the f2.0. I love this lens!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 35mm f/2
Nickname: Hardcoreboy
Location: illinois
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

One of the sharpest lenses ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2011
Pros: Super-sharp images, light, price
Cons: low contrast images
The Canon 35mm f2 is a lens of excellent value and performance. One of the sharpest lenses ever, hands down!
Build is similar to the 50mm 1.8 mk2 lens except that this lens has a metal mount instead of plastic. It also has a distance scale like old school lenses...actually it is actually one of canons older lenses. Focus is not bad considering it does not have USM. Unlike the 50mm mk2, the focus ring does not rotate on autofocus which is good. It has a bigger and better focus ring too. Ultra sharp details if used as a portrait lens. Similar to the 50mm. This in my observation is sharper at wider apertures. At f2 it is really sharp. Sharper when you stop down. Excellent focal range when used on a non full frame camera.
The only complaint I have is the washed out colors. On this aspect the 50mm 1.8 is better, giving you more contrasty images. The solution to this is post processing. Other than that I highly recommend this lens.
Highly recommended for non full frame cameras. Good for full frame users too!
38 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 35mm f/2
Nickname: Mr. Cong
Location: East Orange, N.J.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Grab it while you can

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
Pros: add a pro
This little lens is a joy to use - it is, at once, light weight, fast, sharp, and small. Due to its physical dimensions, it is unobtrusive when mounted and focuses both quickly and accurately. I does NOT use an ultrasonic motor, but there are no problems with it hunting for focus or noise ( just a soft buzz ).Because of its focal lenth, maximum aperture, weight and size, it makes an excellent 'normal' lens for an APS-C camera. Due to its age and contruction, it may well be discontinued, so get it while you can.
14 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 35mm f/2
Nickname: zarley
Location: Southern California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Soft Images from f/2 to f/3.2

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus
Cons: soft images from f/2.0 to f/3.2
I've only had this lens for a couple weeks, but the softness of the images at the wider apertures is really noticable. From f/2.0 to f/3.2 things are very soft. By f/4.5 the sharpness becomes quite good and seems very sharp at f/5.6.
I had hoped to use this lens as a replacement for the kit lens that came with my T1i, but the image quality at comperable settings (35mm, f/4.5, 1/60s) is no better with the 35mm fixed lens. When I open up the aperture to get better low-light performance, the sharpness goes out the window, so it's hard to decide if that trade off is worthwile.
The auto-focus seems adequate, and the noise of the auto-focus motor is really not an issue. If it were sharper across all apertures it would be a 5-star lens, no doubt.
22 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 35mm f/2
Nickname: Reggie
Location: Quebec Canada
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

35mm f2.0

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality
I have tried many lenses for indoor sports but this one has to be the best.I shoot mainly Taekwondo action in bad lighting and this lens never lets me down .Starting at f2.0 to f2.8 my pictures are tack sharp every time.I use the 50D and this combo is just the best. The other great prime lens I use is the 100mm f2.0
35 of 39 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 35mm f/2
Nickname: Lrn2Go
Location: Oklahoma City, Ok
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Lens, Just get it!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2009
Pros: Fast auto-focus, great in low-light, light weight, excellent value
Cons: noisy when focusing, tends to want to over-expose just a hair
I read several reviews on all manner of lenses before I pulled the trigger on this one. I needed a lens to photograph quick moving subjects in restaurants and dimly-lit clubs without the use of a flash... and my kit lens with my Rebel XSI wasn't cutting it (minimum F/3.5). Well... I decided I wanted to go with a prime... based on price standpoint, approximate average distance, my enjoyment of moving around for my shots, and quicker lenses.
There was an EF-S style lens from another manufacturer, the 35mm 1.4L from Canon, and finally this lens. Since I decided I may want to step up to a full frame some day, I ditched the EF-S style one, and I just couldn't justify the cost of the L glass at this time. Anyway... fast forwarding my story, I got the lens a few days later and hooked it up. It's been months since then, and it's only come off a handful of times... and always goes right back on. I love the 56mm equivalent crop on my CMOS sensor. My pictures in the clubs have gone up to the next level in clarity, they're much brighter, the bokeh is amazing, AND I've less motion blur... that's just about all I can ask for!
One downside... at least on the lens I have. It tends to over-expose from what your meter in the camera is saying. Don't be afraid to shoot just a hair on the "dark" side to retain all of your highlights. That's about the only complaint I have! Sure... it doesn't have the HSM motor... it's a little screechy, but it's really stinking quick and effective!
Great lens for the money. If you're on the fence about it and don't think you want to foot the bill on the L glass... don't wait, just do it! You'll love it!
47 of 48 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 35mm f/2
Nickname: Jin SF

Decent lens for the price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2009
Pros: low price, 50mm alike focal length on 1.6x sensor, fast lens f/2, compact and light weight
Cons: un-sharp before f/4, loud focus
I got this lens using on my 40D for its focal length is near 50MM on the 1.6X of 40D's sensor. Canon offer two version of this lens; this is one of the two; the other choose is the 1.4L which cost 5 times to this lens.
You really get for how much you pay. Sharpness is a big problem until F/4. That means from F/2.8 - F/2, sharpness is not very sharp at all, but something that is great for portrait because the blurring effect makes the skin softer. Focus noise is the loudest compared to all the Canon's lenses I have used, but under noisy situation, that is not a problem. Focusing speed is decently fast. Chromatic Aberrations again is a real problem under high contrast scene. built guilty is far better than the kit lens.
dispute of the negatives, overall I really love this lens. The standard 50mm alike focal length in my 40D is great for everyday photo and after all this is the cheapest lens I own, consider it as a bargain.
50 of 65 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site