Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 20mm f/2.8 USM

EF 20mm f/2.8 USM

Ultra wide-angle lens Easy to hold and carry at 14.3 oz. (405g) Floating rear focusing system 11 elements in 9 groups
Average Customer Rating:
3.364 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
7 out of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 20mm f/2.8 USM
Review 1 for EF 20mm f/2.8 USM
Nickname: east coast
Location: New Yprk, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

nice lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2014
Pros: build quality, sharp, light weight
I purchased this lens used (1 month old )and was a little cautious about it's value.Took some pictures and was very pleased.Having other wide angle Len's to compare with 24-105,24-85 and17-40 I can say this 20mm lens is as good or better tan most of the other lens.I like the build quality and how light it is and it is very sharp.My 5D mark 3 helps with it's lens correction.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 20mm f/2.8 USM
Nickname: Denver Bryan
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Skip it

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2013
Cons: Semi-sharp images, color cast, intense vignetting
I've had this lens for several years. The images are soft at all apertures. There's a color cast. There's massive vignetting, though PIC removes it pretty well.
You'd be better served to save your money for the 17-40 zoom.
16 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 20mm f/2.8 USM
Nickname: MountainPacker
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Not the best

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2013
Cons: Semi-sharp images, color cast
Images have a purple cast and are a little soft at all apertures. Save your money until you can buy the 17-40 instead, you'll get sharper images.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 20mm f/2.8 USM
Nickname: =CB=
Location: Florida swampland
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

A great lens!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality
Cons: a little big and heavy for a 20mm
I've had the EF 20mm/2.8 for about four years. Can't be happier with it, except maybe I'd like a smaller, lighter version. You just can't have it all.
The performance is very good. Edge sharpness, on film or digital full frame, shows some softness wide open, but it crisps up very well by f/4.0. Focusing is fast and exact.
I keep a filter on mine always, no signs of additional vignetting caused by the addition of a full thickness filter. The front does not rotate - polarization filters are not a hassle. Corner darkening does exist, but also cleans up in the middle apertures.
I like this lens, I shoot with it quite a bit. More than the medium length lenses, I tend to shoot wide mostly. I currently use two EF 28mm lenses (2.8 and 1.8), a EF 24mm-105mmL, and this EF 20mm/2.8 for my wide angle lenses. For bodies I've got an A2e and Rebel-Xs for film, and a 5d-mk ii and Rebel XTi for digital. I am an avid amateur, but do shoot the occasional wedding and products commercially.
Wish all the Canon lenses came with their respective hoods!
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 20mm f/2.8 USM
Nickname: Canonfodder
Location: Coconut Creek (SE) FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Panned by the press, So what?

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2012
Pros: excellent close ups, great dof, light weight/small, very sharp
Cons: falloff/vignetting, can't stack filters
Have had this lens since the mid 1990's when the street price was high. Yes there is corner falloff and vignetting in a 5D MKll, so what shoot around those limitations and you have one fine lens. Stacking filters is not a good idea. I get tack sharp results very fast autofocus, great low light performance and you can stick it in someones face and get a nice shot that isn't so exagerated that it looks comic book. Takes great close ups with great depth of field. I recommend that anyone who has difficulty first try the autofocus lens compensation on the 5DMKll and see if that helps. I have used this on three other APS Canons also several film EOS's(remember film) with equally nice results You also may want to use the 10-22 ES for even better results..
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 20mm f/2.8 USM
Nickname: ktiepark
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years

Lens Quality

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2011
Reading previous reviews about this lens, I was very timid to purchase this lens, but I needed a wide angle lens and this was in my price range. The auto-focus is a little slow in low light [but most lens are] and the crispness of an image at f2.8 takes a little more effort, but overall I think it gets the job done, takes wonderful landscape photographs, and for this price, I don't think you can get anything better. Yes, this lens creates some vignetting stopped all the way open, but it is an ultra-wide wide angled lens, almost fisheye so there's obviously going to be a little. There is also some distortion depending on your area of focus, but again at 20mm, it's almost a fisheye. The distortion is easily correct in photoshop, and like I said earlier depending on your composition and subject matter, most won't even notice.
Overall I think its a great purchase for the ultra-wide angle, price, and quality. Like any lens, it has it's problem areas, and any knowledgable photographer can work their way around it.
Like I said earlier, I love love love using this to shoot landscapes. It can capture so much information, and the color and detail it captures make this lens worth it for me. Seriously, you'll be shocked with how much information you can squeeze into one frame with this camera. I use it with the 5D Mark II - which I feel you would need a full frame camera to really make the most out of this lens.
17 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 20mm f/2.8 USM
Nickname: Luigi
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Awful resolution

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus
Cons: Semi-sharp images
I' ve used it for few days. Resolution on 5d mark 2 is horrible.
Very fast the usm autofocus.
13 of 53 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 20mm f/2.8 USM
Nickname: Lenoir
Location: Hong Kong
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Good value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, light weight, good color and contrast
Cons: vignettes on full frame when wide open
This was a great value for what i wanted. I started using it on my rebel XT, because it was 2.8 and a really wide angle. I don't really buy many EF-S lens because I knew I would eventually move to full frame. The images are really nice and sharp with good contrast. I didn't notice any Vignetting until I did move to a full frame 5D mark II. Bringing the aperture up a few stops controls this only draw back. (and of course fixing it in post) This really is a nice lens and I would highly recommend to any one looking for a sharp, fast, wide angle EF lens.
46 of 48 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 20mm f/2.8 USM
Nickname: FotoDuo
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Not Great, but better than the alternatives.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2009
Pros: inexpensive for this focal length
Cons: poor corner quality
Vignettes badly at f2.8 and f4.
Corners not sharp at all at f2.8 and f4.
Good central sharpness at f4, f5.6 and f8.
Corners ok at f5.6, slightly better at f8.
Nice modeling effect and bokeh quality at f5.6 and f8.
Looks worse at f11 and smaller stops - diffraction?
Distortion is much less than any of the zoom alternatives.
Color rendition and contrast are good at f5.6 and f8.
Not a good reputation, so very inexpensive second-hand.
For extreme-wa shots at f5.6 or f8 it does the job, better to have than have not.
63 of 70 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 20mm f/2.8 USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality
Cons: Slow auto-focus
this is a good lens. i first got the lens over four years ago. i've taken it with me everywhere, and am always happy with the image quality.
however, it has slow auto-focus (an issue many canon lenses seem to have)
9 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 20mm f/2.8 USM
Nickname: ts
Location: upstate ny
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Unsharp at any f/stop

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2009
Very poor image quality, this lens is a dog. Lens sharpness fall-off at the edges is awful. This lens is always left behind.
73 of 109 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site