Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 28 f/1.8 USM

EF 28 f/1.8 USM

With the large maximum aperture, excellent background blur is possible even at fast shutter speeds The aspherical lens element makes the lens compact and corrects spherical aberrations Sharp images edge-to-edge Lead-free glass is used
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 28 f/1.8 USM
Review 1 for EF 28 f/1.8 USM
Nickname: sigxbill
Location: Colton, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

I LOVE THIS LENS!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2014
Pros: light, fast, quick autofocus, looks / feels well built, small, sharp, makes beautiful images easily, great event lens, quiet
Cons: none - just buy it
This is the 4th lens (all Canon) that I purchased for my full frame 5D Mk II, and I love it. This lens has relegated my slower mid-range IS zoom to the closet. In a side by side test at 28 mm in evening light, the images this lens produces blows those of my slower mid-range IS zoom away! I prefer this lens for walk around and events - basically anytime I am not shooting portraits. It feels light and not bulky, makes my camera much more enjoyable to carry around. On top of that, it looks great and feels very well built. The only reason I didn't 5 stars for: Features - is it is simple - which is a good thing. What more does it need? Performance - I have read that certain other fixed L lenses have very slightly more contrast at apertures wider than 2.8, which is hard for me to believe after using this one. If I hadn't read that, I would have given this lens 5 stars. Quality - 4 stars only because it is not metal, but it feels solid like metal, and thank goodness it isn't metal because otherwise it would be heavier. Since you are reading this, you obviously think you might need a fixed 28 mm. My suggestion is stop reading and just buy this lens - you won't be sorry - unless you feel like you want to spend more on an L lens ...
Review 2 for EF 28 f/1.8 USM
Nickname: Major
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Fast Primes Are Your Friend

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, fast aperture
I bought this lens because I wanted a fast prime. That's precisely what I got. As the other reviews have said, this lens works out to be very close to an actual nifty fifty focal length on a crop sensor like the T3i. In hindsight, I probably should have gone with a 35mm or a 50mm, but that has nothing to do with the quality of this lens, just my preference.
When I pulled this lens out of the box, I was thrown off by the weight. Coming from only having kit lenses before, the weight for the size of the 28mm was surprising to me. It's still very compact and wieldy, which is very nice for just bringing a camera and a lens with you on a trip. The working with a f/1.8 lens is great. Because of the fast aperture and short focal length, IS really isn't necessary. As I mentioned earlier, this lens works out to be roughly a 50mm, which I like because I learned on a film camera with a fast 50mm lens. However, you will still end up with the wide angle distortion.
On a full frame camera, the field of view is quite stunning. Great for medium to small rooms or getting a close foreground and distant background.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 28 f/1.8 USM
Nickname: ImNotSam
Location: Paris, France
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

You Can't Go Wrong.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, great price/quality ratio
Cons: Poor build quality
This is truly a great piece of engineering. I bought this lens with a wide-angle in mind, since I have a cropped sensor camera (T3i). The quality is great and the camera is perfect for street photography. I would personally refrain from using it for portraits... I use my 50mm for that. But that's personal choice!
All in all, I'd say you cannot go wrong with this lens. The images are sharp, the focus is smooth.
The only thing I could see people complaining about is the fact that it has a plastic body, which may make it feel a little cheap. But that is soon forgotten once your camera is turned on!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 28 f/1.8 USM
Nickname: robpossible
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years

Nice lens on a EOS crop sensor

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2012
On a EOS crop sensor this lens works out to be a 44mm lens, which is probably why I like it so much. I've used it on a full frame camera too and it distorts on the edges, this is pretty cool too and makes the lens pretty versatile. The glass is nice and I'd buy this lens over and over just to make sure I had it in my bag.
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 28 f/1.8 USM
Nickname: Matt'sPhotoDesign
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Perfect!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This is my first lens away from T2i kit. It was a GREAT investment, the quality and feel of this lens is solid. The Focus is quick and silent and the focus ring is nothing to complain about. Before you buy, I suggest you do some research on Depth of Field. It will be something you will have to learn to understand if you plan on using F/3.5 or lower.
I am more than satisfied with this lens, it's the perfect everyday lens. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise
29 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 28 f/1.8 USM
Nickname: Michgirl
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Little Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, lightweight
Cons: no hood included
I have a T1i and mostly use the 15-85mm lens. Recently faced with a holiday shopping weekend in Chicago, I knew I wanted to bring my camera, but not carry around a heavy lens all day. I also wanted something that would take great indoor shots, restaurants and bars, as well as wide enough for street shots. After much reserach, I selected this lens due to the f/1.8 and width of lens. The first shots I took were like "oh wow", the larger aperture that noticable. My weekend trip produced some wonderful pictures, and it handled all situations. It is now my indoor lens, while the 15-85 my outdoor lens. This lens has beautiful color and contrast, is very sharp and fast. I did outdoor night shots at 1/30 handheld and the shots are very sharp. I have not noticed much CA at all, only a shot or two, and it was only visible when enlarging the image to look for it. I am very pleased with this lens.
48 of 49 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 28 f/1.8 USM
Nickname: ophiuchus
Location: CT
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great on APS-C

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, great in low light condition, compact and solid
Cons: chromatic aberration, no lens hood as standard equipment
I bought this lens to replace the kit one, which came with my EOS450D. The difference is noticeable, esecially in focusing speed and low light performance. However the lens suffers from heavy chromatic aberration which is visible at almost any f-stop (easy to repair in post processing, but when using this lens on filmSLR - CA will be a problem). Yet I like it very much and currently it's my primary lens. I'd buy it again if had to ;) Shame, the lens hood needs to be bought separently though.
20 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 28 f/1.8 USM
Nickname: Prime lens lover
Location: Highland, UT
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Perfect for my T1i

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2009
Pros: fast lens, on the t1i it's a 40mm
I bought this lens to use on my T1i instead of the kit lens, it's the only lens I use on it. The images are sharp, I shoot wide open much of the time for people in existing light situations and catching the moment and am very happy with the results. For scenics I will try to shoot at an f8 and the sharpness and quality are hard to beat. Would recommend this to a friend and would buy it again myself.
24 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 28 f/1.8 USM
Nickname: Brandon
Location: NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Good wide angle

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus
Cons: heavy chromatic aberration
In short, this lens is great in low light, and not so great in bright light. The USM is very impressive, very fast focusing and locks on even in near dark conditions. It is a bit soft wide open but sharpens up at f/2.2 and at 2.8 it is very sharp. It's a little on the heavy side compared to a 50 f/1.4 but it is compact and easy to take into restaurants and places. Build quality is good and feels solid to use. I use this on a crop camera and love the focal length. It is wide enough to get a few people in a picture if you take a few steps back and has a nice minimum focusing distance for tighter shots. The only downside of this lens is the heavy chromatic aberrations produced in harsh lighting conditions. If you shoot in daylight with it, you're bound to have some. Not that it can't be fixed in post processing, but it is a bit of annoyance when shooting outdoors. Even stopped down a bit, there still remains some CA. Other than that, I love this lens and don't think I'll be selling it anytime soon.
46 of 49 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 28 f/1.8 USM
Nickname: Aequitas
Location: 203, CT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Good low light lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus
Cons: hood isnt the best
I take alot of pictures at concerts, mainly punk shows or shows where you can be close to the stage so zooming isn't a huge issue. (If I'm at bigger shows I'll use my 100mm Macro lens because its 2.8f and usually fast enough in low light situations, and takes great pictures too.) This lens is great for concerts, I can generally take pictures at any show without the use of flash. I've used this lens on a Rebel XTi and Elan 7NE and had great results with both. I use this lens the most out of the ones I own just because you can use it anywhere and there's not really too much of a distortion problem, unless you're taking portraits. I would not reccomend this for portraits obviously.
This lens is very sturdy and I have yet to have a problem with it. Its my main lens for urban exploring which means it gets beat up a little every now and then, I've even dropped it on a side walk and its fine!
Only problem I've had with this lens is the hood, but oh well, you can just use your hand to fix light problems.
Hope this was helpful.
I would recommend this mainly for low light situations where you don't want to use flash, and its great for landscapes as well.
67 of 71 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site