Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

L-series professional f/1.4 wide-angle lens with an aspherical lens element Floating system for high picture quality over all the focusing range Quick and quiet AF with rear focusing and ring USM Full-time manual focusing is possible
Average Customer Rating:
4.941 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Review 1 for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nickname: Still Learning
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

great lens for close up to portrait

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2013
Pros: good multi-purpose lens
After much research I decided on purchasing my first L lens. I had used a 35 mm film camera with a 50mm lens while in the Navy and found it suitable for most of the shots I was making. So the EF 35mm f/1.4L USM lens seemed like the best choice for my first L lens.
The EF 35mm 1.4 has been on my camera most of the past year. It is great for landscape, flowers, and portraits. Maybe it was because of the 1.6 conversion that makes a 35mm on my 7D look more like a 56mm or maybe because I do not make really close up portraits, but I have not seen the distortion that is so noticeable in many portraits made with wide angle lenses.
There was a learning curve with this lens when shooting at it closest distance. I now ensure the right things are in my narrow depth of field when shooting those closer subjects and using the more open f-stops (like 1.4).
My next buy will be an EF 12 II extension tube to get a little closer to making the EF 35mm 1.4L into a macro lens.
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: South Carolina
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Absolutely outstanding!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, works great w/ ff camera.
I have been photographing for 45 (forty-five) years and have used an assorted array of equipment, mostly in 35mm format.
Without question this lens is magnificent in IQ, handling and brightness. It is usually mounted to my 5D Mark III for street shooting, close-ups and informal portraits. Because I'm working with a FF camera, the added weight and bulk of this lens is inconsequential. It balances very nicely and has great perch for your hand. Manual focusing is also impeccable.
In short, this is one of my two dream lenses (the other being Canon's 135mm f/2 L USM).
Neither lens has stabilization, but that is a non factor, as I have decades of shooting w/o it and know what works.
The out-of-focus (bokeh for you "younguns" who prefer using Japanese) is very, very good.
So, the 35mm FL works much better (for me) versus the 50mm FL, which I feel is too tight on the street and for scene and scenic shooting.
29 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nickname: Ultrafox
Location: Somerset, Ky
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years

Great wide angle portrait lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2012
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, great bokeh
Cons: Slow auto-focus
This lens is great in low light and is an amazing portrait and wide angle lens. There IS some vignetting wide open, but it's not a big issue for me because I actually like a little vignetting. This lens produces very nice Bokeh wide open. This is a great wedding and portrait lens. I would definitely have this any day over the 35mm 2.0. It is worth saving the money for.
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nickname: Art
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2012
Pros: excellent clarity & color, is is great
Cons: no lens hood, no soft bag
I purchased the Canon 35mm f/1.4 L USM for use with a Canon 7D & 5D Mk II.
This lens is excellent on both cameras and is sharp from f/1.4 through f/11 (after which it softens - but is still very good).
It is basically L quality glass with a plastic body no L designation and of course no soft bag or even a lens hood which remains an optional accessory. This is why I gave the 3 - 4 star ratings. In light of the quality and cost these items should be included (IMO) never the less it is excellent glass and I would highly recommend it with the above notices.
9 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nickname: pennylane
Location: louisville, ky
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

My only lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2012
Pros: well built
I use this lens on a full frame body, it is the only lens i own, or need. i shoot landscsape and portraits. learning to shoot at 1.4 is a bit of a task, but not a painful one, it was fun practicing the technique. it's sharp all throughout the apertures, and yes, it's heavy but you'll carry the weight with pride.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nickname: sy
Location: colorado
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Happy with Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2012
Pros: sharpness, f1.4, strong construction, fast focus
Cons: chromatic aberration, a bit higher price
I was hesitant about purchasing this lens first because I already have 24-70mmL. But after I’ve seen enough sample images taken by this lens, I decided to go for it. These are my result of comparison.
CONS: 35mmL has significant chromatic aberration (purple fringes) at f1.4, probably up to almost f4 on 5DMkII. It’s much worse on APS-C sensor (50D in my case). On the other hand there is no CA problem with 24-70mmL @35mm & f2.8, maybe a little green fringes on 50D, but very minor. Some say soft on the edge and maybe so but I never noticed. Mine looks pretty sharp all across to me. It may look soft if shooting subject is covered with purple fringes.
PROS: It’s a bit sharper than 24-70mmL. It focuses much faster in low light and fairly accurate. Color is very vibrant and bokeh is awesome especially in the middle. It’s compact and much lighter weight but built pretty solid. I honestly don’t understand people who complain it as a heavy lens. (Actually it is heavier than 17-40mm but still...) It also can be a premium standard lens for APS-C sensor.
In my opinion 35mmL has very strong character. Both 35mmL and 24-70mmL are sold at very close price range. 24-70mmL has, off course, advantage of zoom with fairly wide consistent aperture (f2.8). It is weather sealed so you can take it to the severe weather conditions. (Make sure your camera is weather sealed also.) But 35mmL can offer something 24-70mmL cannot. That’s the art of wide aperture. Price/Value is always up to people. All I can say is I love my 35mmL from the first shot despite its down side.
26 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nickname: daddyeddie
Location: Gardena, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Awesome lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2012
What can I say! I am very happy to have purchased this lens. The focus is spot on and fast. I am using this lens on my 7D. So far, the images shot wide opened are sharp, even at F1.4 and it gets sharper when you stepped down. Yes, at F1.4 you can get sharp pictures, providing your shutter speed is fast enough and you are not sloppy with your technique. Of course, the subject must be absolutely still. All in all, this is a beautiful lens and will be my go to lens for low-light situations.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nickname: South Jersey
Location: Southern New Jersey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

The PRIME of Primes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2011
Pros: sharp, great low light, amazing bokeh, great color, very fast
Cons: expensive
I can't keep my hands off this lens. I am finding that it is staying on my camera longing than I thought it would.
This lens is solid. Good weight and balance. It has a fast focus, even in low light. I use this primarily for inside and low light photos. Although it takes amazing pics in daylight. Sharp even wide-open. On my crop sensor, this is the perfect "normal" lens.
I find that this lens really allows me to be creative. I never realized how lazy zooms allow you to be. Not this lens. It allows you to really push your creative limits.
Yes, it is expensive. But I have no regrets. I'm sorry I didn't get it sooner.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nickname: tree hugger
Location: Vancouver, Wa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

WOW! Amazing Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2011
Pros: low light, fast focusing, great depth of field
Cons: none i've found
Thank you Canon for another world wonder. I love taking nature photos, but just recently got inspired taking pictures of my grand child in a highschool dance recital where no flash was allowed. Loved the results of the low light capabilities of this lens combined with it's ultrafast focusing on my 5D. Appreciating your support, keep up the great work. thanks Tree Hugger aka Wayde
10 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nickname: Nita
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, excellent in low light
I needed a fast, sharp lens that was good in low light. After recommendations and research, I chose the EF 35mm f1.4L and I haven't been disappointed. The colors are crisp and bokeh is amazing. I've shot in rooms with barely any light, no flash and I was able to get shots that were keepers. Video comes out beautifully. The focus ring is smooth but a little more stiffer than my other Canon lenses. Now that I'm used to it, I don't notice it.
This lens is a must for anyone who shoots in low light. I use this on a crop body so this is my "walk around 50mm equivalent."
The only cons, it's not weather proof and the price. But, for such a great quality lens, price comes with the territory.
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nickname: JPM
Location: United States
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Lens, but...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2010
This is an outstanding lens. However, you would think that Canon would provide the lens cap for free considering the price of the lens.
12 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nickname: Chicago_Al
Location: Chicago IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2010
Pros: very nice bokeh, sharp, fast autofocus, good build quality
Cons: heavy
I use this lens for shallow depth of field photography. It is good for portraits. The shallow depth of field is useful when focusing on one person among several people. That is, when you want your subject to stand out. The best aperture is F1.8 which provides sharp images and a creamy bokeh. The sharpest pictures can be obtained at F5.6, although bokeh will be reduced. I use this lens on a 5D II and shoot at large jpg or raw. If you shoot at low resolution, you will not get the same sharpness. When shooting at F1.8, it would be best to use the proper focusing point, rather than use the middle sensor, and recompose. This is because depth of field is very shallow and you want to minimize focusing errors. Also, if you always shoot at high apertures and have everything in focus, I would recommend using a low priced lens.
27 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nickname: Paul
Location: NYC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Worth its price tag

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2010
Pros: fast, great low-light, sharp!!!
Cons: a bit heavy, lens hood is cheap, af can "hunt" a bit in low light
I debated about buying this lens for at least 4 months. It's a hefty chunk of change to put down for one lens. I own two other "L" lenses and I know how good they are. But a 35mm prime? I read the reviews. I debated.
I bought it.
It's amazing piece of photographic equipment. It's so sharp and has amazing low-light performance. It has the potential to take your photography to new places with it's low-light capabilities and the fact that working with primes forces you to be more creative... perhaps even more traditional.
I love Canon L Lenses.
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nickname: Taksanmocar
Location: San Jose, California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great lens for portraits

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Fast auto-focus
I purchased this lens at Samy's camera in Los Angeles and have enjoyed using it both indoors and outdoors. The speed of the lens and the ability of its focal length to keep the subject sharp and blur the background results in dramatic effects. This is especially true when you display the photograph on a large screen. I would recommend this lens for those who need or like to take pictures of faces.
28 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nickname: californialovinggirl
Location: california
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

superlative lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus, bokeh bokeh
This lens is simply better than I can describe. Not only is it fast - focusing is never a problem - but it is clear, sharp, bokeh is amazing. Use it for whatever you care to photograph. I use it for landscape, animal photography, portraits...on my full frame camera. On the 50D it is my normal lens and generally stays on the camera unless I need a specific lens. Buy it - you will never regret it. Absolutely no negatives about this outstanding L lens.
61 of 65 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nickname: Matty B
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Superb!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus
I have bought and traded many lenses over the past few years and this is by far one of my favorite lenses. It is SUPER-SHARP, Light and FAST. The auto-focusing is amazing as well. I've tried this body on my 30D, 5D Mark II and my 1D Mark III and it is superb across the board. I echo the previous review by saying that at f/1.4 it is STELLAR!!!
On a full-frame sensor (5D Mark II) it is a wonderful wide-angle. On my cropped sensor (30D) it is JUST AS GOOD!
I've used it for Portraits, Landscapes and Sports and have loved it with all. I also have the 85mm f/1.2 which is also supreme. With these two lenses, I hardly ever use anything else. : )
40 of 43 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF 35mm f/1.4L USM
Nickname: CountryBoyShane
Location: Detroit, MI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

One of Canon's Best Primes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2008
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus, brilliant bokeh
Cons: should have been constructed with magnesium alloy
I own the Canon 10-22mm, 24-70mm f/2.8L, 50mm f/1.4, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM, 400mm f/5.6L, and this little guy and let me tell you the 35mm f/1.4L is becoming my favorite. I'm using it on a Canon 40D and 30D and it's such a great lens on a crop body. It's almost exactly like a 50mm on a full frame camera, which makes it so useful and fun to use. The best part about this lens is the image quality and low aperture. This is one of Canon's lenses that's actually good at f/1.4! Don't fear it... shoot at f/1.4! It opens up a new realm of creativity. When stopped down to f/2 it's RAZOR sharp. Since buying this lens I barely touch my 24-70mm f/2.8L zoom. That's how good it is! I use it for a lot of subjects. For studio shots it's phenomenal for full body to shoulder-head portraits. It works wonders for shooting abstracts and other typical everyday things. I can't get it to leave my camera! The quality of Canon L-glass primes is simply the best in the industry.
Get hooked on Canon primes. You will not regret it!
165 of 174 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site