Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

Highly practical medium telephoto lens with superb delineation and portability Sharp and clear at all apertures Designed to give beautiful background blur at wide apertures Non-rotating front element
Average Customer Rating:
4.871 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 30(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Review 1 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Iowa
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2014
I really like this lens. It is sharp and fast, and well priced. I use it for sports, weddings and portraits and it does a great job. Rapid focus and sharp images. I have noticed some blue fringing on a few images and IS would be a plus.
I like it for low light images.
Review 2 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: bburk
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great sharp lens - AF switch gets moved a lot

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: bad af switch
This lens is great quality. Crisp and sharp. My only complaint is the AF switch. It is build different than most Canon lenses. It protrudes out from the camera significantly where most lenses the switch is flush. Many times I have done photos and toward the end of using the lens noticed the AF switch got bumped to off either while on my hip or in my camera bag. When using this lens always remember to check the switch because it always bumps off. Canon, please make all future lens AF switches flush.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: KennyDNY
Location: Long Island NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Don't Believe the Negative

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2013
Pros: Super-sharp images, good value
All I can say about this lens is AWESOME!
Sharp when you want, shallow DOF when that's important! I don't see a reason to pay that much more for f1.2 but who am I to say?
29 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: Jim
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Portrait lens/ indoor sports

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, great without is
I Just got the lens 2 weeks ago. I upgraded from my Rebel T3 kit lens. I think this lens is great for portraits & indoor sports were you are shooting fairly close to your subject. The lens is super sharp, & is great in lighting situations like a gym or indoors. I have not tested it in extreme low lighting situations. Some might not like this lens because it does not have IS, but I think it is not needed. The auto-focus is fast. The build quality is better than I expected. When taking it out of the box you could practically tell by the weight. After buying this lens, I never even want to look at a kit lens again.
20 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: denver beans
Location: DENVER CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

GREAT EVERYDAY LENS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, pro image quality
Cons: lens is almost 2 light and short for eos1ds mark3
VERY FAST FOCUSING.GREAT TRACKING LENS ALSO.STURDY ALSO.SUPER RESOLUTION WITH 1DS MARK3.85 MM.PERSPECTIVE IS GOOD FOR TAKING ANYWHERE.GREAT FOR WIDE F-STOP PORTRAITS.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: Ultrafox
Location: Somerset, Ky
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Amazing lens for the money

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, great bokeh
Cons: no lens hood
If you don't want to, or can't afford Canons 85mm 1.2L lens, but want an 85mm, this lens is perfect. For what you pay, this lens delivers amazing performance. The bokeh this lens produces is creamy good. The autofocus is surprisingly fast and accurate when shooting fast moving subjects, even when coupled with the 5D Mark II. It is quite a bit smaller and lighter than the 85mm 1.2L. The build quality is still pretty solid though. It is also great in low light. If you are on a budget, you can not beat the performance and quality you get from this lens for the price.
36 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: mtnredhed
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Finally came into its own

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2012
Pros: fast, sharp, great value
Cons: doesn't buy me coffee
I bought the lens years ago, and to be honest, never really found it's niche until recently. Too long for landscape and a little too short for wildlife. I just recently started portrait work, and dang, this is THE H&S lens. I can dial in DoF to pretty much whatever I want. Its plenty fast for existing light. If I set the focus point on my 7D to be the person's leading eye, and stop down just a little, it's perfect. Even better yet, its a steal, price wise. AF is fast too.
11 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: Daniel
Location: Medford, Oregon
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

A Great Lens - Mega Bang for Your Buck!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2012
Pros: fast tack-sharp affordable
Cons: lens hood not included
This lens is a joy to use. Very rapid focus, tack-sharp images and decent build quality. At f1.8 image quality is very good with wonderful bokeh. I use this lens mostly indoors to shoot available light portraits. If you're torn between this lens and the Canon 50mm f1.4 I would choose this one for a couple of reasons. First, this lens uses a Ring Ultrasonic Motor, which simply stated is the best of the best. The 50mm f1.4 uses the extra-small Micro USM, and while that's a much better motor than what's in the 50mm f1.8 II, it's still not as durable as what's found in the 85mm f1.8. Second, this lens gives the photographer a comfortable working distance. I use a Rebel T3i and found that the 50mm is great for full body shots, but for portraits you have to get close, really close. If you shoot portraits close-up and tight then the 50mm may be a bit too short. My only complaint about the 85mm f1.8 is that a lens hood is not included.
43 of 43 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: Jim
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great for Indoor Sports

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2012
Pros: fast focus, very sharp pictures, high quality, solid build but not too heavy
Cons: no "is"
The 85mm 1.8 is a "must have" lens for indoor sports! I've been progressing in my photography skills and knowledge and moved up about a year ago from a Canon S5is to a Canon 60D (love both cameras). I have been working on getting good pictures of my 3 kids in their gymnastics competitions. The problem is that these are low light (no flash allowed), fast action situations, and I generally have to shoot from some distance away. It's a tricky combination. I did a lot of reading, and decided to get the 85mm 1.8 lens for shooting gymnatics. Wow! What a great decision. I absolutely love this lens. I'm shooting wide open at 1.8 and at least 1/500th shutter speed, usually 800 to 3200 ISO (depending on lighting). I'm getting the best pictures of my life. Other parents are surprised at how I can catch the action shots and even those with their own cameras are starting to ask me to take a few pics of their kids for them. This lens focuses lightning fast! I can follow the action in focus even on events with a lot of change in depth of field, like floor exercise. This lens does not have IS (Image Stabilization), but I don't really need that at the shutter speeds I'm using for sports. If you need to take pictures of indoor sports, you need this lens! I also highly recommend the 50mm 1.8 lens which I purchased as well for those shots where I don't need quite as much zoom. I use the 18 - 135mm lens for all my regular everyday shooting. So happy with these purchases! Canon, thanks so much for putting out these great lenses for us non-pros who aren't quite ready to move up to "L" glass. I love being able to grow with my camera and the huge variety of lenses available for all price ranges and skill levels! If you have kids in gymnastics, I promise the 85mm 1.8 lens will be a "memory maker" for your family. You will love the pics you get!
46 of 46 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: undrgnd40
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Affordable Portrait Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2011
Pros: solid feel, sharp images, fast and accurate focus
Cons: no lens hood included
I bought this lens solely for portraits, and I am very happy with the results. All the images are razor sharp with great control over background blur. Works great indoors and outdoors. It's lightweight and solidly built. This lens has a nice feel to the focus ring, and autofocus is quiet and fast. I only wish it came with a lens hood.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: adp photo
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Portrait Lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, lightweight
Cons: color fringe
The EF 85mm f/1.8 was the first lens I purchased outside of the 18-55 kit that came with my Rebel T1i. Before this lens, I had experienced nothing like the amazing sharpness and silky bokeh that a wide aperture prime lens such as the 85mm f/1.8 can produce. Focusing is extremely fast with its USM motor and the build quality is excellent. The only downside was the purple color fringing going on in extreme contrast situations. Unfortunately, I had to sell it for personal reasons but I would definitely buy it again once I get the chance. I highly recommend this lens.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: Dyluck4
Location: Georgetown, Indiana
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

It's Still In My Lenses ARSENAL

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, sharp images in low light
This was my 3rd Lens purchase when I first started, I was so surprised when the quality was supreme in comparison with the advertised photo. It takes excilent fast shots in low light and yes you need to know your camera to make these Lenses work properly like any Lens, as it is light wieght it works well for me occasionally with my 1Ds mark lll, and previosly with my XTi and XSi that I still have. I use this allot with my other 7 great quality Canon Lenses, so with that I do have a comparison to go by.
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: Jalexa
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Fantastic Portrait Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This lens is beautiful. It has a solid build, even if it isn't "L" build. The IQ is fantastic, giving crips shots or dreamy backgrounds when needed. It's also FAST. I've used it for my son's basketball games, indoors with no flash and dim light, and I've come away with fantastic freeze action shots.
30 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: Graybeard
Location: San Antonio, TX
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

A Great Hidden Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
A great lens on my 7D. I have had it about 5 months now and still think it is one of my best. I absolutely love the close-up images it produces of my grandchildren inside in available light. I especially like the control of DOF it provides. The bokeh at wider apertures is smooth and creamy. Although I have a few zoom lenses, I have found this lense, with just a 1.4 teleconverter, is often alot more useful at indoor events.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: Linda
Location: Pennsylvania
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Just what I was looking for

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, great in low light
Cons: none
I bought this lens for candid shots at dog shows. Even though it is a little long on a cropped camera, I just stand back a little further to shoot. The lens is very fast at f1.8, and it allows me to take a better photo in the not so ideal lighting of indoor dog shows. I can now use a faster shutter speed to stop the action. Thanks Canon.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: sy
Location: colorado
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Price/Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, light weight
Cons: minimum focus distance
This lens is super sharp. F1.8 is very thin. It's compact and light weight. USM is quiet and fast. 58mm filter size. Minimum focus distance is a bit too long. I wouldn't say it's L quality built but it's absolutely much cheaper than EF 85mm L.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: sami
Location: MO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Best I own?

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2010
Pros: supersharp, fast focus, distortion free
Cons: benefit from is
This may be the best lens I own. And that includes 3 'L' series lenses! While this may not have the largest aperture, smallest DOF, or the build-quality of an 'L', it is just as free from distortion and maybe better. I've been using this lens for nearly 3yrs now in a variety of situations: portrait in and out of studio, landscape, and 'nature' photography with wonderful results. The background blur is great and it is 'razor-sharp' . For the price, you cannot go wrong here. The only feature it lacks, is IS, but how many of us use it handheld as I do or at very small apertures?
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: Lalo
Location: Colombia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

L Quality paying less money

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2010
Pros: sharp, fast auto focus, image quality, build quality
Cons: lens hood, no is
I've been using the EF85mm for more than two years. More recently attached to a Mark II 5D and all I can say is that is like having a L quality lens for less money. Pictures are sharp, the auto focus is very fast, and it's excellent under low light situations (it's a f1.8!!). I bought this lens when my daughter was born and portraits are really really good. It's my new workabout lens and when I see the results in Lightroom the majority of pcs have at least one or two stars, so hard to delete the bad ones. Canon should work on having a good hood for this lens. Image Stabilization is not necessary.
It's like having a "L" lens, but paying less money.
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: Pete
Location: Salt Lake City
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

My favorite portrait lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2010
Pros: lightweight and small, aperture, inexpensive, superb image quality, useful focal length, excellent build quality
Cons: no image stabilization
I use a 5D MKII, and most of my lenses are top of the line L series. But when it's time for an indoor portrait without a flash, I usually reach for my EF 85 1.8.
It has great image quality and aperture, in a small and light package. The auto focus is silent, accurate, and quick. Superb bokeh.
This lens is similar to the EF135 L, but smaller, cheaper and has a more useful focal length (at least for me.) It easily fits in a jacket pocket, balances the camera perfectly, and the price is right.
I rarely miss IS at this aperture and focal length.
You can't go wrong with this one!
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
Nickname: 7bteeen

perfect brand

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I think this is the best telephoto brand for canon because it's very clear and fast.
12 of 17 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site