Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM

EF 400mm f/5.6L USM

High-performance L-series lens with portability and easy handling Super UD and UD glass elements Sharp pictures from corner-to-corner Built-in hood and a detachable tripod mount
Average Customer Rating:
4.792 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Review 1 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: taylorphototexas
Location: Redmond, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

sleeper telephoto

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, lightweight
Cons: less than ideal close focus
This lens has to be one of the best values at or above 300mm.
My first long telephoto and I still use it.
No IS and no big aperture, but in daylight you can get some great images. I've captured a number of dragonfly with this lens and honestly I wouldn't use anything else.
If I asked canon to change anything about this lens it would be to have a little closer focus. I've thought about having IS on it but honestly one of the reasons it is so sharp is that it does not have too many elements. With modern high ISO/low noise bodies, I think I can live without IS on this lens - it's not too heavy and the most hand-holdable of the super telephotos.
40 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: Calcuttan
Location: Calcutta, India
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent value for money

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, great value for money, feather light
Cons: long minimum focusing distance
I have been owning this lens for the last two years. It's mated to my 7D for bird photography and I have absolutely no regrets. It's a delight to own. Initially I used to use it only on a tripod (since it doesn't come with IS). But since January 2012 I have done away with the tripod for shots of 1/125 or faster shutter speeds. It is so light that one can carry it effortlessly and is great particularly for birds in flight shots.
My only grouse is that it has too long a minimum focusing distance. You can push a switch and reduce it somewhat from 8.5 m to 3.5 but that comes at the cost of focusing speed. At 3.5 m focusing speed is fairly slow. This results in missed opportunities for those rare moments when a bird perches close to you.
For day long trips in the wilderness, it is best to carry the camera/lens as a sling rather than round your neck.
I might one day graduate to a 500 or even 600 mm lens but I don't see myself parting with this lens ever. It is great for shooting from situations where a tripod is impractical - for example from a small rocking country boat !!
34 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: asr
Location: Singapore
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
Cons: not weather sealed
Have used this lens for doing a variety of shots such as birding, wildlife and fun stuff (tracking butterflies in flight). I have also used the 100-400 which is great in concept but diifcult to manage in practice due to its push pull design.
The 400 prime's light weight and fast focus allows it to be easily handheld with the newer Canon bodies (higher ISO) allowing for great versatality in use. On a tripod it gives super sharp images.
Its great value for money for the reach it offers. The only con I have is that it's not weather sealed which is needed given that it's used outdoors.
A fun lens to own and use!!
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: grandpawrichard
Location: Burlington, WA.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Totally Awesome Lens!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I have owned and used this lens for about 5 years now and it is almost always on my camera! Sure, it is a bit heavy, but I have no problem walking around all day with it on my camera around my neck. I do a lot of Eagle and wildlife photography, so this lens is a fantastic tool!
This lens produces Razor sharp images at every setting from f5.6 to f/32 if you have enough light and a steady hand of tripod.
Even indoors at wide open aperture and slow shutter speeds I have been able to take amazing portraits from a distance during Orchestra Concerts using stage lighting.
I would and do Highly Recommend this lens to everyone!
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: River Runner
Location: Montana
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great bird lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This is one fine lens. For those wishing to photograph birds this is the lens to start with and keep on using for a long time. With the smaller crop factor sensors on the Rebel series just put the camera on the lens and never take it off.This lens becomes the equivalent of a 640 mm lens on these smaller sensor cameras. For the price and quality, the 400 mm/5.6 is unparalleled. Auto-focus capture is quick and accurate. The only drawback to this lens is that it doesn't have image stabilization, but you really don't need it. The images are tack sharp. This is the best bird lens for the money on the market today.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: Ted
Location: Midland, MI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Very sharp and very fun

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: wish there was an is version
I love photographing birds, and without spending several thousand dollars, this looked like the best lens for a Canon owner. I'm very pleased with the fit and finish, but especially with the sharpness. Some photos I have taken of eagles look sharp until I enlarge to the point of seeing individual pixels. That sharpness, along with the fact I already own a 70-200 mm f/4.0 lens made me choose the prime lens over the 100 - 400 mm zoom.
Obviously, the shortcoming of this lens is the relatively small aperture along with lack of Image Stabilization. This makes it need high iso settings or a tripod even in late afternoon light, in order to get sharp images. One surprise for me was that the contrast detection focus in live view mode is exceptionally accurate and it works even with a 1.4 X extender which gives me a 560 mm f/8.0 lens. While phase-detection auto-focus won't work at apertures smaller than f/5.6 for most Canon bodies, the contrast detection autofocus, which is active in live view mode, will - it's very good. It's also very slow, so it works well if your subject is not moving around.
I'm having great fun with this lens and am delighted with my purchase. The obvious upgrade is for Canon to produce something similar and affordable with the latest generation if IS which would greatly extend the conditions where this lens is useful.
21 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: Canonfodder
Location: Coconut Creek FL (SE)
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Can't go wrong

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2012
Pros: super sharp, light weight, decent autofocus, affordable
Cons: high min aperture, loss of auto focus with convertor, very long minimum distance, lack of weather sealing
I would rather own a EF 400mm f2.8 IS ll USM, however then I won't get my new motorcycle. Every thing TommyP said and more. I also shoot motorcycle racing and this lens is great. It is light weight as compared to the above lens and is about as sharp as you will see in this price range at 400mm. Just look at the MTF published here. What you see is what you get. The only issue is that for use with the 1.4X convertor you loose auto focus on all but the 1D series ( wow, then I definitely would not get my bike). Shot some bike races after a 30 year hiatus and the results were nothing less than spectacular.Crisp, clear, no CA and detail was extremely fine even at ISO 400. Shot at 400mm to retain auto focus, you just have to get closer. Great landscape lens when you can't get close. Good with birds with the 1.4X (560mm) except for manual focus the results remain tack sharp. Have shot with 2X (first version Canon) and results were very sharp. At this focal length (800mm) there are many other factors to control which affect sharpness. Manual focus is an advantage when shooting nesting birds. If you use this lens within its limitations you will be ultra satisfied, however if you are expecting it to be the lens I mentioned earlier go out and get yourself a motorcycle: you will be far less disappionted. Please remember my listed cons are limitations and not detractions. Owned since 2004.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: TommyP
Location: UK
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Never going to let it go

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2012
Pros: stunning image quality, light weight, lightning focus, portable (for a tele)
Cons: low light performance not great, no is
I bought this lens around 4 years ago. I use it mainly for Air Shows and Motor Sport events. I have used a number of other similar lenses and still find this the one to use.
With its lightning fast focus and stunningly sharp image quality it makes using it seemingly a doddle. I have tried the 500mm f4 lens and could not manage hand held, the 400mm is just about right in my opinion and I have never used monopod or tripod. Handholding is very easy making it very versatile and portable (compared to other super telephotos).
Cannot really think of many cons with this lens other than it being 5.6 and not performing quite as well in low light but thats what you get for the money.
IS would be nice but again this lens would be out of my price range if it had it. I have not really had any problems without it at all.
If there was only one lens I could have, it would be this one.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: EagleMedic
Location: Sacramento, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Best bang for the buck

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2011
Pros: fast light great optics
Cons: tripod mount loosens a little to light
I purchased this solely because of the price and needing a longer zoom than my 70-200 2.8. I was shooting pro baseball, and purchased the lens 2 days before my trip. This lens beyond my expectations! The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is that it is a little lighter than I like making it more unstable in light wind. The optics are great, and the pictures were wonderful. It truly is a great lens, and for the price you just can not beat it! It shoots well in action sports like baseball and football with fast auto focus. It performed well in night games under stadium lights, even at only being a 5.6. The tripod mount on the lens I purchased seems to come loose easily, but I got used to it quickly and haven't had it become an issue. Overall, the best lens long zoom lens for the money anywhere. I highly recommend it to anyone that does not absolutely require a 2.8. Thanks Canon for another home run! Now, can I try a 1200mm f4 or 5.6 anytime in the future??
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: Dyluck4
Location: Georgetown, Indiana
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Bring In The Heavy Equipment

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This was one of my first two Lenses I purchased 4 years ago with my Body only XTi, and has given me excellent Moon shots and Long range shots from cliffs over looking Rivers and Lakes. Put an Extender on this and you'll see what a man is eating on a Barge from a great distance with great clarity. I mostly use it with a Tri-Pod to get the best shot and since I've added a remote it is even better. But of course I didn't have all this at first and still got great photo's, but as you go along you learn what to do in taking better Photo's as read and continue to learn in photography. You just keep learning and want to do better. It is fast and a great long Lens, I have 8 Lenses and use each for a different occasion. I do have the 70-200 f/2.8L IS but makes since to use it for when I'm taking shots with allot of movement plus it doesn't have the range even with the extender, but the 400mm can still be hand held don't get me wrong. Since I have added the 1Ds Mark lll it would just be to much weight to try and use these two products together without a Tri-Pod, I can't believe the shots I'm producing with the 1Ds with the 400mm. This is a great product and I'll never get rid of it.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: grandpawrichard
Location: Burlington, WA.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Wonderful lens!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, hand hold capacity is wonderful!, not to heavy to be able to wear on your neck and s
Cons: built in sunshade stck on me so it is unusable
I have owned this lens for over a year now and I absolutely Love it! In fact this lens has been on my camera more than any other L series lens I own lately!
This lens is a bit heavy and bulky, but it is a lens that I have been able to hand hold to get spectacular Bald Eagle photos with, even Eagles in flight!
Teamed up with a 1.4X L series extender I got some spectacular photos of the latest "Super Moon".
The only problem I have had with this lens is that a few months ago I slid the built in lens shade back so that I could store the lens in it's case. The shade stuck back for some reason, so I can't slide it fully forward.
If you are looking for a Great Telephoto lens in the 400 mm. size this lens is for you!
22 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: Fotosforphun
Location: Green Bay, WI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Near Perfect!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
Cons: no af with converter
Whether it is sitting in my backyard photographing song birds, in Yellowstone taking photos of the elk in rut, or on safari at Masa Mari in Kenya photographing elephants, this lens has made me extremely happy time and time again. Image quality is superb!!
When I was in the market of a L series super zoom I first leaned toward the 100-400mm. It seemed like the popular choice. Then I did some research and found that those owning the prime 400mm were boasting superb imagery.
I was a little afraid of having a prime lens and not having range for adjustment. I do own the 70-200mm f/4 and feared not having an option between 200mm and 400mm.
My solution? I purchased a second body. I know shoot with both a 30D and 40D. I also purchased an EF 1.4 Converter. When used with my 70-200mm f/4 AF is still fast and accurate.
Since the 40D has a few more megapixels than the 30D I use the 70-200mm on the 40D and use the 400mm on my 30D. I always have the 1.4 converter if I need a little more distance with the 70-200mm.
If there is one drawback with this lens, for me it is no AF with the 1.4 converter. I dont really care about IS. I am an avid tripod user. Hands down a tripod is the best way to make sure you are stable.
If you purchase this lens you will not be disappointed. I expect mine to provide top quality images for many years to come.
15 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: Panurus biarmicus
Location: NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great for birds in fly.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2011
Cons: dpp 3.9.2 don't correct ca with extender
3 years ago, i used it with 40D and I was very glad on tripod and live vieuw.
In 2009, I had discovered a better quality with my 5DII.
In 2010, I shoot birds in fly with my 1D4 and the AF works perfectly.
More the quality of the bodies goes up, more I have pleasure with this lens and less I need IS.
When used with the extender EF1.4X III, the chromatic aberration is the half of the EF 1.4X II. After correction of the C.A., the difference of sharpness, between the 2 configurations, is difficult to see.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: alcedo
Location: Burlington, VT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Perfect 400mm lens- just add IS, please

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2010
Pros: lightweight easy to use
Cons: no is
I second everything positive that was already said on "The Luminous Landscape" about this lens. The comparison with the 100-400 mm zoom is hard to avoid. I have used both lenses. The 400mm is sharper then the 100-400 at the 400mm end and much more lightweight and portable and quicker to use with the built-in lens hood, which should really be a feature of all lenses above 100mm. Yes, the 400mm performs best on a tripod, monopod or stabilized on a bean bag. It is not for images from a moving or idling vehicle! This should be the first lens for a starting bird photographer (the next being the 4/500 IS). It is not "getting old" as one camera magazine classified it. Please Canon, keep it in the line-up, just possibly add IS. A great lens!
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: Hiflyer
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Best lens i ever had...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2010
Pros: sharpness, auto-focus, image quality, build quality
This lens i the most sharp lens i ever had in my hands i use it mainly to shot photos of aeroplanes. The only minus is no IS but for this price it couldnt be better. The autofocus work so fast that it saved many of my pictures which i wouldnt be able to make with slower lens. Thanks Canon for this piece of glass !
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: sek
Location: Southlake, Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Almost a great lens

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2010
Pros: good quality on tripod solid ground
Cons: needs is, hood is major problem
I purchased this lens for wildlife photography (trip to Denali), and was disappointed.
This long lens is crying out for is! It really works best on a tripod. On my trip, we were for the most part restricted to being on the bus. When the diesel engine started, the vibrations were transmitted up the tripod and blurred images resulted. I guess I should have increased shutter speed to about 1000. But if you are on solid land (no boats, trains, etc.) and with tripod, excellent image.
The other complaint I have has already been noted. That is the lens hood. It sticks all along its course. When not fully extended, it interferes with manual focusing. When it is fully extended, the lens is very long and doesn't 1. fit into my camera bag, and 2. doesn't allow access to lens cap. I see this as a serious design flaw.
7 of 48 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: Snoopy
Location: Tucson, AZ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

where can I get a manuel

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality
I recently traded my 100-400 for a used 400mm f5.6. Have only used it a couple of times but it seems to be much better the the 100-400. Of course I do miss the IS. Since it was used, I didn't get a manuel and apparently a manuel is not available on line from Canon. Does anyone know where I can get my hands on a manuel for this lens?
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Very Sharp Glass...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: no is
Honestly I'm not sure lenses can be any sharper than this. Contrast/saturation/IQ are top quality rivaling even the flagship 400f2.8.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: Southbird
Location: San Diego
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Solid Sharp Lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I went back and forth between the 100-400 and the 100 f5.6 and ended up getting the 400. It was a good decision. You can shoot the lens handheld in late afternoon conditions by upping the ISO to 400 or 800 which is no problem on the newer SLR's. Image quality excellent. High percentage of keepers even handheld and a very sharp lens.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EF 400mm f/5.6L USM
Nickname: Sad in Honolulu
Location: Honolulu, HI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

No AF with Crop Sensor Bodies

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2010
Owned a couple weeks. Use with 7D. Sharp sharp sharp. Small, light.
BUT...Does NOT autofocus with 1.4X TC. Bummers.
Don't be like me. Do your homework, folks!
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site