Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

Telephoto lens with high image quality and carrying ease Two UD-glass elements and rear focusing, to correct aberrations, image delineation is extremely sharp Background blur is natural-looking The lens comes with a dedicated, detachable hood
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM
Review 1 for EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Terezd
Location: Hampton, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This is an exceptional prime lens. The images it produces are outstanding. I also shoot with a 70-200mm II is and I find myself using it more than the zoom lens. It can produce great images hand held but if you can use a tripod or a monopod do so. It's a great lens for the price. If you are shooting action then you should go for the 70-200 mm II is if you are not experienced enough to use a prime lens without image stabilization.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Mike
Location: Royal Oak, mi
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

OK lens

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2014
Cons: Slow auto-focus, Semi-sharp images
I bought this as a backup to my 70-200 2.8 III lens and it is a disappointment. Does not hold up to the performance of the 70-200 AT ALL. Maybe I got a bad copy, but mine is not god enough to be worth shooting. I keep it around for my daughter (she's 14 and has a rebel) to shoot. Not recommended...
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: taylorphototexas
Location: Redmond, WA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

another sleeper lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, lightweight for the fl, great value
Cons: it wasn't free haha
I bought this one pretty recently but I have to say it's gotten a lot of use.
I'm not a big fan of zooms, but I have a few. I was looking at the 70-200 f/2.8L IS II. Very pricey, and it would probably spend most of its time at 200mm. So for 1/3 of the price I get this 200mm f.2.8L II. I think it's actually sharper, and I don't miss the IS much because honestly below 1/200 of a second your subject motion comes into play. Also this lens is quite sharp wide open.
It's heavy-ish but certanly not in its focal length range and certainly lighter than the 70-200s are.
If you don't mind changing lenses to get the job done, get this lens. Between this and the 135 f/2L I find the short telephoto range is covered.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Sean7D
Location: Valencia, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Suprisingly Awesome

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2013
Pros: Super-sharp images, price/value, lightweight, black
Cons: tripod mount not included
I was carrying a 70-200, but realised I was permanently jammed out at 200 for wildlife/sports, and the results were not quite what I had hoped for. I tried this because it is 2.8L, compatible with the extenders, nice price, and I was betting on gaining prime sharpness over my zoom. It delivers, and it keeps surprising me. It's lightweight. It's black, so it doesn't scream for attention. I don't use the tripod mount often but I was a little annoyed that it wasn't included, had to pick one up separately.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Big Rez
Location: Hampton,VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, priced right
Cons: does not come with a tripod collar
This is an excellent prime lens that has great bokeh. A great addition to Amy photographers bag. It is super sharp with a fast auto focus. It can be used hand held but best used when mounted to a tripod or monopod. Great in low light.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Dyluck4
Location: Georgetown, Indiana
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Light Wieght Long Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, great in low light
Excelent low light Lens that I have used with Photo Passes at concerts with my Canon XSi at the time in 2008, but since have used it occasionally with my 1Ds Mark lll and produced sharp images with low light in Landscape. Just the lens to have for the longer range shots but not as big as my 70-200mm f/2.8L IS which is excelent but to big of range for the occasion, where the 200mm f/2.8L ll is the perfect long lens with the same quality.
23 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: FotoWiz
Location: Norfolk, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great's value for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, light weight/doesn't need monopod colar
Image quality is remarkable at low light shooting. Without fail, I have been able to shoot hand held in medium indoor light with excellent results. Shooting at 1/60 doesn't present a problem for me as a hand held shoot. Quality of the images have gotten me more than one job because of this lens. Professional lens at affordable price. Canon out did themselves with this one.
25 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: sy
Location: colorado
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Nice Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, built quality
I had 70-200mm f2.8 L (non-IS) but it was too heavy for me to use (needed IS), so I sold it and got this lens instead. I love it. It's light enough that I can do hand-held shooting. Another thing is that I can attach 2x Extender and make it 400mm f5.6. When you stop down to f8 with a tripod or a monopod, you can take pretty sharp pictures. Images are definitely L quality. IS might help but I'm very happy with this lens.
18 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Bog
Location: Toronto, ON
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Good value but dated

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2010
Pros: Super-sharp images, good value for money, light weight, compact
Cons: no is limits useability, dated design
I originally purchased the 200 f/2.8L to use with my 40D. It was my first L series lens and I was pleased with the performance on a tripod. However, lacking image stabilisation, the lens is next to impossible to use while hand held on a cropped frame camera. This is particularly true with the new, higher resolution cameras.
On the whole, I think the design is also somewhat dated. The optical design of the Mk II is the same as the optical design of the original 200 f/2.8 which dates to 1991. I have read that unlike most of the modern L-series lenses, this lens is not weather sealed. This may be of significance to you - or it may not.
My recently purchased 70-200 f/2.8L IS Mk II outperforms the 200 f/2.8L in all apertures and is considerably more versatile. Sure - there is a heck of a priice difference and the zoom is heavy but if image quality is your primary driver then I suggest you consider the new zoom.
47 of 62 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Blue Silver
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This is a really sharp lens and it is much smaller in size than the 70-200. In my opinion it performs better as well.
12 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: fotomatt
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Terrific Telephoto

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus
Cons: no tripod collar
This is the sharpest 200mm prime lens I have ever used
and the best bargain in Canon's "L" series of optics.
I frequently use it with Canon's 2x Extender to get even more spectacular telephoto images. The construction is rock solid and, although not particular heavy for an f2.8
telephoto, I do find that a tripod collar is helpful and even necessary when I use the extender. This accessory is
not included in the box.
Fotomatt
63 of 65 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: TheDude
Location: HI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Wonderful Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2008
Pros: Super-sharp images, Fast auto-focus
Cons: canon lens bag not hard case
For a fast telephoto, this lens is small, light and discreet (lot smaller than the 70-200 f/2.8 zoom). Fast auto-focus, light-weight, as sharp as my 100 macro, good colours.
Value is good for this reasonably priced lens. Only con I can think of is modern Canon L enses come in cloth bags, rather than the old leather cases that actually protected the lenses.
32 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: San Jose, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Glass

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2008
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus
Super fast focus, wonderful colors, fairly compact though a bit heavy. Great indoor sports or long portrait lens. Wonderfully sharp images, I just love it!
34 of 34 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site