Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

Compact L-series telephoto lens Canon Optical Image Stabilizer compensates for camera shake with the equivalent effect of a shutter speed two stops faster Two Image Stabilizer modes Closest focusing distance: 4.9 feet (1.5 m)
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Review 1 for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Roscoe4321
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

I may as well weld this to my 5D3

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I have owned this lens for eight months and it, together with an EF 1.4x III, stay on my 5D Mark III more than 90% of the time. I absolutely love this lens, and picked it out to get a bit more reach over my EF 200 f/2.8L II (also a superb lens). The autofocus is fast, dead accurate, and the color and contrast are outstanding. With the teleconverter image quality is still excellent. I shoot wildlife, birds large and small, flying and still, turtles, dragonflies, and it handles them all superbly. The detail rendered by this lens is astonishing, and the bokeh is beautifully creamy as you would expect from a lens of this length. The image stabilization works also very well. For the price you can't beat this lens if you want fantastic quality in the 300-400mm range.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: QuietSoloPursuits
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great as a close-up lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2014
Pros: Superior build quality
Cons: Slow auto-focus
This is my second L series lens, and I've had the same problem with both of them, neither auto-focuses accurately on one of the 60 D bodies that I own. The problem may be with the one body, but all my other lenses, Canon or other brands, work well with that body.
This is a great lens to use for near macro photography,for somewhat larger subjects such as butterflies, dragonflies, and larger flowers. It is extremely sharp, the colors are dead on, and it is much better than any of my other lenses in low light conditions when I shoot at higher ISO settings. This lens makes my 60 D body look good.
However, for photos shot between 20 and 50 feet, the sharpness falls off, I believe that to be due to the auto-focus not being accurate in part. By stopping the lens down, I can get usable photos in that distance range, but I have another brand of telephoto zoom lens that does better.
Past 50 feet or so, the sharpness returns, I've shot some super sharp photos of raptors and other large birds in flight using this lens. The auto-focus is relatively fast and quiet.
The auto-focus has no problem keeping up with larger birds in flight, but it isn't fast enough for smaller songbirds.
The Image stabilization works very well, but it is loud, and seems to drain my camera's battery much faster than any of my other lenses.
I would tell any one looking for a lens for taking close-ups of flowers and insects that this lens is great. However, I wouldn't recommend it to any one looking for a lens for birding, there are better choices available for birding. I knew that when I purchased it from the other reviews that I read before making the purchase.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Sportsphotog
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great lens!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014
I've had this lens for about 6 months now and I absolutely love it! Great buy! Even better price!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Gjbpro1
Location: Utah
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Super L quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This is the second L lens I own, the first is the 70-200mm f4 L IS. After the first L, I just had to get another. The amazing quality that I've never had in any other lens, sets the L lens apart from all others. Smooth mechanism, great build and unbelievable sharpness! This lens is worth every penny I paid. The first time I saw an image at 100% on my monitor, I knew i had something special. Spot on auto focus, edge to edge sharpness...wide open. You can't go wrong with one if you need a long lens in this range! This prime won't disappoint!
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Orange, California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Still deciding

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, image stabilization, size and weight, close-up capability, case tripod mount & built-in lens shade
Cons: Semi-sharp images, i.s. noise (clunking)
I've shot with a 30D for about 7 years and recently switched to a 7D. All my digital SLR experience has been with these APS-C cameras. I purchased the 300mm IS f4L as a way to get a little more magnification than the 70-200mm IS f4L that I already had. With the APS-C format this lens performs similar to a 500mm (480mm), so it works well for bird and nature photography. I was hoping that the 'Prime' lens would out perform, or at least match, the great performance I experienced with my 70-200mm IS f4L. Although its performance can sometimes be great, especially close-up, at longer distances it produces slightly soft images more often than I would prefer. More often than not, I find myself gravitating back to the 70-200mm for its "Rock Solid" performance, rather than risking unsure results from the 300mm. My best results with this lens have been insects and small widlife shot at it's extreme close range end (5 feet+). I've recently purchased a 7D to replace my 30D and I'm interested to see if the 7D's 'Microadustment' feature can save this lens from it's spotty performance.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: nature lover
Location: Walla Walla, WA.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Have used this for years - great lens !

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2012
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I 'm a female photographer and want to encourage other women to be bold and get into the field of wildlife work. I bought this lens when I first started wildife photography in 2000. I researched for months before buying. I wanted to photograph birds particularly. I'm a stickler about sharpness so I don't settle on my equipment. I love the hood, the scratch resistant coating and the sturdiness. I was once out in the field changing lenses on a picnic table. This lens rolled off and hit the ground. I was afraid it was damaged, but it didn't suffer. I have gotten some terrific shots of bighorn sheep and larger birds. The sharpness is fantastic. You can have great success photographing small birds if you're in a blind. I built myself one and have amazing photos of mourning doves and California Quail to name a few. If I don't have my macro lens with me and I have enough working room to get back from the subject, I can get wonderful macro close-up shots of bees on sunflowers with this lens. For increased distance, add a 1.4X Canon teleconverter. I find image quality doesn't suffer. But with a 2X, slight sharpness is lost. I did my homework on this one before buying and I'm glad I did. I have never regretted this purchase. Of course, I wish the cost had been lower and once in a while the focus gets confused in a multi-subject shot, but overall this is an amazing piece of equipment. I really don't feel the need to always have the tripod with me and that's worth a lot to me. I feel this is probably one of the best fixed telephoto lenses on the market. I find Canon equipment to be awesome overall. Good luck and happy shooting!
31 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Woodgrain
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years

A bit of a disappointment for me

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2011
Cons: ordinary image quality
I recently sold my 2011 300mm f4 IS lens after about six months of ownership. It was the perfect size and weight for a 300mm prime, and the short minimum focus distance was ideal for a variety of subjects. It had an excellent sliding lens hood and a nice soft case was supplied at no additional cost. I really wanted to like the 300mm f4, but at the end of the day image quality is all that really matters, and in this regard the lens was a disappointment for me. I use a 40D, and if I was careful to shoot stopped down to at least f5.6 this lens could produce pretty good images, but not significantly better than the 70-300 consumer (non-L) zoom stopped down to f8 that I used to own. I bought the 300mm f4 planning to use it with a 1.4x teleconverter, but this degraded the image noticeably, even stopped down to f8. In addition, the IS on the 300mm f4 was only good for one or two stops max with no tripod-sensing feature, and the AF was not consistently accurate and was too slow to follow birds in flight when using a 1.4x teleconverter. Downloading images at the end of a day shooting with the 300mm f4 was often frustrating – too many missed shots that were either slightly out of focus or simply too soft for my expectations.
I traded my 300mm f4 for a used 2009 300mm f2.8 IS. The difference between these two 300mm lenses is like night and day. The image quality from the f2.8 lens is amazingly sharp and brilliant. The outrageously fast and accurate AF and tripod-sensing IS combined with the very bright viewfinder image make the lens a joy to use. It can be shot wide open with confidence and accepts a 1.4x teleconverter with virtually no image quality loss. With the converter the 300mm f2.8 still focuses faster and more accurately than the bare 300mm f4 lens. Yes, the 300mm f2.8 is bigger and heavier, but it is still quite portable and I routinely hand-hold it with no problems. Many people are happy with the 300mm f4, but if, like me, you expect a little more from an L-series prime lens, rent the f2.8 version and try it for yourself. Is a used 300mm f2.8 worth three times the price of a new 300mm f4? For me, the answer is absolutely yes.
43 of 53 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: willp2
Location: South Texas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Pretty nice lens.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2011
Pros: good image quality
Cons: loud noise with is, slower auto-focus
I have used this lens for a year now and am generally happy with its performance. I moved to this lens from a EF 100 - 400mm IS because I had heard that prime lenses give better image quality. I think the autofocus is a bit slower and there is a very annoying "clunk" that is well documented with the IS of this lens. I shoot whitetailed deer and usually can get a couple of frames shot before they hear the lens and dart off. The image quality is very good and image stabilization really helps shoot while on foot. Overall I think this is a great lens if your subjects aren't too spooked by noise.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Natureguy
Location: Albion, IN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Lots of fun!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2011
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I have been using this lens for a year, and really appreciate the quality images I am able to capture with it. The lens is solid and reliable, and is everything I expected from Canon. The 300mm f/4l is usm lens produces tack sharp images under all types of lighting. Don't let the f/4 aperture deter you from buying this lens; some of my most spectacular shots have been on cloudy or overcast days.
I must admit, I have only been shooting with an SLR camera system for just over a year (I use an EOS 7D body), and have found the learning curve to be a very pleasant experience. I shoot animals/wildlife almost 100%, and the Canon gear has not let me down. Bird-in-flight shots are a breeze, and any image shot of a stationary subject using a tripod are sharp enough to cut you! Hand held shots are great as well, even at shutter speeds below 1/100 sec. I would buy this lens again, but I expect I won't need to; the quality and contruction are are top-notch, and I look forward to many years of happy shooting with my Canon 300mm f/4l is usm lens. Join the club of Canon L-prime lenses, you will not be disappointed!
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Perdu
Location: Houston
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

EOS EF 300mm f/4 IS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2010
Pros: lightweight, f/4, ease of use, macro, short focusing
Cons: none
This lens is a delight to use. It's wide enough to get a good grip on the barrel but not too wide. The hood recesses into the body so there is no messing about with putting on and taking off plastic hoods, it's light weight and very well balanced. f/4 is really useful and the lens is good wide open. What I like this lens for is candid portraits, but it will also serve for sports, airshows, landscapes and as a zoo lens. Oh, I nearly forgot - this is a great macro lens for larger objects like dragonflies, so you are really getting two lenses in one. Pictures are sharp and the colors and contrast is right on the button. Recommended. Some people compare this lens with the 100-400L. Stopped down the quality/sharpness is the same. One gives you 400mm, one gives you f/4, so is better in less than ideal light.
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Chris Urb
Location: Minneapolis MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

WOW LENS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus
This is my first L LENS and it is amazing the bulid quality is amazing just like my camera! The picture quality is also amazing, this is my new favorite lens i love how it is a prime lens and has a built in lens hood,
Overall -- Best lens for the money and i have no regrets, the IS is amazing and a great lens for Nature and wildlife photographers!!
36 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: DT
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

An Awesome Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus, image stabilization, built in lens hood, size and weight
Cons: not weather sealed
I've been using this lens for 4 years now to photograph surfing, air shows, wildlife, etc. It is tack sharp and contrasty wide open at f/4. I can and often do crop the center half out of images shot with this lens and the resulting prints are still sharp. I've gone so far as to crop the center 1/4th out of some air show shots and, as best as I can tell, the limitation is not the lens sharpness, but the sensor resolution in my DSLR.
IS works amazingly well, in my experience better than the 2 stops Canon claims. Trust me when I say that IS helps after a long day of shooting when tired arms would otherwise compromise even normally safe shutter speeds.
Bokeh and color are excellent, as is the build quality. My only complaint is that Canon did not weather seal this model, though it's certainly more resistant to weather than the typical 'telescoping' consumer zoom. AF is not quite as fast as my 70-200, but fast enough for every subject I've put it against.
I can't say enough good things about this lens. It is one of my most productive lenses.
25 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: camphoneguy
Location: Corvallis, OR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Best Close Range Telephoto for the Buck

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus, focuses very close-no tubes needed, light weight, built-in lens hood, can use standard filters
Cons: wish canon had a 400 f4 in this price point
I purchased the 300mm f4 L over a year ago as it was between the 400mm f5.6 L and this lens to fit my budget. It has performed very well- and I love the fact that I can shoot a dragonfly at my feet or a bird off in the distance with the same lens. On the 40d this lens works out to 480mm lens- so a fair amount of reach and if that's not enough you can add the 1.4 extender (672mm f5.6) and still have autofocus. After this lens (except for the f400mm 5.6 L) you'd better have deep pockets as they're four or more times as much- and with this lens you have one you can carry all day. The 500mm and up are really tripod lenses (best used with a Wimberly gimbal head and high end tripod, add $1000 to your budget!)- and take some time to get used to. And they're best for the pro bodies due to their weight. Full frame and almost full frame bodies will reduce the reach of the lens but that would make it easier to find a 'bird in flight'. They are great lenses, don't get me wrong, with the price to match.
Another advantage to this lens is that it can focus to less than five feet! I've shot pictures of dragonflies at my feet (being over six foot). Just be sure to switch to the closer focus position on the lens.
Yes, I wish it had a little more reach for some birds but for the price, it's hard to beat. I'm feeding my piggy bank to hopefully add the 500mm f4 L to my list of lenses but I'm glad I started with this one.
38 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: EOS4me
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

It's no substitute for an EF300 2.8L IS USM

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus, dual mode is, relatively small and light
Cons: image quality no match for old ef 300 2.8l
I've owned three of these over the years looking for the lens some people say they have. These lenses have been a disappointment to me in terms of pure sharpness and contrast compared with my old EF 300 2.8L. When comparing price, handy size and weight the EF 300 4L IS USM is clearly a very desirable lens but for pure optical and focusing performance the old EF 300 2.8L clearly beats the EF 300 4L IS USM both on film (EOS 1N's and 1N-RS) and EOS 1D and EOS 1Ds bodies I had at the time of comparison.
I had read a few online reviews from new owners when these first came out many years ago about how sharp the images they were getting out of these lens. So me being curious and wanting to save the significant weight difference between the EF 300 4L IS USM and my old EF 300 2.8L USM I bought one. I shot it for a few months and came to the conclusion that the trade off in terms of weight, size and cost are simply not there because the image quality was no match of my EF 300 2.8L USM. I've owned a couple of different EF 300 2.8L USM lenses over the years and they were both absolutely outstanding lenses.
So I sold that one off and a few months go by and I have an assignment where I think the EF 300 4L IS USM will be an advantage due to it's much handier size and weight so I bought another new EF 300 4L IS USM and went on the shoot. I started to notice a pattern developing once I got the chromes back from the lab. Even with IS working on the deck of a large racing sailboat the EF 300 2.8L USM images were sharper and had much more pop than the images shot with the EF 300 4L IS USM.
So I sold that lens a few months later to a friend of mine who I showed the chromes to fully disclosing my issues with the EF 300 4L IS USM lens. He still has that lens and it works fine for him shooting his kids playing soccer and tennis.
A couple of years later I thought I would try yet another EF 300 4L IS USM on my now digital EOS bodies. At the time I was shooting with both EOS 1D and EOS 1Ds bodies and by now I also had purchased another EF 300 2.8L having lost the first one in 600feet of ocean while attached to an EOS 1N w/booster. After many more months of shooting with them side by side the EF 300 2.8L was still the clear winner of the image quality race though I liked the smaller size and lower weight of the EF 300 4L IS USM I'm a quality geek so I sold yet another EF 300 4L IS USM to some lucky guy to shoot his kids playing soccer.
60 of 133 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Portland, Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Great Telephoto Macro Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus, super value
I bought this lens because of its close focusing cabability compared to the other 300's available. I have not been disappointed. It has replaced the 180 L Macro for hand holding situations because of its light weight, IS capability, and greater working distance to subjects. Don't get me wrong, my 180 L Macro is still my go to lens for really close up work, but for general field use, this lens is super. And it is a 300 telephoto too. Wish they made a 400 or 500 with the close focusing capability this lens has. Added bonus - MSRP. A real sweet lens, with L quality, at a real sweet price.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: ttomas
Location: Kentucky
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

great macro lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus, great as a macro lens
This lens is amazing as a macro lens. I shoot with a Canon 100mm 2.8 macro also and love it, however I have to position too close to the subject To shoot macro with the 300mm, I have the ability to shoot from a little distance, and still get a fantastic shot. With the 300mm 2.8L, resuls are clear, crisp and he bokah is fantastic. Extension tubes are a must have to use this lens as a macro.
9 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
Nickname: ondo
Location: Tatamy Pa
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

a lot of bang for the buck

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2008
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus, high value
One of the best values for a telephoto. Easy to hand hold. If you can't afford to buy the big glass @ f-2.8 ; go for this. The glass is sharp,focus is fast. A friend who is an NFL photographer referred this lens to me. Good advise!
122 of 124 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site