Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

High-performance L-series super-telephoto with dual-mode Image Stabilizer function Ultra-high image quality through Fluorite and UD Glass High AF speed with improved Ring USM and algorithms for focus prediction Magnesium alloy lens barrels
Average Customer Rating:
4.842 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Review 1 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: cindy
Location: Puyallup WA.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

The best lens for wildlife

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2014
Pros: small lens extremely sharp.
This lens by far exceeds my expectations.
I used a range from a 400mm f 5.6 to a 500mm to 600mm
f 4 II . After my purchase of this lens it replaced all of them.
The quality of the use of a 1.4 III and the x2 extenders with
my 1D IV is amazing I love my pictures. This go to lens can be hand held and is sharp, for that its for ever in my backpack.
Using primarily for birding . My view there is no better lens.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Oboist
Location: New York
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

My Favorite Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2013
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I LOVE THIS LENS!! I find myself trying really hard to use it as much as possible, not only for the obvious reason (the reach provided by the 300mm focal length), but for the spectacular resolution at all apertures, and the wonderful compression at large openings. Seems odd to use a 300 for portraits (and it isn't actually all that convenient), but the results can be amazing. Use it mostly for wildlife, and found the focus tracking to be quite good. I personally think this about the biggest lens I can handle easily enough to shoot confidently without tri- or monopod support. IS is effective up to about a 100th or so.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Raymondba
Location: Sweden
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2012
Pros: the build quality, speed, f2.8, well working af
Cons: well the price tag
Well, I must firstly mention that this is my first super telephoto lens and I love it. The speed and picture quality is amazing. The f 2.8 is handy in low light.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Hoss
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Should have purchased years ago

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2011
Pros: tack sharp, fast focus
Cons: none
I have used this lens for many sporting events and love it!!! It responds well for fast action. I shoot Soccer. Football. and Baseball with it as well as wildlife. I have used it in all types of weather conditions and never had a problem!!! I have been using Canon since 1975. This lens is by far one of the sharpest I have ever seen! If you don't own an L series lens this is the ONE TO BUY!!
( you will never want a standard lens again ) I also have the 1.4 X and the 2X teleconverters and they work great with this lens!!!
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: jd
Location: antioch, california
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Birders Glass

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2011
Pros: excellent glass
Cons: heavy/pricey
Excellent for Birding
Fast and Very Sharp
Perfect bokeh
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Rrudo74901
Location: NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Believe the Hype!!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I read all the reviews and had to try this lens. As the title says, believe the hype, this is one outstanding lens.
Image quality, sharpness, color, auto focus speed is all a step ahead of anything else I have owned. This is used primarily for sports and the speed allows a lower ISO and high shutter speeds in all scenarios.
With the Mark II out, pick one up before the used prices rise. You will not regret spending the large amount of money on this lens.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Oboist
Location: New York State
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

The Gold Standard

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Will try to be brief; I think this is the finest lens of any length by any manufacturer, period. Resolution is count-the-whiskers crisp at any distance. Color range is amazing. Auto-focus very quick and accurate. Manual focus quick, easy and precise...an excellent blend of speed and precision. You will find yourself trying to use this when a shorter, lighter lens would be easier simply because the image quality is so breathtakingly fabulous. Sell your family and get hold of one of these any way you can.
I use this for wildlife (including birds) and wouldn't go on safari without it. Once you get hold of one, you will find all sorts of uses for it simpoly because it is so incredibly good.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Stalker
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Pro paparazzi

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus
Great tool for taking celebrity shots. I've been chasing a number of them lately and this has helped alot!
2 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Burdz
Location: Oak Harbor, Ohio
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2010
Pros: crystal clear, focuses fast
Cons: heavy
I've used this lens for a year now. I had the Canon 100-400 zoom which I used to shoot birds. The 300mm is like night and day.
It's faster and much sharper than the zoom. Either Canon extender works well even in low light, which is quite common when shooting warblers in the woods.
This is, by far, the best lens I have ever used.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: florida_birder
Location: Miami, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Unbelievable image quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, great color contrast
The Canon 300mm f/2.8 IS is an incredible lens. I use this as my main birding lens. I had the 100-400 before, which is still an excellent lens, but the difference in image quality and speed that the 300mm f/2.8 IS delivers is really quite amazing. I've been able to capture amazing action shots with this lens. This lens is unbelievably sharp and crisp, renders wonderful colors and texture, and is very portable, albeit heavy. This lens will be with me forever.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: DPSCPA
Location: Aurora IL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

YOU CAN'T IMAGINE

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus
This lens took pictures of a car moving 30 mph 200+ yards away and I could describe the driver down to the detail that she had an oxygen tube in her nose!! No blur as I moved the camera to adjust for the car's position changes. Wish I had it at the football game last week. GREAT LENS!!!
17 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Snapping Turtle
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Perhaps the finest of all optics

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus
This lens is in my opinion, the one of the finest and most versatile of the Super Telephoto series of lenses. Other than durability and a lot of light, its optics are hard to beat. Few if any lens comes close. With a moderate 300mm reach, it can be deployed on weddings, and athletic events indoors. By itself or with a teleconverter, it performs superbly for wildlife and outdoor sports. This lens is simply a ruler of superb optics.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: swalsh2333
Location: Huntington, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Off the hook

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus, looks bad (as in good)
This lens is incredible. Super fast auto focus. Super clean and crisp images. A must have if you're shooting sports. The images are far better then the human eye. I'm in awe every time I use it. If you can afford to buy it (or even if you can't) pull the trigger. This lens is simply amazing!
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: EOS4me
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Finally!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus, best general use sports lens for eos shooters
Cons: cost
Finally an EF mount 300mm lens from Canon that beats my old standard the EF 300 2.8L USM! I've owned three EF 300 4L IS USM lenses and none of them were a match for my old workhorse EF 300 2.8L USM lenses (I've owned two). Not on film back in the day and not in the digital real either where the EF 300 2.8L only improved against the EF 300 4L IS USM. But the EF 300 2.8L IS USM is a noticably better lens even before you turn on the IS. Even without IS turned on the EF 300 2.8L IS USM is a very slightly contrastier lens. This opinion comes from shooting them for work and in side by side comparisons on EOS 1Ds and EOS 1Ds mkII bodies. The differences are slight but once the IS gets turned on and the freedom to move IS can provide you there is no contest which lens is the more useful working lens. Is the new EF 300 2.8L IS USM worth the major premium in cost over buying a clean used EF 300 2.8L non IS? That is a very hard question to answer but for many the answer will be yes.
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: PC PHOTO
Location: Fargo, ND
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

The Pinnacle of Image Quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus, superior utility, complete owner satisfaction
Having owned the last three Canon 300mm f/2.8's I new when I puchased the IS version it would not dissapoint. This has simply been Canon's best optic for years. The pictures from this version are simply fantastic, and the IS is allowing me to pull this off this kind of quality at 1/30 of a second. With its predecessors this could not have been accomplished without a tripod. Once you see the quality from this gem, you will no longer be concerned what you took out of your wallet to purchase it. It really is that good. Prepare yourself for 300's inspiration, it will change your portfolio's caliber.
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Phlatrok
Location: Northern Virginia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Fine Glass At Last ! ! !

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus
I've desired a Canon 300mm 2.8 for many years and it was more than worth the wait to purchase one.
Sharp and Contrasty, the finest lens that I've used in 30+ years. Much lighter than expected, it can be hand held for most all of the Nature and Sports photography that I do, even with a Canon 1.4 or 2x converter attached, thanks IS.
I also use it a lot with a Canon EF-25 Extension Tube for Nature. With the fast 2.8 + IS, a Canon PL-C 52 drop in Polarizer is used most of the time. This lens with the Canon accessories mentioned are a "must" for all of my photographic ventures.
Thanks Canon !
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: amfoto1
Location: San Jose, Calif.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Simply stunning!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus, incredible backgrounds!, superb color, utterly amazing to use!
I bought this lens in 2001, used it on film cameras for several years and now on digital SLRs, and am still totally enamored with it. It's an incredible tool to have at hand! But be warned, it might spoil you for other lenses.
Most of my use of this lens is with a gimbal mount, on a solid tripod. However, yes, it can be handheld at times, although you will probably not want to do so for terribly long periods of time. Works well with monopods, too, when a tripod isn't possible.
Still, I'm always surprised it fits into a relatively small backpack I use, when it's lens hood is reversed for storage. And that backpack with this lens in it fits into an airline overhead compartment, or even through the security screener. In other words, it travels well!
It also is very fast too shoot with. Autofocus is quick and precise, I.S. spins up and kicks in quickly, the lens balances well with a larger camera body and it's easy to track moving subjects.
I've used the 300/2.8 I.S. with both 1.4X II and 2X II Extenders, on a variety of cameras over the years, and it works very well with them, too.
If I had to describe the 300/2.8 I.S. in a single, short phrase, it would be "totally uncompromisiing quality". I have yet to meet another photographer using this lens who didn't think it one of the finest lenses they'd ever had the pleasure to shoot with.
26 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: PhotoDude
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Superb

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2008
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus, the is is awesome
This is a magnificent lens for just about anything you shoot at a distance. I use this lens for sports. I shoot for the NLL and my 400MM F/2.8 is to much glass and I use my 70-200MM for closer shots. This lens is a perfect size for the playing surface and is fast. This lens shoots the clearest photos and gets the most use in my bag for Lacrosse and Hockey. It's light enough to hold or use a monopod. You need to have one.
27 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM
Based on 1 ratings-only review
OverallAverage Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site