Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro

EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro

Focusing from infinity down to one-half life size (0.5x) Features a floating optical system, ensuring top-notch performance at close distances Light and compact Optional Life Size Converter EF enables focusing to life size (1:1)
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro
Review 1 for EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro
Nickname: PJC
Location: Fargo, ND
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Bargain Macro!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2013
Pros: Super-sharp images, inexpensive
Cons: Slow auto-focus
I purchased this lens mainly to use in copying my vast library of color slides. Paired with Canon extension tubes, a competitors slide holder, and a decent light source, it works terrific! My Canon 5D III makes much quicker files since I don't have to wait the several minutes for a regular scanner to do its scan, and I can see the results on the cameras LCD screen histogram right away. In addition doing white balance for the light source is a cinch. Since both type of copies require final retouching in Photoshop, the Macro is a much better way to go. It's much less costly since you already own a DSLR! Of course it works fine for traditional pictures too! The lens has been unchanged for years, so brace yourself when you hear the sound of the focusing motor... its from the beginning of EOS so just marvel at the fact that it's still around. However, it still has metal filter threads, and the optics are great!
30 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro
Nickname: Jim
Location: Paso Robles, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Primary Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2012
I purchased this lens to complement the recent purchase of a Canon T2i. I had the choice of getting the 18-55mm lens or this 50mm f/2.5, I selected this lens as my first lens purchase because of reviews noting its sharp optical quality. As for the zoom, I figured I could use my feet to zoom in and out accordingly. I have used this lens for about three weeks now, and could not be happier with my choice. Since I use this lens mainly for still life projects, the motor focus noise criticism noted by others is not bothersome to me. In fact, what noise there is, is a nice audio clue that the lens is working for me. Hard to find fault with this lens, I like it a lot.
75 of 75 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro
Nickname: Praveen G
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Best 50mm budget lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2012
Pros: picture clarity, build, versatility
Cons: slow autofocus, hunts at low light with af on
If you are planning to go for a 50mm lens, I would suggest this lens. It not only takes sharp pictures wide open, it is also well suited for all purposes from landscape and portrait to macro. Though it is not a complete macro lens still it fairs well with 0.5x magnification. I have used my friend's 50mm f/1.8, which is no where close to this lens. 50mm f/1.4 can be a good competitor to this lens but still considering the price and the macro ability on this lens, 50mm f/2.5 van be considered the winner. The only difficulty with this lens is that it hunts @ low light situation where I can't trust AF and I will have to go for MF. And the AF is quite slow apart from that this is one heck of a versatile lens. A best buy for the money without breaking the bank.
34 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro
Nickname: photographer14

Great lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2011
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
just bought the lens a week ago and absoulutely love it! i have got amazingly sharp images with it. the only thing that is difficult to photography with the lens is insects because of the close working distance and most insects are usually frightened by the loud auto focus. but overall it i would recommend it
46 of 47 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro
Nickname: SU
Location: NJ
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Worth the Price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2010
Pros: light, great image quality
Cons: noisy
I am very much into macro photography and I really like this lens. Its great for taking photos of plants and flowers and things of that sort. Its also very lightweight. It can be little loud when focusing, but thats not a very big deal in my opinion. Overall, I am very satisfied with this purchase and it was well worth the money I paid for it.
20 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro
Nickname: windy
Location: Annapolis Maryland
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

older design

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2010
Pros: light
Cons: Slow auto-focus, distortion
50mm macro f 2.5
Good sharp and light- handy for those reasons
slow focus
has a lot of distortion when photographing flat art- requires correction in Photoshop to straighten the curvature.
33 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro
Nickname: Urbanmythx
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great for Portraits

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, portraits
Cons: Slow auto-focus
I bought this lense for portraits as I read that it is a good lens for that purpose. I have used it for macro shooting only a few times and was really impressed. Although it is not a true lifesize macro lens it is well worth the cost and fun to use.
122 of 126 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro
Nickname: BJD
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Canon's Dual Purpose Prime

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2008
Pros: Super-sharp images, dependable build quality
Cons: auto-focus motor a bit noisy
If you are looking for a sharp 50mm prime lens that offers decent build quality and outstanding close-focus capabilities - the EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro should be on your short list. This lens is a chameleon in versatility. Use it as a "half-size" macro that will catch every detail of small subjects. It doubles as a great standard prime and low-light performer. This is a great lens to place on your camera for a museum visit or a trip to your local botanical garden venue to catch subjects both large and small. The auto focus motor is a bit noisy, but extremely accurate in macro shots.
As a "standard lens" focus becomes a bit slower, but stopped down to f/4-f/5.6 the superb sharpness and contrast is worth your patience. The EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro is a great value at the given price point and well-worth consideration by anyone seeking a solid and versatile performer that won't break the bank.
278 of 280 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site