Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo

MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo

Unique high-quality manual focus lens exclusively for macro photography from 1~5x life-size Supports AE metering with EOS cameras Compatible with Macro Ring Lite and Macro Twin Lite Removable tripod collar revolves smoothly and locks securely
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo
Review 1 for MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo
Nickname: Sogaheal
Location: Mexico City
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Really fun!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2013
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: no focus at all
This is a superb lens if you are a macro/micro photography enthusiast. It is kind of tricky to focus since, well, you can not focus with the lens. You need to move the camera in order to get the right picture. It is definitively not for everybody, this is only if you like this type of abstract photography and, since it is not cheap, you may want to rent it first. In my case, I can not be happier it is really fun to use and so far no need of a tripod to take awesome pics. I paired with the macro ring lite and I can't drop it!
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo
Nickname: 7D
Location: PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Amazing lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2013
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: pricey
If you love macro photography, this lens takes it to another level. There is an initial learning curve with it, but once mastered it truely opens the door to insane macro ability.
Lighting has been an issue, at the 5x magnification, due to the shallow distance from the object. I have been experimenting with light painting as a means of highlighting areas with good results.
Live view, tripod, shutter release are highly recommened. A great lens to own.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo
Nickname: biglenses
Location: uk
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

totally brilliant! !!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2012
Pros: + 1.4 extender
well,read about the lens and thought thats the one to get, loving macro, its a wowwy! !! i use tripods usually and remote too brilliant !! also recently i tried the 1.4 extender on it. now it stays on the lens, even better superb, inside flowers once setup is brilliant its just like havin a microscope on the end of your camera !!!!!! ill give live view a try too: shud be even better : 5 times +the extender give it a try you wont be dissapointed ??
love it to death : A.L
13 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo
Nickname: Anonymous

Great niche lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2012
This lens requires some skill, but it can get results that no other DSLR lens can. I have both this and the 100mm f2.8L macro. The 100mm is arguably a better lens for 'regular' macro, but this one can get incredible magnification. It opens up a whole new world.
.
Here's an idea of scale: I shot the side of a blade of grass at a 45 degree angle (5x, tripod, sunlight, no flash). It more than filled the frame. Only a small ribbon is in focus, and there's a really nice blur in the background and foreground.
.
If you love macro and you're willing to put in the work, get this lens. If you want an easy lens to walk around with, get the 100mm f2.8L.
50 of 51 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo
Nickname: RHadi
Location: Santa Monica
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Lens - But definitely not for greenhorn

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2012
Pros: very high magnification
Cons: extremely sensitive to slight vibrations
By far the most difficult lens I've ever used. It does what it is supposed to do better than any other lens, but handling the lens is a real challenge. At this magnification level, 5x, even the slight breeze throws the object out of focus. Not only a very sturdy tripod is a must, but in my opinion, a remote trigger is same as much necessary since merely touching a camera to click results in vibration and out of focus picture. I have lens ring mounted flash, not the ring light but the one with 2 adjustable flash strobes. It is difficult to work with those as well since often time, using this particular lens, one will find himself barely couple of inches away from the object. I am still trying to learn to use this lens.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo
Nickname: Mackaboogie
Location: Evergreen, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Not for the occassional experiment

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2011
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: must have ring flash, must have tripod, must have remote
I have this lens along with the ring flash and thought it would be great fun when I first purchased it. It is very difficult to operate because the depth of field is about 1mm when at 5x. You definitely need a tripod, flash and ideally a remote trigger to get clean shots. At 5x a photo of a house fly's eye will fill about half of the image and will only have about half of it in focus because if you focus on the front of the eye the back half will be a blur. This is obviously the nature of the lens but if you need to shoot at 5x often I would suggest a microscope instead.
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo
Nickname: Mark
Location: Franklin Tn
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years

A must have lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2011
Pros: best using live view
This is the ultimate macro lens when used correctly. The more you work with it the better it gets. Best when you used with strobes. This lens is a lot easier to use if you go to live view. This allows you to use the rear screen to focus in normal light even at the x5 scale. Yes it can be hard to hold and get sharp images but it can be done. I can't say enough good things about this lens since I found using live view is the key to hand holding this lens.
26 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo
Nickname: HPL
Location: South Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Interesting piece of equipment

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2011
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, only lens that does what it does
Cons: difficult to find subject in viewfinder
I have used this lens several times through CPS loans and it is the only lens that I have found that does what it does, but boy is it a challenge. field of view and depth of field are so narrow that I have no idea how one would get a photo of anything that was moving. In my opinion absolutely requires tripod and focusing rail. Results much better when using ringlight (still a real challenge), but great fun!
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo
Nickname: PhotographyByNC
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Macro On A Whole New Level

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2010
Pros: solid build, nice weight, great image quality, the only one that does what it does!
I first owned an MP-E about a year ago from this writing and eventually ended up selling it for a 180mm L macro. Now I've managed to get my hands back on this great lens and paired with the right lighting equipment, it is phenomenal for any bug from grasshoppers down to the tiniest aphid. I do like that the twisting controls the magnification while your body itself is the "focus ring". I can usually handhold this lens without any support up to 3x magnification, but once I hit 4x and closer, I definitely need something to brace against. The image quality is sharp, though at 5x, be careful not to stop it down too much, otherwise diffusion of light within the lens itself starts to occur (though the images are still very usable). Overall I think this lens is the best at what it was designed to do (heck, its the only one designed to do it!), and I can't ask any more than that. A+ on this lens!
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo
Nickname: Thunder
Location: Akron, Ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

The best there is for extreme macro

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2010
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This is the only game in town for extreme macro. Forget reverse mounting lens, forget bellows, ext tubes etc. Save your pennies and get this lens. Is it a challenge to use? You bet it is. But I am here to tell you that you do not need a tripod if you use proper form and take advantage of things like your camera bag.
A little tip, set the lens at the mag you want to use and rock your body to get the focus.
Now, if you wish to photo stack you will need a solid support system.
I have used this lens for a month now, and I am amazed daily with what it can do. Sharp, clear throughout its range.
Canon, you did good.
42 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo
Nickname: Shalom
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Beautiful

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, breathtaking magnification
Cons: doesn't focus to infinity
This is an amazing lens, which opens up a whole new world of imaging possibilities. The quality and materials are top-grade. The magnification is almost beyond belief; you can actually take portraits of snowflakes with this lens. the 1 to 5x zoom gives a good amount of flexibility in how much magnification to use, however, it doesn't focus to infinity... it's strictly for super close-up macro work. If this is what you want, there's no better lens out there for your Canon!
57 of 58 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo
Nickname: MIah
Location: chicago,IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

AWESOME!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, 5x
Cons: needs flash, needs stable tripod for greater than 2x
if you are into really small things being made big; than this is the lens you want. You will need to get the twin flash or the ring flash if you plan on using this in any other light other than sunlight. there really is nothing else like this.
52 of 52 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo
Nickname: Shoot2Thrill
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

AWESOME Capabilities

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality
Awesome lens, If uyour serious about Macro Photography this lens is a MUST, Can shoot at 5X lifesize handheld with the help of a MT-24EX Ringflash, Highly recomented with the lens.
43 of 44 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site