Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

High-performance, L-series telephoto zoom, lightweight and compact, with an f/4 maximum aperture Internal focusing and a ring-type USM enable quick and quiet autofocusing 16 elements in 13 groups Non-rotating front element
Average Customer Rating:
4.914 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 out of 35(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Review 1 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: Billyboy66
Location: Concord, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Sharpest Lens I've ever owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Several months ago, I took two bags of lenses that I have, including several "L" lenses, and I ran them through my own tests to see which was the sharpest and second sharpest, etc. This was after a friend of mine, who does professional photo work, had a picture of herself taken with this lens and it was so sharp, it was almost too sharp. By far, this lens came out the winner! I now have a new respect for this lens. The only problem is that I wish I had more uses for it then I do. It's kind of an odd "mm" in that I find it too high to use for portraits and landscapes, except for close-ups of things far away, and when I shot the moon a few weeks ago, it came in a big blurred, whereas my really cheap 500mm mirror lens did okay. But when I've used it for shooting portraits of people, though they are further away, making it more difficult, the pictures are absolutely amazing! Likewise, I shot a mountain in a meadow a few weeks ago and that was amazing as well. I haven't found the exact best use of this lens yet, but if you're considering buying this lens, it takes by far the sharpest and most amazing color photos of any other Canon lens I've come across as of yet.
Review 2 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: airborne
Location: Germany
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Perfect Balance

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, great value, lightweight
Cons: none
I purchased this lens for my 700D after reading multiple reviews and researching various lenses. This is my first L lens and I am very pleased with the pictures and the way the lens handles. For me, it is the perfect balance of quality (great glass and solid build), practicality (lightweight and ergonomic), and cost (especially with a rebate). I primarily shoot outdoor sports/action and have also taken some great indoor action pictures--yes, handheld without IS. I recommended this lens to a friend who ended-up purchasing the IS version (also a great lens) and has been very satisfied.
Review 3 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: Taz
Location: Norfolk, VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

7D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2014
Pros: best price, sharp image, suitable weight, better built, easy to handle
It's my First Lens for 7D and I am happy with its super sharp colors and best results.
portraits and other shots I have taken so far are remarkable.
Happy to have it, an looking forward to play more out of it.
Price, built quality and weight is ideal.
Highly recommended.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: Quiettsolopursuit
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Can be a great lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2013
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: Slow auto-focus, auto-focus not always accurate
This is the second 70-200 mm lenses for me, I returned the first after a couple of weeks because I could not get a sharp image from it. The replacement lens was much better, but I at the time, I still rated it as the least sharp of the three lenses I own. I couldn't see what all the hype over L series lenses was all about.
A funny thing happened though, the more I have used this lens, the sharper it has gotten. The auto-focus has sped up, and become quieter as well. Now, I rate this as the sharpest of the three lenses, although the auto-focus is still slower and louder than the other two lenses. Why that is, I don't know, but this lens has gone from producing OK photos, to some mind blowingly sharp photos at times.
I have found that when using this lens near the limits of its close focusing capabilities, I have to switch to live view and focus manually to get the awesome sharpness this lens is capable of. I can use the servo mode of auto-focus to come close to that, one shot auto-focus produces variable results, usually not good.
At more typical working distances, this lens is blowing me away with the sharpness, color, contrast, and color saturation, but it was if it had to be broken in to get to this point. It's now producing photos so good that I can't imagine how the photos could be any better, and that's saying a lot. The photos are so sharp that you can "see" the texture of a bird's feathers, or the scales of a butterfly's wings.
There's a lot to love about this lens, like the fact that it doesn't change length when you zoom it, it stays set at whatever focal length you set for when using it near vertical, it's fairly light for it's focal length, and most of all, the photos that it can produce.
I use this lens on a 60D body, and apparently, there are differences in the way that lenses and bodies perform together. I purchased a second 60D body two weeks ago, and used this lens on the second body for a week, and the difference in the accuracy of the auto-focus is very noticeable, much better with body number two than the first.
One more thing, I purchased the non IS version, it works fine for me, but I would recommend the IS version, even though it is more expensive. I wished that I had done so. My other two lenses have it, and you don't know how much you will like something until you try it.
So, overall, this lens has a lot going for it, I have learned how to get some incredibly sharp images from it, I love it. But, I think that Canon should do a better job of making all their lenses work 100% with all their bodies, 100% of the time.
20 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: Mahyar
Location: Iran
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best for Portrait Photography

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Best for Portrait Photography and best for all photographer .
Powered by CANON ..
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: Len90
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Best Lens I Ever Purchased

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I have had my 70-200 f4L since 2007. I've used it on a 30D, 7D, and now on my 6D. I also sometimes attach the 1.4x III extender when using it on the 6D. This by far has to be the best lens I have ever used. It is coming up on 6 years and I have never had an issue with it. The lens is consistently sharp and always performs when called upon. Over the 6 years of owning my 70-200 f4L I have photographed everything with it including wildlife, sporting events, airplanes, and scenery. No matter what the subject matter is I always get images that are sharp and crisp. This lens was my first "L" series and because of it I will never buy anything else.
I personally do recommend something like a 24-70 or 24-105 to complement the lens and to consider the 1.4x if using this on a full frame.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: Lurcus
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Very good purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2013
Pros: color rendition, bokeh, small size, good built quality
Cons: corners sharpness, not "l" built quality
Sharpness is not so good at the corners of the frame and the built quality is not as good as you would expect from an "L" lens, but that's all you can criticize of this zoom.
The 70-200/4 L is inexpensive, it has a unique color rendition (which I really love) it's light, compact, and it keeps its size even zooming. Considering its price, it is a very good purchase.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: Wally Cleaver
Location: West Coast
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great for outdoors

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This lens works great outdoors in normal light. The pictures are fantastic and the sharpness is nothing short of amazing. No need to think twice unless you need low light capabilities then go for the 2.8 version.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: osucowpoke
Location: Northern Oklaoma
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding overall zoom lense

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This lens has the versatility to shoot close semi-macro and also utilize for great sports photography (and everything in between, e.g. portraits). I place it on a monopod lots and it makes it easy to move and change settings. Very pleased with the performance and picture quality.
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: Max Bloom
Location: Columbus, IN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Get this lens!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This is my first L series lens and I now understand what the fuss is all about regarding the L series lenses. I've had this lens for 2 years now and I couldn't be happier. Super sharp images, great color, and great contrast. I mainly use this lens for portrait work. While it needs a bit more light than its 2.8 brother, it is still a great lens.
The lens weighs a little bit and I recommend using it with a tripod.
Great workhorse lens!
Try the L series lenses. You'll be glad you did and you will see a huge difference in your photos.
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: Scaggs
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Perfect

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, lightweight
Cons: slower aperture
Incredible image quality and it's a very light lens. If you're doing landscapes, this is the lens for you. If you want to do sports/high action shots, then go for the more expensive f/2.8L lens only because it's got a larger aperture.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: maynardac
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Perfect for scenic views

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
We can start from it's quality... this lens might be heavy for some of the users but the quality speaks for itself... And it doesn't have IS, so this is not a perfect lens for sports, but I made some shot for 4th of July and the output was really awesome... took some good scenic shots as well using this lens, and you will never get wrong.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: climbhigh4fun
Location: Southern California
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent quality and value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, relatively light and compact
This L series zoom has excellent build quality as well as excellent IQ. It is compact and light which makes it great for anyone needing to shed a little weight for things like hiking, mountain climbing (which is why I love it), or if one's wrists just get tired when holding a heavy lens. This lens provides L series quality in a lightweight package.
I love the fact that this zoom does not change in length when zooming. Zooming takes place inside the barrel. This makes it harder for dust and moisture to get inside the lens or camera.
Although the lens is light, one can still feel the rugged construction.
Image quality is outstanding. I find that most of the time I don't need my image stabilized lenses when shooting during the day, in bright conditions. Color is superb, contrast is excellent and the lens works well for portraits to landscapes to wildlife and sports.
This is the most affordable L series lens but with all the quality that Canon L series is known for, you can't go wrong with this lens!
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: climbhigh4fun
Location: Desert Hot Springs, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Fantastic Lens!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2012
Pros: image quality, rugged build, lightweight
Cons: should have a tripod collar included
Dollar for dollar, this is one of the best lens purchases I have ever made. Image quality, rugged build, being lightweight and popular zoom range have made this lens a great purchase for me. Some say that the lack of image stabilization in a con and they prefer the IS version. For what I do with this lens, mostly wildlife which I shoot at high shutter speeds means I don't worry too much about camera shake, and landscape with it on a tripod, in which case IS is not needed. At nearly 1/2 the price of the IS and significantly lighter make this a great lens to have in my bag on long hiking trips where weight is an issue, which is exactly why I bought this lens. I do have and use IS lenses, but this is a great piece of L series glass at an extremely reasonable price. I have also used it as a portrait lens, especially outdoors. Oh, I almost forgot about the lightning fast, silent and accurate auto focus.
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

awesome lens!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2011
Pros: fast af super sharp build quality
Cons: could use a tripod mount
this lens is totally worth every penny! the images are super sharp, color contrast and bokeh are just amazing even though it's f4. highly recommended lens and great starter entry for L series lenses.
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: spiderwebmxpics
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Emergency backup lens may become #1 in my bag

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, light weight
Recently my 'Go to' lens began having focus problems and since I had some races to cover right away I purchased the EF 70-200 f/4L. I had borrowed a friends on the day my other lens acted up and was convinced it was a great backup. I opted for the f/4 non IS because my primary lens is an f/2.8 with IS and I couldn't justify spending the extra to duplicate that. First race out (motocross) I was very happy with performance of the lens in fast action shots and couldn't believe the color captured even in dusty conditions. Also carrying the camera/lens all day I was overjoyed by the light weight.
I did miss the IS on some panned shots but wouldn't blame the failures on the lens entirely.
In motocross the perfect shot is often gone as fast as you can focus and this lens was fast enough to beat the riders.
As my first venture into L glass I was very happy and this lens is now on top of the list for daily use. I am looking to sell my 'go to' lens and purchase the 70-200 f2.8L IS to replace it as the 'go to'.
This lens is being used in combination with both a Rebel XTi and Rebel T1i primarily to shoot motocross pictures used in publications and sold as posters
26 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: smithmaestro
Location: San Francisco, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years

Worth all the cents I paid it with

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality
I have had this lens for a couple of months, and this has been the most helpful and best lens I have in my arsenal of lenses. I'm not a professional, but I do take lots of pictures, and I can get up close to the things I need from afar. This lens has proven that it is worth every penny, for me.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: arturoy
Location: Los angeles
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, must work on manual mode, needs falsh or high iso 800+
Cons: low light a a-
Just bought it two days ago for a dancing performance, i took 200 Pictures and every single one is super sharp and very clear. When you crop them in your computer, it will also be very clear. Buy this one, you will not regret. The only thing is that with lower light, you will have to use a flash and set the ISO to 800+. This camera is not for the amateur that sets it on full auto. You have to work on manual mode.
11 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: Liz
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Bang for buck

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
Having used the IS 2.8 version, I was a little nervous about buying this lens. However, the lack of IS has not turned out to be a noticeable problem, even in low light. The pictures have turned out great and this lens is much lighter than it's IS counterparts!
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Nickname: KZGuy
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

First L lens certainly not my last

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, came with lens hood and bag
Cons: did not come with tripod collar
This lens is simply amazing! It is the sharpest lens I have used to date, with amazing overall IQ. The AF is lightning fast, and always spot on. For what I am using this lens for, I did not need the IS version, but if you plan to hand hold in low light, or at full telephoto I recommend it. The only thing that would make this lens perfect would be if it came with the tripod collar, rather than having to purchase it separately (which I did)...and maybe a macro setting too...for 200mm at least. If all the L lenses are similar in quality to this one, I will certainly be replacing some of my other lenses with the L versions. Stop thinking about it and buy this lens already...you won't regret it!
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site