Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 II USM

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 II USM

Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 II USM
Review 1 for EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 II USM
Nickname: thal3s
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

It's a excellent lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2010
Pros: great image quality, nice construction, is so beutiful and large
Cons: produce glares when takes against light
This lens have a great image quality when you use flash or not, are so best when you take photos at 105, 'cause the background gets a pretty blur. When you take photos at night is better you close the aperture, if not, you'll get a undesirable glare even if you going to take against the light (how incandescent or fluorescent, normal lamps).
However you don't need to worry, because it will give you great pictures, wherever you go.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 II USM
Nickname: Vince
Location: Portland, Oregon
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

One of Canon's best zoom lenses

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2010
Pros: Super-sharp images, low chromatic aberrations compared to other canon
Cons: some distortion
Some people will wonder why I call this one of Canon's best lenses. It may be that I purchased a rarely choice copy, but I can honestly say it is better that some Canon L lenses!! I found it to be sharper than the EF 24-105L IS and has less chromatic aberration. It has a bit more distortion at both the wide and long ends than the EF 24-105 L IS, but the contrast is just as good or better. If it just had IS, it would be outstanding. I see no vignetting at the wide end, even wide open, but I am using it on a Canon 5D Mark II which corrects for vignetting. Sharpness is almost as good in the corners as in the center. I base my comparative observations on experience. I have owned at one time or another about 25 Canon lenses. This on is sharper than most, including the 50mm f/1.4, even stopped down to f/5.6 on both lenses. It's a shame that Canon discontinued it. However, I know that not all copies of this lens are as sharp as mine. I purchased in in February 2010, so I got one of the last made.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 II USM
Nickname: Klaws
Location: Atlanta
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Inconsistancy prevents higher rating

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2009
Pros: overall very good quality images
Cons: produces distinct lines in images intermittently
I bought the lens because I wanted a multi-purpose zoom to carry on trips so I could keep the number of lenses I carried to a minimum. Overall - I like the lens pretty well except for the lens creep when I carry the camera on my shoulder. There is no way to keep the lens from extending all the way outward except to pop a rubber band around it. The show-stopper for me is that while it creates really nice photos most of the time, without warning it will produce images with VERY pronounced horizontal or vertical lines running though the entire image -which will ruin the photo. They do not show up in the camera screen so I do not know that my shots are unusable until I get home and begin to edit on my pc
.
At first I thought the problem was with my camera (5D) but I have never had that problem happen with any of my other lenses. Because of this, I can no longer use this lens on assignments. I know it is not considered a 'pro' lens but I was extremely surprised and pleased with the images that it produced until the first occurrence of the lines, and had actually begun using it on jobs here and there with nice results.
17 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 II USM
Nickname: Salty Dog
Location: Bay City, MI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Lens For The Money

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus
Cons: zoom ring can feel slightly sticky in spots.
I recently purchased a Canon EOS 20D body and needed a decent lens for it. I wanted something a little better than the standard lens that comes with the Rebel cameras as I did not want a plastic mount but rather metal to metal contact. This lens was a little more than I expected, very well made other than the zoom ring not being real smooth, but not enough for me wishing I hadn't purchased it. I felt the sharpness was excellent, even in the macro mode. Light gathering is good enough for general everyday use even when set at ISO 100. All being said, I felt this is a very good lens for the price and does my 20D justice. Now, if I only could afford one of the "L" lenses.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 II USM
Nickname: Ackvil
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Travel Lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2009
Pros: Fast auto-focus
I am finding that I am using this lens more and more often. It provides more versatility than most lenses and is ideal for travel when you don't want to lug around a lot of heavy lenses. A great buy. I have used this for more than a year and recommend it as a versatile, reasonably priced lens.
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 II USM
Nickname: Fred
Location: Springfield, MO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Good alternitive to the kit lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2009
Pros: Fast auto-focus, cost
I bought this lens for my XT rather messing with the kit lens. While it does not compare to any L lens it is a great value. if you are on a tight budget this is the lens for you.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 II USM
Nickname: doctor
Location: Athens
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

good back up lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2008
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus
Cons: vignietting wide open, distortion at tele focal lenths
I own this lens for more than five years and i'm very happy with its performance. I own the 24-70 too, and in comparison the 28-105 is much smaller and lighter, bright enough for most aplications and the autofocus is very fast. The only downsides for me are the vignietting at wide open aperture and the distortion at the long focal lenths. These are not big problems but after getting used to the 24-70 they bother me a little. I would recomend this lens to anyone that don't have the money for the 24-70.
72 of 76 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site