Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

Image Stabilization technology Responds in as little as 0.5 seconds, while providing up to three stops of correction 8-blade circular aperture offers a more pleasing out-of-focus image Constructed to pro standards, dust- and moisture-resistant
Average Customer Rating:
4.906 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
53 out of 53(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Review 1 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: rortiz96
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: heavy
great lens, DOF is amazing. Only issue kind of heavy
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: cs48116
Location: Brighton, Mi
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

awesome lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2012
Pros: ease of use, sharpness of pictures, high quality of workmanship
Cons: not weather sealed
This lens is well worth the price. It is sharp, clear and precise through out its range from 70-200mm. In gyms with very poor lighting, this lens shines! I take basketball pictures and they are awesome with this lens. It makes me looks like a professional photographer with years of experience. Another aspect of the lens that I never thought of is its white color. When people see that lens on your camera, people give you more respect and access to more areas of a football field, gym or track. They believe you are a true professional when you carry and use this lens.
16 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Canonfodder
Location: Coconut Creek, FL (SE)
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Race results as promised

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2012
Pros: very sharp, easy zoom
After a 30 year hiatus from motorcycle race photography I took my first race and the results were spectacular. Used the lens at 200mm with 1.4X ll convertor. Even in the overcast the autofocus was fast and the shots were very sharp. Panning required me to be in AI servo, mode 2 AF and in most cases it worked very well, Would have liked to try the second day when the light was better.That day was dedicated to working with my 400mm 5.6 (see review). I will switch back to center point autofocus as it offers more control over a particular subject in a pack. Overall, my experience with this lens makes it highly recommended. I just have to work on my panning, especially on the straights where bikes are moving 250+ft./second.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Canonfodder
Location: Coconut Creek (SE) FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Lens though flawed

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2012
Pros: best bokeh, great candids, excellent image quality, a must for full frame
Cons: bulky and heavy, my particular bayonett
I have owned this lens for 9 years took my wedding with it on a 10D. Great portraiture lens especially in low light. In any situation the bokeh is the best. Nature shots, its a bit bulky and heavy for carry. I use it with a Canon 1.4x ll converter and still wanting for more magnification. The 2x at 200 is soft. The auto focus could be faster and the minimum focus distance could be a little shorter. Overall, I love this lens. My only real beef is that I must have received a product where the bayonett is on the sloppy side of the tolerence as it moves in place. None of my current or former Canon lenses do this. For Birds I have been taking out my 400mm 5.6 with a 1.4x at 560mm it is still tack sharp. I will be changing to motorcycle racing events and will report on the 70-200 and its IS functions soon.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: turtle
Location: San Diego CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

the one and only

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2011
Pros: wonderful for lower light sports
Cons: hevy unless used on a pro or prosumer camera
I am an avid photographer with acess to a very wide assortment of canon and off brand lenses and this lens is the best i have ever used. Compared to the 70-200 f4 this is a bmw 7 series next to a ford ranger. The f4 is great but the 2.8 is magical. I am saving up my pennies and dimes, forgoing buying a car and selling my limbs( not really) to purchase this lens
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Ruth, MS
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Incredible lens! Worth the $

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: weighty but worth it!
I have wanted this lens for ages, and finally took the plunge and all I can say is I wish I had gotten it sooner! Fantastic images and super fast AF! Great for equine photography both outside and in a covered arena. This lens is a must have for anyone that can afford to get it! If you're on the fence, go ahead and get it! You won't regret it!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: AlvisMedia
Location: VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: big
It's all been said in other reviews. This lens is great, sure it has some flaws but not many. If you are looking for good reliable lens this is a good choice. Version 2 is better but for the price differences this is a good buy.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: excelguru
Location: Calhoun, GA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

awesome lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, f/2.8 aperture
I've owned this lens for 6 years and I have never regretted the purchase. It is absolutely wonderful and has been worth every penny.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Fort Worth Photo
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Nice, But There's A Reason for the Next Generation

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality
Cons: Semi-sharp images, chromatic aberration
This lens is a little soft at 200mm when shooting wide open. I also see a good amount of chromatic aberration at that 200mm. I've used it to shoot an indoor dance recital on a 50D body. It gave me good range, especially with the crop factor of the 50D. It is solid and fast focusing. IS was great. This should be a fabulous lens outside. Thinking that the 135mm f/2 may be the more cost-effective solution for indoor dance recitals.
Review 10 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Oboist
Location: New York State
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

You Get What You Pay For

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2011
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, covers the most used focal lengths
Bought this lens for an African Safari 3 years ago, thinking I would use it for that trip and then re-sell it. Wrong. Since then there has hardly been a day when this lens wasn't hanging off one or another of my bodies. The only possible criticism I can imagine anyone levelling at this unit is that it does have some weight to it, but I'm now unwilling to go anywhere without it. When travelling in remote locations with tight luggage allowances I'm quite happy to leave all my clothes home to bring this lens and a 300 f2.8L. There is a lot of buzz about the new II version (which I admit I've never tried) but I can't imagine any piece of equipment being better suited to its purpose than this lens. It is incredibly rugged and weatherproof (trust me on this one, you can't hurt this thing) and most importantly produces a crisp, vibrant image every single time. Resolution is simply terrific, even with an extender, and the stabilizer is surprisingly effective. You can consider travelling withpout a tripod and still bring back high-quality images more often than not. When it has been impossible to bring a 300 2.8 I have been able to use this with a 1.4 extender with surprisingly little trade off, and from me that's high praise since I think the 300 2.8 is the finest lens of any size I've ever used.
When you take the tough build, fantastic resolution, image stabilizer, and add to all that the zoom range that covers the most-often required focal lengths, you get a lens that I can't imagine any Canon shooter doing without, regardless of the cost.
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: richluis
Location: NY, NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Part of Event Photographer's Bag

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I was just starting out in news and event photography when I purchased the 70-200 IS F2.8 lens. This is a very tough lens. After only about a month or two of owning this lens, the bag it was in caught on fire during a BBQ. The lens cap was melted; however, the lens survived. To this day, I've kept the burn marks on the outer barrel. Mechanically and optically crisp and clear. Super fast focusing. This lens has been used on the Canon EOS 40D, 50D, 5D, and 1DMkIII. Also used for outdoor landscape shooting while in Yosemite National Park. Paired with a durable lens filter (highly recommended) to protect the front lens). Lens can be used for a variety of purposes including events, action. Can also be used for portrait photography (probably not indoor unless you have a fairly large studio or space).
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Lou
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Love This Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I have waited a long time to make this purchase and I couldn't be happier. Many people told me it's their favorite and I would agree. I love the performance of this lens. It's versatile and the image stablization feature is wonderful. I highly recommend this lens.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: LT
Location: San Jose, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

One of the Best Lens Ever Made

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Been shooting with this lens for a about 6 months now and I've been very happy with the results.
Shot a concert performance and the image that it captures are really amazingly sharp and the detail is superior.
It's well worth every penny!!!
Planning to get the IS II but I think I'm better off with this one!
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Ivandaboss
Location: Jackson, MS
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Totally Awesome lents

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, fast aperature
Cons: too expensive, heavy
This is a totally awesome lens. I am an amateur photographer that takes allot of photos of ballet performances. For those of you that don't know, most ballets are dark and they will not allow flash photography. This is where this lens comes in. I have tried many lenses and spent many hours doing post processing to remove noise and to lighten photos and still end up with not so sharp images. With this lens stopped at 2.8 and shooting about 1/200 with an ISO 400; amazing sharp pictures. I have still yet to own one because of the pricing, until I have enough courage to spend that amount of money on glass, I will just rent. I have also use the NON-IS version, definately not as fine as this one in low light on the tele end. However if you are shooting outside sports the non-IS will save a few bucks and the results are very similar.
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: LIGA
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Lens... it really makes a difference

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I am not a professional but I have used SLRs and DSLRs for a few decades - all brands. Further, I had read many reviews and I was skeptical about its performance. It is not a cheap buy and I have had several lenses in the past. None of them made a difference. Therefore, I always asked myself, can a lens actually make me take better pictures.... (I also asked me that question for Golf Clubs)...For this lens, the answer is absolutely YES. By far, the best lens that I have ever used. Further, I do DOEs on everything where I can apply it and with this lens the opportunities for an excellent shot are part of the process instead of exception. Sell all your other lenses (except for the 24-70 F/2.8) and buy this lens. You will re-discover yourself!
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Old Guy
Location: Amarillo, TX
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Expensive but worth it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2010
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I purchased this lens to photograph birds and wildlife at relatively close range. As a neophyte photographer, I am experiencing a steep learning curve. My results are now approaching the quality I expected from this lens. Some of my winter bird photos are crisp, clear and of the quality seen in magazines. I recently took 50+ photos at an after dark luau (flash prohibited) from a distance of about 50'. The only lighting were the colored stage lights. I used a monopod to help stabilize my 50D and lens. Everybody was amazed at the quality, color and crispness of the photos. This is an expensive lens, but worth it. My next lens will be a super telephoto L lens.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Cameraman
Location: San Antotnio Texas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Excellent Lens!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2010
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, extremely fast autofocus
Cons: weight
I love this lens! IT is extremely versatile and excellent at doing what it was made for. I shoot sports indoor and outdoor. For the outdoor sports, i use a 2x extender, and it works great! Even when the aperture is at 5.6, and the zoom is 140-400, towards dawn, i still get great shots! Also, when i photograph indoor basketball and volleyball, the lens works great, when they shoot at the far end, it looks like in standing right there! In the low light of my gym, this lens works miracles! If i had an f4 lens, there'd be no hope for me. Since i bought and used this lens, i have loved it and soon might buy the 28-300 lens to add to my arsenal. If anyone asks me if they should buy this lens, I'd give them 2 thumbs up!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: dipesh267
Location: Omaha, NE
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

extremely good lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: heavy
this was my first experience with the L series lens and I can't believe how good this lens is. The focus is super fast and almost all the pictures came out perfect. Between the 2.8L and 2.8L IS, there is only a very slight difference in weight. Well from what I could tell anyway. My only other lens is a 28-135 and comparing what I have to this...results have to be seen to be believed.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: Will
Location: Pine Barrens, NJ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Worth every penny!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: heavy, expensive
Only problems with this lens is the weight, the cost, and.... no other issues. This lens is phenomenal. I recommend it to all photographers.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Nickname: LineDancer
Location: Beaumont, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Awesome Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2009
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: a bit heavy.
This lens is a dream come true. With it's IS feature, I can handhold this lens in relatively low light without getting the effects of camera shake. So, in certain situations where the light is not all that greatt, this lens performs amazingly well at high magnification. No need for a bulky tripod to take great photos.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site