Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for GL2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

GL2

With the GL2, Canon has created a camcorder with a wealth of features, each selected to elevate further the standard against which other camcorders are judged. The GL2 is a must-have for the person looking for the very best video-making experience. The GL2's excellence begins with its outstanding Fluorite lens and includes pro-level picture adjustment features found in Canon's higher-end camcorders.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GL2
Review 1 for GL2
Nickname: Tacoma guy
Location: Tacoma, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great video damera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, durable, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
I've used the GL-2 for several years now. Most of it's use has been shooting video of our church's worship services. Using a firewire cable and VeescopeLive software, I record directly to the hard drive of my MacBook laptop. Our pastors use the resulting DVDs to self-critique their sermons and the overall feel of the service. I also burn extra DVDs for members who might be absent and wish to view a service. They comment, "It's just like being there."
I've found the GL-2 very easy to use and well worth it's cost.
131 of 142 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GL2
Nickname: CamBug
Location: US
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I have been using this camera for about 7 years and it still keeps giving the needed quality for my articles on the internet for some of the top major magazines. It's light and compact and with the remote, I can do everything I need to get excellent video. I added a remote servo and have a remote turning range of about 270 degrees.
Review 3 for GL2
Nickname: Bob
Location: West New York, New Jersey
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Good Software Compatibility
I've used the XL-2 to record 3 New York 9/11 Truth meetings and a number of other similar functions; the GL-2 is also very good.
Review 4 for GL2
Nickname: Horst
Location: Carmichael
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

I would only buy another Canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2011
Pros: only pros
I don't know what is wrong with the people who write a negative report. I have the GL 2 for 5 years now. During that time I dropped it several times on concrete decks and floors. One time, I fell off a cliff on the coast. The GL 2 landed on some boulders 100 feed away; I had to be taken to the hospital ! Another time, I taped an event and then forgot to turn the thing off and put it in the bag. Days later, I wanted to check my work. when I opened the bag, the camcorder was boiling hot; it had recorded the rest of 45 minutes,stoped running but was still on. I figured the thing and the tape was shut. I was besides myself since the recording was part of a 90. birthday party and could not be duplicated. But to my surprize, every thing was fine. the tape was ok and so was the corder. By the way, that was several month ago and I used it since.
So... what I want to say is: even if the GL 2 breaks down now, I would only buy another Canon
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GL2
Nickname: Herbmia
Location: Miami, Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2011
Pros: great color, the best zoom range, internal color bar generator, stabilizer works well
Cons: will easily damage with mishandling., must not allow strain on connectors
I have had my GL-2 for over 3 years. I have mostly used it for weddings and travel videos. I have taught prior to retiring, "TV Production classes" in High school. We had 8 GL-2s in the class which we used almost daily. Each school year there was a 30 to 40 percent failure and need to repair. My personal GL-2 was handled with care and not abused. Most failures in the school were probably due to mishandling by the students. I have only had the best quality SD videos. I have 2 BP945 batteries and each last me well over 90 minutes. I found easy setup to computer (using firewire) or television. Capture and editing worked easily with Adobe Premier Pro.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GL2
Nickname: Ed-Mo
Location: Home. California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best of the Best

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
May be is a little bit big but where ever I take my GL2, everybody thinks that I am a pro. Pristine pictures and video.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GL2
Nickname: pink_flea

Problems with tape mechanism

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2011
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Compact Design, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction, poor tape mechanism design, certain replacement parts no longer available
I have owned this camera for 8 years. At first this camera was the best thing I had ever purchased. I took great care with this camera and only used a single brand of tape in it from day 1. The recording quality and features are great for the price. The main problem I have with this camera is the tape deck and playback. I would say about 3 years into ownership I started getting the "Remove the Cassette" error when rewinding the tape. I had the camera serviced and cleaned recently, but the problem still persists. After much research it appears that this is not an uncommon problem with this camcorder. Much to my dismay they no longer make the replacement part for a new tape mechanism. I feel that this camera is worth repairing, but the option is no longer available. Before making a final decision to purchase a GL2 be aware of the "Remove the Cassette" issue with the camcorder and be sure that replacement parts are still made available through Canon. Otherwise you are spending a lot of money for an item that may not perform in the long term.
18 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GL2
Nickname: Educate
Location: Guntersville, AL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Good camera not sure on build quality

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2010
Pros: feature set, picture quaility, ease of use
Cons: build quality, battery life, lack of stress relief points for cables
I have 2 GL2s. One unit has lead a hard life in the High School production Department. It gets used everyday for about 3 hours per day directly connected to a recording computer. This unit has been repaired 3 times in a year and a half. All internal issues. It needs repair now due to a CCD issue I believe. The second unit lives at the elementary school and is babied by it's user. Again, hooked directly to a computer using firewire, about the same usage as the first unit. The firewire is strapped to the tripod to help with cable and firewire port stress relief. However, it too now needs repairs for the second time due to firewire port failure. Outside of the build quaility issues they have been good camera's from a picture quality and feature set stand point. We had been using another brand for several years in the same settings. This brand, while not as feature rich were significatly more durable. This is why I believe it is a build quality issue not so much an abuse issue. Would I spend my money on one of these cameras? Yes, because of the features but with the knowledge that I would need to treat it very gently.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GL2
Nickname: videopro
Location: Los Angeles, California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Amazing Quality!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2009
Pros: Great sound/audio, excellent image quality, durable, easy to use
I love this camera! It's so easy to use yet it has all the features that I need for my biz. Hight quality construction and workmanship. The video image quality is just like a HD!! I can't even tell the difference when both are compared. What's good about this camera is you can also select either 4:3 aspect ratio or widescreen. I would recommend this cam for those who like quality with a budget not as big as Hollywood.
18 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GL2
Nickname: bean
Location: Baker City, OR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

who ever said the camcorder wasnt strong was wrong

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Short battery life
i have had mine for 4 years and it is used in the mountains for hunting an backpacking an other filming and it has been through war an never had any problems with it any damage was caused by me they dont like moisture
24 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GL2
Nickname: VideoMaster
Location: Las Vegas, Nv.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Pro DV Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
I have been using this camera, including its cousin the GL-1 for about 10 years in my business. It is such a great camera to keep for productions, I have had it repaired a few times to continue its use for my company.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GL2
Nickname: kingcobrafan
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Canon GL2---excellent!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
After using a bulky two-piece camera /portable VCR setup for several years, I'm delighted with the compactness, ease of use, and performance of my Canon GL2. The only drawback, if you can call it that, is having to use a head-cleaning cassette on occasion in the field, but this is only after much continuous use.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GL2
Nickname: rwcinsc
Location: Columbia, SC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

great standard def vcamera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility
Cons: Short battery life, Poor sound/audio
This is a great product. I have used it across many different types of recording from interviews, to weddings, to commercials, to documentaries and it has not disappointed me yet. I will someday step up to a High-def camera but for now this is just fine. A downside to this model is the battery. It is horrible and you will need to purchase a couple xtra if you are doing weddings or a documentary. I have never overcharged my battery and I get about 40 mins of recording time. Lame but I knew this going into the purchase. Don't misunderstand - I love this camera and gave it very high ratings across the board. It only fault is the battery.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GL2
Nickname: D.A. film Student
Location: Jacksonville FL.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Amazing quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Difficult TV Connectivity
This camera was used during the Extravaganza 4 camera live production that i was a P.A. on. this camera worked exellent in the low lighting of the Jacksonville FL. times union center Moran theatre and was easly moved from the school to the Moran.
D.A. has in no way a minor film program we use everything from GL2's to panasonic HD's and edit on Finalcut pro software so we are of professional quality.
10 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for GL2
Nickname: Waldo
Location: NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, easy to use
Cons: need bright lights
I use mostly for taping golf swings and it works great. The high shutter speed is great for the golf swing and the clearity is superb. I purchased the bigger battery for longer use on hte range.
PGA PRO
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GL2
Nickname: pro user
Location: Sacramento, California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
The guy who said his GL2 broke all the time must have got the only lemon because I have had mine for a couple years and it has worked perfect! I love this camera. It is easy to use, hooks up to my computer with no problems and is just an all around awesome video camera! I use it for a T.V. show and I would highly recommend it!
18 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for GL2
Nickname: jimmya57
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Nice camera, breaks too easily

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2008
Pros: excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
Cons: Difficult TV Connectivity, Difficult Computer Connectivity, Flimsy Construction, Difficult to use, Limited Software Compatibility, Poor Low-Light Performance
I have had a GL2 for 4 years now, and every year I have had to send it back for repairs. I have now spent more on repairs than I did for the camera itself. The camera itself it great when it works, however downloading to a computer is very difficult
41 of 71 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for GL2
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
OverallAverage Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site