Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Flashes Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Flashes or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2

Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2

Compact wireless transmitter for E-TTL Wireless Autoflash System Compatible with all EOS cameras and current PowerShot models with accessory shoes Controls lighting ratios up to +/- 3 EV for two groups of compatible Speedlites Supports E-TTL, E-TTL II, Manual Flash and Hi-Speed Sync
Average Customer Rating:
3.417 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
7 out of 12(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2
Review 1 for Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2
Nickname: Sam
Location: Torrance, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

It's an excellent trigger for 550EX

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2012
Pros: quiet, Good Exposure performance, Superior build quality
I have 3 550EX and 1 580EX for photo table setup with Harbor Digital Diffuser on each unit. This trigger works quite well with 1DS Mark-2 and flash setup I have. I don't have any AF cover fall off issue. And the hot shoe mount works quite good with a locking pin. It doesn't have a knob that you can tighten the unit on the camera but the unit is very light, and there's enough friction between the hot shoe and the trigger mount, so you don't really need to tighten it. I haven't tried long distance setup in the field as I use this for mostly product shot on the table. But it handles most indoor family gathering shots with no problem. It uses a special battery but it is readily available in many places where common batteries are sold. I always have an extra battery in the bag for just in case. This is an indispensable tool for my need and it is very reliable.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2
Nickname: pphoto422
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Looking for the next generation model

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2012
Pros: small, light, assist autofocus
Cons: obsolete, limited features
I've used this product for about a year now, and I have a complaint about how outdated this seems. I find myself using 580EX II's set to off for master flash work more than I use this. I am noticing that the only times I use this is when I need autofocus in low light conditions. It's not very cost effective for the price. The 580 EX II can do more than this can as a slave master and it's only a marginal cost more expensive. I hope that Canon updates this product, because it's useful, but appears to have become obsolete.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2
Nickname: disappointed x1
Location: Suffolk VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Poor Build

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2011
Pros: quiet, Good Exposure performance, Fast recycling time
Cons: Poor build quality
I had been happy with performance but now very disappointed in build quality. The AF filter came off while walking through a park. Unbelievable.
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2
Nickname: Joko

Skip it.

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2010
I've tried using this thing for a variety of different shoots, from portraits to action sports and it simply does not work well. The line of sight needed for it to work is frustrating. I love you Canon, but can we get a radio transmitter instead? For the price of this transmitter, save up a little extra and purchase two radio transmitters instead.
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2
Nickname: Anonymous

Lacking features/poor build design

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2010
Pros: easy controls
Cons: limited functions, loose hotshoe connection, special battery, size, line-of-sight limitations
Although this is a necessary complement to Canon Speedlites, it has a lot of room for improvement:
- In terms of build quality, it is a little too big in size.
- Connection to the hotshoe is loose, and lock is of poor design. Would prefer a locking system like the one on the 580EXII which is weather sealed.
- On the good side, controls are simple and easy to visualize.
- In terms of functions, it lacks many of the options in a 580EXII when used as master. For example, shooting speedlites on manual (the 580EXII can set the individual power remotely for each of the 3 flash groups A,B,C).
- Also, you can only control ratios for 2 groups (A:B).
- Uses special batteries (I would prefer AAA)
- Lastly, the issue of radio vs. infrared and line-of-sight limitations. I usually need to run an extension cord from the hotshoe to the ST-E2 to point the unit so that all speedlights are fired. Another limitation is when using speedlites with softboxes (many times it is impossible to get line-of-sight).
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2
Nickname: Photogamy
Location: Oregon
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Not a good purchase.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2010
Pros: easy to use
Cons: tfails to work mos of the time.
When I get a shot off with this transmitter it is usually awesome. Problem is that it seems to work less than a third of the time. I can shoot once then try to shoot a similar pic with in a few moments and it won't work. I have changed batteries rebooted the system, reconnected the transmitter, checked slave settings, with no luck in the field. Then I can get it home and using the same settings as out in the field and it will work. Then back out to the field and it will work for a while then stop working and back around to the start of the circle of frustration with this thing. I shoot with a 40D and 430 EX Speedlite in Tv at 125 to 200 sec in ETTL, Distance ranges from 6 inched to get it to work and I have been up to 30 feet when it did work. The lights seem to all work fine and the IR seems to beam.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2
Nickname: QBall
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2010
Pros: quiet, Good Exposure performance, Superior build quality, Fast recycling time
Cons: runs down batteries when shut off, no rechargeable batteries on the market
Great device for activating my 2 Speedlites 430EX IIs. Works good. Nice and light weight.
One Major Problem:
I have noticed this device tends to run down the batteries, even when the power is shut off, and that there are no rechargeable batteries in market for this model. Bad move on the designer’s part. Fortunately for me I have rigged up my own rechargeable batteries and modified the switch to prevent it from drawing current.
I'm not going to spend anymore money buying new batteries for this.
I would give it 5 Stars if it did not have this battery problem.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2
Nickname: SpartonX
Location: North Dakota
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Bad AF Cover Design

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2009
Cons: Poor build quality
Just got the ST-E2 and I lost the AF cover first day out...
I noticed earlier in the day that it comes off really easy. I have lost the cover...Bad design. It should have snap in tabs to keep it in place.
Overall it works OK. I would rate it a c+
12 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2
Nickname: @TheDif
Location: Philadelphia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

It's ok.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2009
Pros: lightweight, wireless control.
Cons: Poor build quality, ratio isn't intuitive.
I'm a fine art wedding and portrait shooter and I use Radio Poppers in conjunction with the ST-E2 alongside 3 580EX II's.
This means I never use the optical IR flash by itself. Only with Radio Poppers. As a team this becomes an excellent Non-Line of Sight Wireless High Speed Sync master.
The feature set is lame compared with it's equivalent competitor but it does three things simply, reliably and well: AF, command flash and it's lightweight.
With the Radio Poppers the ST-E2 and 580EX II's leap over the competitors stuff. Plus you can High Speed Sync and ETTL with this thing so that's a huge deal.
The 4 channel thingy is handy but I've never had cause to use it. The ratio control bit is also nice, I guess, but I've never used it, either in pro conditions. Either Canon isn't intuitive enough for me or I just don't get it. Regardless I just control ratios manually.
The battery is kinda weird but you can get 'em cheap through the internet.
It's lightweight so that's a big deal if you're schlepping a MkIII around all day like I do.
After heavy use the AF plastic shield thing fell off and I lost it. So that was lame. Now I lost my AF assist and I don't know how to get a replacement piece.
Overall this is a simple but reliable tool with a limited feature set. I'd recommend it to a friend.
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2
Nickname: Jarhead5811
Location: Madison, MS
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Very satisfied with mine.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2009
Pros: lightweight, great as a focus assit
Cons: line of site, poor performance in sunlight, battery dies without warning, non-standard battery
I use mine to trigger three 430EXs. I've no complaints, performance wise, that are not inherent to optical triggering. (Although a native Canon RF based wireless solution would be AWESOME!)
I also use it as a focus assist when taking lower light natural light pics. It'll make a lens that likes to hunt snap to as if it were plenty bright. (Makes my Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II seem like a much better lens.)
The only real complaint I've got is that it has no battery life indicator, it just dies, and it takes a somewhat unusual battery. (Why not AA or AAA?)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2
Nickname: Music Man5
Location: Normal, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

I love my ST-E2!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2008
Pros: Superior build quality, Fast recycling time, Good Exposure performance, quiet
Cons: line of sight
As an event photographer I occasionally need to place some speedlights in odd places to light the event. The ST-E2 works great for this and for portrait work. It's easy to set up and I still get my ETTL.
My only drawback is range. Occasionally I will need to get a shot in a room to large for the ST-E2 to work properly. But that is the only problem I have had with it.
53 of 58 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2
Nickname: Doctor
Location: Athens
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

Very good flash control

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2008
Pros: Superior build quality, Good Exposure performance, quiet
I use the ST-E2 for my portrait work with a couple of Canon flashes like the 550 and the 420. So far the control the ST-E2 gives me is excellent. I think i can do everything with it and it never lets me down. It is a little expencive but it's worth it!
38 of 42 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site