Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

Ideal L-series professional "normal" zoom lens Ultra wide-angle 24mm coverage 2 aspherical elements and a UD glass element Sealed and gasketed against dust and moisture, a new processing unit makes the AF faster than ever
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
4
55 out of 70(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Review 1 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: 5d3-shooter
Location: Maine
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Good but not great

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2014
This is a good lens and it serves its purpose but it could be a great lens. It desperately needs IS. The corners are not very sharp and noticable vignetting at 24mm, especially on a FF, like teh 5D3. It is really sharp at 70mm.
Nothing so bad that it cannot be corrected on PP, but out of all my Canon lenses and time using Canon products, this lens is not one of my favorites, It gets used but not as much as my 24-105 f4 IS.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Cajun
Location: Trenton, Georgia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

My Best Lens Yet

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, easy to use
I must say the only problem with this lens is I should have bought it sooner. This should be the first lens for everyone. I have had my EF 24-70 2.8L Lens just over two months I think and my photography has stepped to the next level. My next Lens will be the 70-200 2.8L IS.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Landseer
Location: CT
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2012
Pros: good in low light
Cons: Semi-sharp images, back focusing
The extra f-stops I gained with this lens wasn't worth the issues it has. I was debating between this lens and the 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM.
The lens has soft focus and now has developed back foucsing issues. It has been to repair twice in the three months I have had it. It's on it's way for a third trip. When it takes a good pic, it's really nice, I just can't predict when that good pic will happen.
For the price and an L-series lens, huge dissapointment for me.
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Tyler
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

The Greatest Lens Ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2012
Pros: high aperture, shallow depth of feild
Cons: image stabilization
This lens is great for taking all types of pictures as well as video.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Kansas

Terrible Lens

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2012
Pros: nice color
Cons: soft images, very heavy
This is my first L series lense and I am very diappointed. I'm using this Lens with the Canon 60D camera and the image quality is inferior to my cheaper lenses and there doesn't appear to be an answer. There are many reviews that reference "soft images" and I should have listen to the complaints before buying this lens. The camera just doesnt focus sharply under most condictions. Sometimes it's very slight and other times very noticable. If you like crisp, sharp vibrant images you will be very disappointed with this lens.
18 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Chris
Location: Worcester, MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Satisfied

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2012
Pros: super sharp, fast autofocus, great bokeh
Cons: no is
I recently went into my local photography store and traded in 4 of my lenses to be able to afford this, and it was a well worth while investment. From reading the reviews on here, it seems to be a hit or miss with this lens, which I am guessing lends itself to some quality control issues in the manufacturing process. Apparently I got a good one. The images are super sharp, and the auto focus is relatively fast on my 60D. I have used this lens for some landscapes, as well as a few portraits, and each time was met with pleasing results. It was my first L lens purchase, and I would recommend it to anyone to get.
On a side note, it's great on a crop sensor body, as well as full frame! Could benefit from IS though to give it just that much better image quality at all focal ranges and apertures.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: sheckwel
Location: New York Ny
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Truly workhorse

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2012
Pros: sharp, strong, crisp
Cons: lens hood design is too big
I trade my 24-105 i loved, appreciated and trusted for the 24-70 because i do a lot night photo i didnt really need the reach of the 24-105 since i own a 70-200 2.8.
This lens is a most for all canon eos user, it s built like a tank, very sharp and will last long, both 24-105 f4 and 24-70 2.8 are fantastic, you can go wrong for both
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Shreveport, LA.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Awesome Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2012
Pros: well built clear fast focus low light capable.
Cons: heavy and pricey., can't get the wife to take it off the camera.
Love the lens. Did alot of reserch before buying and have been totally satisfied with the purchase. Best all around lens we have.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: ZincPhoto
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

My go to lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2012
Pros: build quality, image quality, usability
The best lens is the lens you want to use the most. For me this is that lens. Super smooth operation (zoom and focus), consistently amazing image quality, sharpness and color.
While some may be put off by the weight, there is nothing like the solid feel of this lens when you're shooting.
Definitely my best photography purchase ever- HIGHLY recommend.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Klaus
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Very Soft Lens

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2012
Pros: none
Cons: very soft!
I own 5 canon lenses and this one is the worst by far. The other 4 are very good or excellent. But this one is extremely soft, to the point that I rarely use it any more!
3 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Shutterbug
Location: Toms River, NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Go-to lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2012
LOVE this lens. It is always on my camera as a standard lens. Takes awesome outdoor and indoor shots. Would recommend to everybody from beginner to pro.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: photodave
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

pro lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2012
I own both the 24-70 and 70-200 and they simply work great. Don't settle for off brands if you plan on shooting pro or semi-pro.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: amsfoto
Location: Washington D.C.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Has Potential, Focusing Issue

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2012
Pros: vibrant colors, usable range, heavy duty build
Cons: quality issues, back focusing problem, heavy weight, soft images
I notice a lot of reviews on this lens mentioning soft images. This lens is tack sharp if it's focused properly, but since I purchased this lens It has had a back-focusing problem. Not sure why it happens but when at any focal length under 70mm the auto focus will be off significantly causing a blurry image. Zooming in to 70mm before taking the photo and focusing ensures a crisp image every time. This is annoying to do on every picture and has caused me to use this lens less than my others.
Considering there is a work-around I gave this lens a decent rating. I just wish for $1400 the thing would have been perfect out of the box like all my other Canon lenses are. Now I will have to send the lens in for repairs and come even more out of my pocket.
11 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Craig
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2012
Fantastic! image quality made me an "L" quality lense customer.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: scphoto
Location: California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Best purchase on a lens I have made

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2012
Pros: great construction, very sharp, versitile
Cons: weight
Very impressed with this lens you will not regret buying I was looking at the 24-105 and I chose this one because I had heard good things about it...well I'm very pleased and recommend this to anyone who wants a great lens.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: ABQ.Joe
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

You'll Fall In Love

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2011
Pros: beautiful color, excellent contrast, fast accurate and quiet focusing, very sharp for a zoom, good weather sealing, great macro capability, buttery smooth bokeh, minimal vignetting, low chromatic aberration, very solid build quality
Cons: slightly heavy, lacks image stabilization
Almost every serious Canon enthusiast goes through the 24-70 f/2.8L vs. 24-105 f/4L IS debate before buying. As a freelance photographer, the 24-70 gives my clients the best possible images in dynamic situations, and gives me artistic satisfaction, along with a significant competitive advantage.
Even though I use this lens on a 7D and not a full-frame camera, the range is walk-around perfect for me. I use the 24-70 (38-112 on the 7D,) for candid client photos, events and certain landscapes; situations where a 'normal' zoom really excels. The zoom mechanism is fast and moves like silk, and the USM is virtually silent: attributes I really appreciate.
The color and contrast that this lens produces are nothing short of stunning. The first time you see the results, you'll be floored by the look: I even find myself sacrificing the wide angle of my 17-40 for landscapes when possible (it's that nice.)
My copy came very sharp out of the box, the sharpest zoom I own. It's well known that some of these lenses ship with factory settings that are a bit off, causing their owners call it soft. If your camera body doesn't have focus micro-adjustment, return your lens for a new one: the 24-70 is definately NOT SOFT.
One thing you don't hear a lot of people say about the 24-70, is that it has fantastic macro capability--they may just not know. Make sure you try it out! All things small look amazing through this glass.
Speaking of glass, a beautifully engineered zoom like this requires a bunch of elements to make its magic, so this lens isn't exactly lightweight. But that kind of heavy--the weight of quality--seems natural.
If you're a more casual photographer, your vacation shots will be better than good with the 24-105. Hey, it's a great lens, and your neck and wrist will thank you. The 24-105's 3-stop IS will help steady your shots in almost every situation, except in low light with moving subjects.
Still, the only way I'd own the 24-105, is if I could afford both; the 24-70 has been well worth the extra coin for me: this lens never disappoints.
87 of 89 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Louisville,CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Got a lemon?

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2011
Cons: soft
Don't know what is up but this lense is very dissapointing. After haveing it for two years with little use I finally put it through it's paces in Ireland. Most of my images are soft especially at the edges. Even stopped down to medium apertures the softness is noticable. A tripod was used and made no difference.
8 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: Gram
Location: Spokane, WA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great walk-around

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, beautiful bokeh
Cons: no i.s.
Great all-purpose lens. Beautifully built. Fast focus, crisp images, silent AF motor. Too many comparisons out there for 5d MarkII 24-70 vs 24-105...I want fast and at 2.8, this lens delivers. With full frame I sometimes wish I had more reach but when I do, I grab my 70-200 and am ready for that reach. Absolutely no complaints.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: irulethe70s
Location: NOYB
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Best lens i have had!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: you have to save up to get this!
I got rid of my kit lens 1-4 months ago and waited to write this review
I got my Canon T2I 3 months ago and am loving DSLR photography,but this is not why i am writing this review
I have since sold my kit lens i got with my T2I and got rid of it already
All i can say is WOW!
No wonder why pros use L glass,it is real nice glass and can't go wrong with it
It might suppourt the autofocus on my T2I,but don't bother using it at all,it has ruined pictures in the past on me and had to do a LOT of post processing to fix
I have noticed a difference with a ultra wide lens,no doubt!
Simply put,if you have a couple grand to dump on lenses,get this!
Another pro tip:
Most work on a DSLR lens is with the lens so the photos look like i took them with a higher end DSLR,some is with the body,so get a nice body too
11 of 37 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Nickname: SPurcell
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Wedding Photography Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2011
Pros: Super-sharp images
This is a great all around lens for wedding photography. I never photograph a wedding (or an engagement session) without it. Extremely clear and sharp photos. Great for low light situations.
43 of 44 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site