Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot S Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot S Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot S45

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot S45

Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot S45
Review 1 for PowerShot S45
Nickname: Ezanme
Location: The Buckeyes
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

My first and only Digital Camera :)

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2010
I bought this camera in 2002. It takes sharp, beautiful pictures. In the past 8 years, we already took thousands of photos between my 3 teenagers and I. My kids are pretty rough user (dropped it few times); but unbelieveable... its still working great! I'm proud to say that this camera has been my family's digital camera :)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot S45
Nickname: GIS
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

A real workhorse

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I purchased this model camera in 2003, and have been using it extensively with no problems ever since. I have dropped it many times, and it escaped with only small scratches to the case. It takes very good movies, and the photo quality is excellent. I often use my camera for close-ups of flowers, or for taking photos of old documents or microfilm for genealogical purposes, and this camera has a great "running man" setting (meant to capture action shots) that lets you take clear photos even if you don't have a very steady hand.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot S45
Nickname: TheWornBoot
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

All good except the lens cover slide.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: lens slide cover is a weak point
We purchased this camera in 2002 and it has literally been around the world with us in our travels. For what it is and its price point, it has behaved in stellar fashion. The only nit pick I can make is the slide that covers the lens has been a weak point and does not stay in its track very well any more. Also, I wish it had better focus in really dim light, but when compared against other cameras from when it was new, it stands up very well. For that matter, it stood up very when compared against cameras five years younger with twice the resolution when five cameras and six people went backpacking in the coastal mountains of BC and we made a slide show of the trip on our return.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot S45
Nickname: Scooter
Location: Lenoir, NC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Great Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, durable
II have had this rugged little camera for several years and it has always performed flawlessly. In the pre-digital age I had high quality 35mm cameras and many years of amateur experience. The PS S45 gives me as good pictures as the 35mm cameras did. The only footnote I would add is that if you do not use it on a regular basis you better bring the manual with you as it has so many features you will not remember how to use them all without the manual.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot S45
Nickname: Roy
Location: Greenville,SC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable
This camera is like it's carved out of a brick of metal. It has a solid feel I seldom find in today's similar cameras. It takes great pictures and works very smoothly with the Zoombrowser software. I don't feel the need for more pixels and will use this camera until it stops working.
Review 6 for PowerShot S45
Nickname: stargzr59
Location: San Diego
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

take it anywhere

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
The S45 has been the best travel camera I have had. Hiking, air, car or train travel. I even experimented with it at the telescope. Well, on that one I will have to stick with an SLR.
It has been to several summits and with the timer feature even I can be part of the moment.
Review 7 for PowerShot S45
Nickname: Big Fan

PowerShot 45

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, durable
I have had this S45 for over 5 years. Superb pictures! Have used at weddings, religious events, vacations, etc. This 4.0 MP camera, IMO, takes a better picture than so many digitals that are 1.5 - 2X its MP size and has enough features to allow one to play and be creative. Battery had to be replaced. Be a sad day when my S45 fails; I will write Canon and ask them what is their new version that can replace it.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot S45
Nickname: cw
Location: The extreme edge of the great Sonoran desert
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Canon S45

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Used this handy/trusty digital camera for over 5yrs.
Once, on a camping trip, I dropped it atleast 7feet onto hard granite path...it STILL WORKS GREAT!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot S45
Nickname: Pilot850
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Not the best

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Flimsy Construction
Its an ok camera. I got this in 2002 to replace a 35mm EOS from 1992. It is ok, but missing features. It also broke when i dropped it on a hard floor. Its not a bad camera, but i would not recommend it.
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot S45
Nickname: bgood

Dropped it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2009
I dropped it from 5 feet onto asphalt-- dented the case, but still works like new. These days, you can't get that from electronics, so I am impressed at the quality construction.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot S45
Nickname: Fernie
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Beautiful Pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: ink on dial wore off
We've had this camera for about 4 years now, and it continues to work great. It's easy to use for quick snapshots in Auto mode, but fun to explore the other picture taking features. It also produces fairly good little videos and captures sound really well. The flash renews very quickly and the videos play back with nice clear sound.
The ink on the dial has worn off from use, but it's only a cosmetic issue since you can see what mode you are in on the display screen. It's held up great and still works just as great as some newer models.
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site