Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot S Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot S Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot S50

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot S50

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot S50
Review 1 for PowerShot S50
Nickname: Trapper
Location: Valley Glen, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

One great camera.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I've been using this camera since my wife gave it to me for Christmas 2003 and is has been great. In it's day the camera was a great combination of both point & shoot features and the flexability of manual controls. I didn't want a camera so complicated that only I could use it. With this one I can get creative yet still allows my wife to shoot in automatic and get some really great photos. Some might see it as heavy but to me it's solid like an ingot. There's nothing cheap feeling about it.
It's only weak spot seems to be the sliding lens cover/power switch. I got that fixed under extended store warrenty. Other wise I've found no faults.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot S50
Nickname: Gunner
Location: Edgerton Wi
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: blurry action shots
I have had this Camera for a number of years and use it indoors and outdoors taking pictures of sports and bands.
It captures low light conditions very well and that is a bonus for me since my buisness is stage lighting.
I use it 90% of the time with no flash to better capture colors and shading.
It has been beat and the door on the front is now loose and now and then either wont turn on or off.
I just need to take it to have the door fixed but its been the best camera I have owned and takes great pictures in most any condition.
Review 3 for PowerShot S50
Nickname: Jason
Location: Havelock, NC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Quality, Quality, Quality!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, good battery life, durable
I bought this camera in 2004 and it is still kicking and still taking beautiful pictures. Since buying this, I can say I am sold on the brand name Canon. I bought it in Japan, came back to the states and then brought it to Iraq. This camera has literally been to war and back. I will say, this is built like a tank, i've dropped so many time. It's got nicks and dents all over it. It looks like it took a hit from a rocket, but doesn't miss a beat. I know it's outdated, but it's something i'd buy again.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot S50
Nickname: JumpyYum
Location: Greenville, SC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User

Sturdy Build Quality

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: Short battery life, needs better optical zoom, slow to start up and take picture
This camera has very good image quality. It is very easy to use. There aren't any unneeded extra buttons you need to figure out. I like how the shape makes it easy to hold. The optical zoom doesn't go as far as I need it to, and the digital zoom makes for a shaky picture. This camera lasts very long, but the battery dies in a very short amount of time. Other times, the flash makes the picture look ugly. Sometimes I really want to take a picture of something, but the camera is so slow in starting up, that I can't take it in time. When taking video, you hear the machine whirring into the mic. I accept this because it is not dedicated to taking video. Overall, this is a good camera for taking group pictures.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot S50
Nickname: ANL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

No complaints

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2009
Pros: Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, durable
I don't see how these reviews are complaining about the battery life. Unless I purchased a revised battery or something. I let the battery drain fully and charge it up again. I can easily have it all day with no problems. We've had this camera for over 3 years and there are still functions I can sit and read and learn about. We loved this camera so much we purchased a Rebel XS and Canon HV30.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot S50
Nickname: Jack
Location: Princeton, NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera But Lots Of Settings

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Short battery life
My only problem with this camera beside battery life is there is SOO much packed into this camera. The user guide is almost 200 pages long! Then the addition of direct print Powershot firmware upgrade released 2007.
I have used this for extreme closeups, family and weddings to simple ebay pics. The camera cam be overwhelming but keep on trying things. Its is easy to learn this cameras features! One thing you have to do is buy a high capacity memory card with fast write capability. They are cheap. The fast write memory card lets the camera cycle faster for the next shot.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot S50
Nickname: BearToo
Location: Gainesville FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Canon S-50

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: Short battery life
Camera is built like a tank. Takes great pictures. Battery life is terrible.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot S50
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Overall Great Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Short battery life
I love this camera, the only problem is that the battery life is terrible and it gets worse with age. I love the design and the features. But this things eats batteries. Plan on only having get 15 minutes of shooting time with this camera.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site