Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot G Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot G Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot G5

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot G5

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot G5
Review 1 for PowerShot G5
Nickname: dbagloria
Location: Washington, DC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Long time owner of the G5

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2010
Hubby gave me this camera about 6 years ago and we have thousands of shots that we treasure from it. It is easy to use and takes great shots. It may be a little older technology now, but i would not trade it in. The performance is quite good but as another reviewer said, it suffers a little when trying to take action shots, such as tennis matches and sporting events. Otherwise, it has been the longest-lasting and best camera i've owned.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot G5
Nickname: KenStag
Location: Spring Hill, Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Bottom Line - Great Canera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I purchased this camera when it first came out therefore I paid a premium price, but it was definitely worth it as the camera has performed great since day one and has given me many years of great photos without any problems. The picture quality is great, the battery life is very good and I really have nothing bad to say about it. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a reliable long lasting camera.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot G5
Nickname: Jared
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Excelent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, great zoom
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
Love it! I roccomemd it to so any people and they all liked it!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot G5
Nickname: alaskawhales
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

good overall, not for shooting wildlife

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Dim LCD, Poor Low-Light Performance
I purchased this camera 5 years ago. While I have a newer Rebel XSI, this camera still shoots SOME images as good if not better than the Rebel. While my spouse and I were in Alaska shooting humpback whales I realized the camera's limitations. For scenery, even shooting from a helicopter the G5 did great, and did not freeze on the glacier like the Rebel did. However, when I shot the humpback whales the G5 had a horrible time focusing and I missed quite a few good shots that my spouse was able to capture with the Rebel xsi and its ability for Image Stabilization and Continuous Shooting. Also, continuous shotting is not something that the G5 does well. Overall, I think that the G5 still is a great camera. But, if you want to shoot a moving target, like a kid playing soccer or a whale tail you are best served by another camera. I am looking into purchasing a 50D as we speak with a greater capability to perform where the other Canon's I own fall short.
11 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot G5
Nickname: Sam
Location: spring hill
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I have had my G5 for many years and decided to write a review while downloading some drivers, etc. This camera has been nothing short of great. Still one of the best looking prosumer camers out there, looks much better and feels much better than ever the new G cameras. Has never let me down and takes great pictures.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot G5
Nickname: Elvis
Location: San Francisco, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Satisfied Customer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
We bought are camera several years ago and it still performs great. My only complaint is that if you use the zoom, you better use a tripod or your pictures will come out blurry. I should have bought a camera with a visual stabilizer system. Anyway, still a great camera!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot G5
Nickname: HMMWV
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Not a toy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, good battery life
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I have owned my G5 since October 2003. I have since purchased at least four other digital cameras. None have matched the quality images from this camera. All the others (even with greater picture resolutions) have failed to match the images I have produced with my G5. This camera has outlasted plenty of the toy & gimmick cameras that friends and relatives had gotten. While the many buttons & switches intimidate many point-and-shoot users, they soon learn that a single button press will capture a fantastic digital image. My change to the camera has been to purchase a pair of higher capacity batteries that double my (already good) shooting time. I don't feel any need to replace this great piece of equipment.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot G5
Nickname: Rich
Location: Garrettsville, Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Good workhorse

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2008
Pros: easy to use, excellent image quality, good battery life, durable, consistent reliable image
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Poor Low-Light Performance, no image stabilization, videos limited time span, wider angle lens would be nice, faster lens for low light conditions
I have used this camera ever since it first came out. I have found it very versatile. All the features work as expected and coupled with a good dedicated flash, will take excellent pictures in many different settings. I miss two features: Image stabilization and better low light sensitivity. I recently purchased a used G6 which is pretty much identical except for the additional 2 million pixels. I love the movable screen. It comes in handy so many ways that I am reluctant to buy the G10 model just for that reason despite the improvements found on that model. Best luck with yours.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot G5
Nickname: cotberg
Location: Louisville, KY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera I've Ever Owned!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, external flash mount
The Canon G5 has ever feature that anyone could possible want, professional or amateur. In auto mode it is easy to use, but the more experienced user will find that they can maintain complete control of the camera, all with excellent results.
I highly recommend reading the owner's manual to learn all the features of this camera.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site