Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / I Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop I Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for i960 Series

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

i960 Series

Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for i960 Series
Review 1 for i960 Series
Nickname: oldfriend
Location: Birmingham AL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Very satisfied

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2010
My i960 printer was bought in 2003, I believe and has given very satisfactory peformance for my needs, which are mostly office-type with a few color prints. It has had 1 trip to the repair shop to replace a worn part in the paper feed, last year. Not bad considering the volumes of paper which have passed through it. Canon's support level is also outstanding, with up to date print drivers available. The printer just keeps on plugging, cranking out fine-lookoing results long after I had figured it would be dead. A huge factor is, again, Canon supplying up to date drivers. I intend to use this printer on a new computer.
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for i960 Series
Nickname: canonfan
Location: Utah
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Most reliable high quality printer in history

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2010
I bought this printer when it first came out. I have printed thousands of pictures in the last 7+ years. This printer achieves outstanding print results especially when using Canon photo papers. Alas in July of 2010 the print head plugged. I had it professionally cleaned and it still did not work. C, PC, K nozzles work and the others don't. I can not find the print head anywhere (I am told Canon discontinued it). I have never had a piece of electronic gear last as long as this one and not break or become obsolete. Bravo Canon on an exceptional product. As for my i960, I will keep checking ebay for a printhead, until then RIP.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for i960 Series
Nickname: ron Q
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Very Outstanding Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: High Ink Consumption, does not work well with heavy stock
I have been using my i960 for over four years and I have never had a printer that I have been so pleased with. I am a high end amateur who sells photos as note cards at Art Shows and flea markets so quality is important to me.
The quality of photo printing can not be any better!
My only concerns with this printer is the fact that it does not work with heavy stock, i.e. 60 lb card stock. About the heaviest I can use is 53 lb Matt. I also wish I had purchased the larger model so that I could print larger photos.
I hope that it just keeps on going so that I don't have to find a replacement, because I'm not sure I will be able to find anything as good.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for i960 Series
Nickname: IMApisces

I refuse to let go of this printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2009
Pros: fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, super quiet
What an amazing printer. The print head died after 5 years of incredible print quality, and service. I tried to upgrade to the PIXMA ip4600 but soon realized that was a mistake - the standard print quality, noise, and klunkiness of this supposed successor was a joke and pailed in comparison to my beloved i960! After much headache to return the ip4600, and spending nearly the same price of what the printer did 5 years ago on the cost of repair, my i960 are now happily reunited. Canon, why did you discontinue this amazing product?
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for i960 Series
Nickname: tamy
Location: Marlboro, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

The most easy site to install your i960

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
I had an old i960 for years, and I never had any problem with it. i bough a new laptop and I also lost the CD but Canon website can show me how to install the printer driver back to my PC and it works like a Champ.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for i960 Series
Nickname: Sally
Location: Oklahoma City, Okla.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: High Ink Consumption
I purchased this printer several years ago, after trying several other brands, and returning them. The quality was not good on the other brands. I am into genealogy and wanted a printer that would print old pictures and new color pictures. I am extremely happy with the crisp clean color of the canon i960. It does every thing I need it to do and more.I am really sad because my magnita color is not working. I have looked into having it serviced, but the cost would practilaly pay for a new one. I really miss my canon printer. And will purchase a new canon printer as soon as I can afford one. I'm still using my old canon it still prints black and white. When I took my pictures of trips to show my friends, they though my pictures were post cards. That how well the color came out with my printer." I also have a Canon camera. I've been using canon products since the 80's and have had other cameras. But always go back to Canon products. Love Canon ,,Sally
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for i960 Series
Nickname: Slave
Location: Denver,CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year

i960

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, accepts variety of paper
Cons: High Ink Consumption, cost of ink
Prints great quality prints. Easy to use. Cost of ink replacement is prohibitive.
Review 8 for i960 Series
Nickname: Ruben
Location: Savannah
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2009
Pros: durable, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, quiet
Very happy with pemanent print head and low cost ink refill one per color great.
Review 9 for i960 Series
Nickname: Tigergeek
Location: Southern California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Good Little Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, Easy Setup, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Slow Print Speed, a bit difficult to set up and get good pictures
It works for my purposes perfectly. I needed a backup to a laser printer, and the ability to print the occasional photograph. Although the print paper set up can be a bit awkward, the print comes out clear and crisp for this level of printer.
Review 10 for i960 Series
Nickname: ToBeHuman
Location: Long Beach, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

No problems since 2004

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
I've owned this printer since 2004 and have used generic ink (IMS) in it. Have printed at least 300 8x10 photos, 200 4x6 photos, and well over a 1000 regular pages on it. Printer output still looks like new. Print head just needs to be cleaned in print head cleaning solution every year or so.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for i960 Series
Nickname: SnowJoe
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Very good printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2008
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to change inks
Cons: Large Footprint
We've had one of these for about 4 years. It prints amazing photos, is easy to refill the cartridges and, even better, does a great job doing maintenance and cleanings. The Canon print software has been just fine but we find things easier to manage in Picasa by Google.
Review 12 for i960 Series
Nickname: RB
Location: Reno, NV
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2008
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
I have run the life out of this printer printing photos (mostly) and text but it just keeps on going. The printer has never missed a beat - not once. Photo quality is excellent. Text printing is also very good. Compared to other inkjet printers I have owned by other manufacturers the i960 is much more thrifty on the ink. I've had the printer about three years now and keep expecting it to drop dead like a lot of other inkjets out there. No such luck. My only complaint is that it is lasting too long (which is no complaint at all). Canon makes great printers.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for i960 Series
Nickname: PhotoMan
Location: Central New York
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best Printer Made

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
I read a review on Steve Digicam's regarding the quality of photos from the i960. Based on that review, I've purchased 2 so far. The reason I truly like the printer is not only the superb photo quality prints, but the fact the cartridges can be easily refilled. Yes, I use generic inks and have not had any trouble with them. I print hundreds of 8 x 10 photos photos every year and just couldn't do what I do if I had to purchased OEM ink cartridges. Depsite the other reviews above, I use this printer with Vista and XP Pro with no difficulty whatsoever. In my mind, this is the best printer made and it will be very difficult to find a replacement that allows me to use my own ink with such ease.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for i960 Series
Nickname: fustrated
Location: nw york, ny
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

vista omg

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2008
Cons: Difficult Setup, High Ink Consumption, bad with vista
have tried to install numerous times on a vista home edition notebook. Will not install and no help on this site. have done everything required. update drivers. uninslall /install. different usb slot. different cable. nothing works. works fine on xp system. Getting a new printer this ones going in the garbage. (not canon btw)
4 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for i960 Series
Nickname: Syeager
Location: NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Doesn't work with XP 64 bit

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2008
Great with 32 bit, but no support for 64 bit version of Windows XP.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site