Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / I Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop I Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for i80

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

i80

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for i80
Review 1 for i80
Nickname: BabeRuth
Location: Flushing,MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Best Portable Printer Around

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use, excellent for photos
I've had this (i80) printer for a few years now and it as worked excellent every time. The ink continues to work even after it has set for months without use. The ink tanks are small but also inexpensive. And you don't go through them nearly as quick as you would think. In addition it prints excellent photos. The portability is great. I take it with me in my old laptop case with my netbook. Room for both. Only drawback is some of the accessories (LB-51 battery & cradle) are getting difficult to find. IMHO its still the best portable printer around. No real cons worth mentioning.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for i80
Nickname: KB
Location: Colorado SPrings, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Great For Travel

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
Cons: ink cartridges to small
Have been using the I80 for 3 years + while on road trips and trade shows. Compact, Light weight, and very simple to set up
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for i80
Nickname: elwampaku
Location: Las Vegas, Nv (now)
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

An excellent choice

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: small ink source
I have been using this printer on the road for several years, and have enjoyed its compact nature and dependability. We have used it as our main backup for the road trips when other shipped printers either did not show up or were late. Just wished the ink would not run out so quickly..
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for i80
Nickname: Home User

Poorly packaged

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2009
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, Flimsy Construction, Difficult Setup, Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption, unreliable, Dull Tones & Colors, will not feed paper after 1 ream
The users manual for the Canon I80 should have been distributed in a compact PDF format. Instead, it takes over 100 files in htm format after decompression. This is the poorest packaging of a users manual that I have ever seen.
1 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for i80
Nickname: JCOI
Location: Kansas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Portability/Reliability/Easibility

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, easy to use, reliable
Cons: bluetooth accessery
I most enjoyed the portability, a must for me and it is easy to move. I have it for the past 5yrs. When I had a college project to with my peers; it delivers excellent print for my color pamphlet and the necessary copies for the other critics. One of my best experiences is; my previous computer went blank, got a 2nd one about a yr later. The i80 past the test of reliability during that rest period of no usage, I never even took out the last ink cartridges when I last used it. The only thing I had to do was change the ink and load the driver. My 2nd laptop has the latest OS, the driver was on point, and it saved me a good piece of change. I give credit where credit is due, good looking out for your customers Canon!! One final note; I was extremely impressed that I was able to use the "IR" on the i80 from a quarts cell phone that purchased 2mths ago. The only con- it is not Bluetooth ready. Good Job overall.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for i80
Nickname: AlexG77
Location: Toa Baja, Puerto Rico
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

One Shot one Print / Swift, Silent... Amazing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
I´ve had this unit ever since it hit the market, as an enlisted (USMC) I had to run back and forth from the flight deck to the office every time an aircraft manifest had to be updated. So to make the long story short; Bought the unit ordered the BU-10 and Battery/Charger kit brought my wireless laptop and presto a one man office walking around the flight deck capable of editing/printing/handing/copying all major documents required to get the job and have the flight paperwork done and processed in 1/3 of what it used to take. Oorah!!!
P.S. Did I mention this was in 2003, still Kicking it in 2009!!!
SGT Guzman USMCR
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for i80
Nickname: controlsjim
Location: Midwest US
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: High Ink Consumption
I've been using this printer while traveling for 5 years now. It's always worked when needed and even though I've gone through many laptops, I've always been able to get the drivers easily. Only minor drawback is that the ink cartridges are small and run out frequently. Carry extras on any trip.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for i80
Nickname: FIJIMAN
Location: LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON, NEVADA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

CANON'S AWESOME PORTABLE.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2008
Pros: portable, very good speed, 4800 x 1200 resolution, good text printing, tri-color ink
Cons: none
VERY PORTABLE PRINTING ON THE GO.
4800 X 1200 PHOTO PRINTING RESOLUTION
VERY GOOD TEXT PRINTING.
ONE BLACK AND A TRI-COLOR INK CARTRIDGE.
GOOD BUILD QUALITY.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for i80
Nickname: FIJIMAN

CANON'S GREAT PORTABLE.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2008
Pros: portability, great prints
VERY VERY PORTABLE PRINTING ON THE GO.
VERY VERY GOOD PRINTING.
ONE BLACK AND A TRI-COLOR INK TANK.
OVER 1000 INKJET NOZZLES
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site