Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM

EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM

The do-everything zoom lens for versatile and easy subject selection while travelling Highest optical performance in its class Focusing as close as 2.3 feet over the entire zooming range Powerful ring-type USM drive for silent, high-speed AF
Average Customer Rating:
4.788 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 out of 33(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Review 1 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Wonderman4
Location: San Antonio, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: no cons from me
I have owned the lens for almost 3 years. I has performed admirably and has done everything that I have asked it to do. When used within its design range, you cannot have a better partner waiting on you to call it into action.
I have never been disappointed with it.
Some comment that it is heavy. It is only 8 oz. heavier that the 70-200 F2.8 and no one complains about that one.
I have carried it afield on numerous occasions and have not been made weary from the weight. Overall, an excellent addition to the photo equipment bag. I probably use it for 85% of my shooting.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: carefree
Location: Carefree, AZ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Ballanced

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2014
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: Semi-sharp images
PROs
if you only want to bring one lens
28mm to 300 mm
Quality built
CONs
Heavy
picture quality is not as good as the 70-200
Need to be at high aperture settings to get a good DOF
The cons are mitigated when you unexpectedly needed that 300mm with no time to spare and in the next moment you are needing the 28mm.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Cross Wind
Location: Gulf Shores, AL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Totally Satisfied

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, ease of use
I have been a pro since 1981. I have used 35mm, 2 1/4 square, and 4x5 in studio and on location. This lens is the one I use almost every time I shoot. I have the 16x35 2.8 and the 50 1.2 and I love them both, but when I am shooting sessions or weddings... this is the lens that I use almost exclusively. I have two 5D Mk2 bodies and the 28-300mm lens stays on one of them all the time. The clarity, color, sharpness, contrast, image stabilization, ease of use, durability... I could go on and on... this system replaces my medium format with six lenses and surpasses it... And the seamless use with my professional editing software that recognizes the lens with lens calibration is awesome... I could not be more pleased after almost three years of continuous use...
90 of 90 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: SMA
Location: Yorba Linda, California
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

My GoTo Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: can't be used with 1:4 or 2:0 extender, weight
As the title suggests, this is my GoTo lens. I currently carry a 10-22mm W/A, 28-135mm standard, and 100mm macro along with this lens. 9-times out of 10, the 28 to 300mm is on my 7D camera body. The pictures are sharp. I was at Hearst Castle and in-doors where flash photography isn't allowed and blown away with the quality of the pictures I ended up with, even in the dark theater room. The focus is fast and true. The colors are brilliant. I have a picture of a friend where I'm 50ft away and I took a headshot of him. Once back at home, I cropped it down to just his eyes and you can clearly see the reflection of Yellowstone National Park in his sunglasses. I love this camera and lens. The only drawbacks I see are that Canon says you can't use the extenders on it (I'd love to use a 2x extender) and the lens weight can be a drag if you have the camera on your neck for several hours.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Jared C.
Location: Farmington Hills, MI
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Get Your Bang for your Buck

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, versatile, most reliable work out partner, opens up new framing opportunities
Cons: barrel distortion at wider angles, autofocus wanders in some low lighting conditions
This lens is the most versatile lens I've ever used. Most people don't realize how many opportunities of captured moments are missed in public with simultaneous activities all around you. I find myself shooting at 28mm and capturing another frame at 300mm within a second (and this happens more and more frequently). I am shooting everything in between that zoom range as well.
-
-If you are mindful of your aperture range from 3.5-5.6, it shouldn't be too much of a hassle. If it were at 2.8, I would never have to pull out my 70-200 lens. One can dream can't he?
-
-telescoping (push/pull to zoom) takes some getting used to if it's your first time. You'll grow to love it because of how fast it is. Make sure you don't keep it too tight otherwise movement can be too sticky.
-
-This thing is built like a tank. Get a comfortable shoulder strap for this guy, because it will give you a workout if you are holding the camera up for an hour straight. I prefer extra weight knowing it's made well as should you.
-
-The images are sharp throughout its entire focal range. I am very happy with it for L lens quality.
-
-I have only two negative comments, both of which have alternatives:
1) autofocus searches the entire focal range back and forth in low lighting. I recommend using single point focusing and find an edge of high contrast to focus on.
2) There is some very noticeable barrel distortion between 28-50mm. This can be corrected easily with most photo software though.
-
Whenever I know I am going to be in a situation that I can't change out my lenses easily or can't carry two cameras, this is the lens I choose. If you find yourself in unpredictable situations and high activity, there is no better lens for you than this one. Or if you are like me and just don't like to be limited by a set focal length sometimes, then this lens is for you.
-
Hats off to you Canon for making the most versatile lens in your line-up!
-
TIP:
buy your lens used from a reliable seller and save a ton of money.
45 of 45 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Cameradude
Location: Austin
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Only lense you will need

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I have 8 EF lenses and 3 pro cameras. I rarely use any other lense now that I have the 28-300. If you travel, this lense will cover every situation. Its fast, stabilized and easy to hand hold. I'm very impressed. I also bought the 100-400, but returned it after comparing the image quality of both lenses.
59 of 60 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Ridge
Location: Arlington, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Lens for Garden Photography

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, excellent for macro/close-ups
Cons: a bit pricy
I've had the 28-300mm lens for a year and very pleased with its performance. Even though, the lens is a bit heavy, a bit pricy, and does not accept a tele-converter, it's really fantastic lens for garden photography. To be able to maintain 2.3 ft.close focusing throughout the entire zoom range, makes this lens ideal for macro/close-up photography. Also, this lens will focus even closer with a 25mm extension tube and 500D close-up filter—wow. Now, I hardly use a macro lens. For extreme close-ups, I mate this lens with an extension tube on a Canon 7D. To make make up for the lack of a tele-converter, I use this lens on a 7D with the APS sensor, and for landscapes and garden vista shots, a 5D MII is used. I shoot all of my images from a tripod, so weight is not an issue for me— a tremendous lens for my applications.
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Keith
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality
Cons: heavy
Great Product. The only issue is that the item is heavy. The lens gives great high quality pictures.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Howiedoin
Location: Northern Colorado
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

In the field comparison

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2012
Pros: one lens system, cost, barrel zoom
Cons: weight, jerky barrel extension, not a fixed aperture
I am an L series fanatic owning six of them from the 16-35 to the 100-400. In December of 2011 I took my triplet 4year olds to their first Disney World experience. I had seven full days of prime shooting opportunities. Due to family restrictions on gear I decided to take only one lense per day and compare. The lenses I chose were the 24-105, 70-200 f/2.8 IS, 28-300, and finally the 100-400. I can say with out a doubt now that everyday that I did not carry the 28-300, I missed beautiful opportunities or I have had to spend priceless time in PS cropping and editing. Truely my heart loves the 70-200 for its beautiful portraits of my children and it's fixed fast aperture, but I missed out on astonishing wide angel shoots such as a full moon mirroring the Epcot ball. I can honestly say that unless I know for a fact the type of shot I want or need for a project. My 5D or my T2i will forever have the 28-300mm L IS attached and ready. As for the weight, if you want to get seriously good photo's get seriously good equipment (which means your going to need a sling bag, backpack, or my personal favorite the Cotton Carrier System). With the up coming arrival of the 1Dx I will be selling off several of my lenses but not this one (unless they announce a fixed aperture version for video purposes).
You only live once but your pictures will carry on your legacy. Don't say I can't afford this, say how can I afford this and you will never regret it.
118 of 120 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Lsimons
Location: Boynton Beach, Fl.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

My all in one

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2012
I was scared to get this glass before all the comments about the quality, many says that is not like a "L" class, i doubt between this one and the 70-200mm 2.8, which limits the range, i should get a 24-105mm to get the complete range, i took the risk and choose the 28-300mm, MOM, what a lens !!!
It is expensive but what else you can ask for a "L" lens with that huge range, is heavy but??? I think price and weight can be compare the with the good results.
I traveled to Peru, I'm taking food photography, portraits, night shots, etc without changing the lens and taking the risk to get dust inside. IS works perfect, no shake at all even hand holding it at 300mm 1/10 it was a sharp and clear image.
i carry a 100mm 2.8 IS and a 50mm 1.4 just in case but with my 28-300mm I have enough
I wish it could be a 2.8 but.... is too much to ask, probably in a near future
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Mackaboogie
Location: Evergreen, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Most versitile lens out there

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2011
Pros: Superior build quality, full range
Cons: Semi-sharp images, heavy
This lens is amazing. I trekked all through Peru with this lend hanging around my neck. MAY SURE TO BRING BACKPACK. This lens is heavy, but that is due to the quality of construction. I scaled mountains and had this lens bang against rocks and it has never let me down. Have used for over 3 years regularly.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Bonaudi
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

All ¨L¨ Lenses in One Package.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: Semi-sharp images, difficult to manual focus for video shooting
I have just bought my 28-300L and I think I'll will never find a better lens like this one. It is totally awesome, perfect match for my 7D. The image quality is superv. The autofocus is really-really-FAST. I was a little dissapointed using it at high ISO... it doesn't look too sharp as I expected to be an L lense of this price tag, but I will keep trying (maybe with a tripod.. I've just tried shooting handheld). For video it's a little difficult to handle the manual focus compared with other lenses (while handheld) but is not a big issue. The weight... well.. it's litterally like a bazooka, but you will get used to it.
This lens worth every cent. You have all the range covered with the outstanding ¨red ring¨ quality. (I will just add my superwhide angle for some special moments). ¨...Be prepared to some: "whoa!" when you get the camera out of your bag.¨ I totally agree that previous comment.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: WonderMan4
Location: San Antonio, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent lens for the range it covers

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
The 28-300mm does exactly what it was designed to do, and it does it very well. To all the nay sayers that "wish it was 2.8", all I can say is learn to work your light and your camera. How many times do you shoot at 2.8 anyways? I have shot between 1500-1600 photos in all conditions and have only gotten one fuzzy one that was a tosser.
The bad shot was 100% my fault, not the lens or the camera. It is not as "heavy" as most are saying. If it is too heavy, either work out or use a tripod or monopod as you are supposed to do. I have no problem hand holding the little beauty and have carried it in the field for 8-10 hrs at a time. It is an excellent lens as are all the L lenses. Each has its purpose and this one is designed to do a lot, and it DOES a lot. The more you use it the more you are going to love it. I had to save to buy it, but I would do it again twice over if I had to. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about it and I have not had a problem with the battery drainage either.
51 of 53 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Product replacement: Yes

Very Useful Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, quiet auto-focus, wide focal length
Cons: weight
This lens is very useful for almost all subjects. It tooked many spots in your 'lens inventory' because of its wide focal length.
The lens' build quality is good, however the main con is its heavy weight. I can't stand for 5 min holding this lens in the same position.
I'm taking this lens with me to a school paleo trip in the desert, with my camera and lens, i can capture a wide variety of objects.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Steven
Location: Alexandria Va
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Thee Only Lens you need in your bag

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, the only lens you need
Cons: drains batery quickly, heavy very heavy
I would be repeating what every one has been saying about this lens. believe it! this is the best lens I have, yes it's expensive, but well worth it....
I would recommend this to anyone, pro or not. Carry extra Batteries because this lens will drain them quick. Also carry a mono pod or tripod with you so you can save your arm for free hand shots.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: JT
Location: Clovis, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

A True All-In-One Lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, a true all-in-one lens
Cons: big/heavy (but what did you expect?), slow aperture, push/pull zoom (but you'll quickly get used to it)
I recently got this lens for my my camera and I am VERY HAPPY with this lens...I foresee it remaining on my camera the majority of the time except for those times I have a particular use in mind that is better served by a different lens. Now I'm sure that you have likely read various highly technical reviews on this lens and I'm not going to deny some of the issues these reviews identify... Is it heavy? Yes (but it is built VERY solidly). Is there some vingetting at 28mm & f/3.5? Yes (but not much more than a comparable prime at its widest, stop it down a couple and you're fine, and don't forget the wonders of photoshop). Is there some barrel distortion at 28mm? Yes. Now for those of you who demand every shot you have ever taken to have the ultimate in career making absolute uncompromised tack sharpness and have the ability to predict the exact focal length you need, you'll need to stick to your L-Series prime. But now that we've gotten past that, lets put it into real-world perspective for the rest of us. Instead of the ultimate, this lens will give you "only" genuinely high quality images. Remember, this lens covers 8 primes: 28, 35, 50, 85, 100, 135, 200, and 300mm (not to mention everything in between). How much would those 8 primes cost you? Yes, it's still expensive, but wow, how reasonably priced this lens suddenly became!!! And you don't have to switch from lens to lens to lens to keep up with the action...LIFE DOESN'T PAUSE WHILE YOU'RE SWITCHING LENSES. No more missed shots or risking introducing dust. You've got an amazing range...wide angle to meaningful telephoto, covering virtually everything most of us generally need. Put this lens on your camera and you'll get that shot that you otherwise may have likely missed. Is 3.5~5.6 a fast lens? No, but let's not forget the high ISO's that are now offered with very well controlled noise (graininess). And the image stabilizer is incredible...I have successfully hand held shots at 300mm down to 1/15 sec!!! The focus is quick and quiet, and it will focus very close making it something of a macro lens for those who don't have enough of a need to justify having a separate dedicated macro lens. If you don't mind the (notable) size and weight, and can afford only one lens (i.e. 'this' lens), then THIS IS THE LENS I WOULD RECOMMEND. And until you can convince Canon to market a 20-400 f/2~4 with image quality that can satisfy the picky critics that live exclusively in the world of L-primes (such a lens would cost far more than my truck, I'm sure), this will CONTINUE to be the do-everything lens I'd recommend.
138 of 140 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Bobsizz
Location: Sierra Vista AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2011
I love this lens. It is so versatile that it stays on my camera 99% of the time. Which is a great thing because if you have to change lenses all the time you are exposing the inside of your camera to lots of dust and dirt and other harmful contaminates. If you really want to see how much dust there is even in a closed room just turn off all the lights and get a flashlight and shine it in front of you and you will see millions of dust particles floating. And those dust particles get inside your camera every time you change lenses. But with this lens and its wide range you can just about keep it on for any occasion. Most people wish it was lighter. Not me, being heavy only shows me the quality that this lens possesses. The only cons I have is. I wish it had a rotating zoom instead of push pull. I wish the focusing ring was closer to the back of the lens and wider. The push pull zoom feature could be a bit smoother. I wish Canon would make a 1.4 extender for it. And last I would like the aperture to be in the two’s to four’s. Other than that I love the ruggedness, the build quality and the picture quality.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: randyboy1957
Location: Athens, Alabama
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

My Favorite lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2010
For anyone who wants to shed your camera pack - this is the lens for you. For short trips I mount my camera on the tripod and I put a canon 500d close-up lens in my pocket. I have every scenario covered. I shoot outdoors - everything from frogs, deer, birds to waterfalls. This lens though expensive does it all. I shoot a cannon rebel xs and it does great.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Christian
Location: Albuquerque NM
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Best lens I've ever owned!!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2010
Pros: great functionality. crisp quality photo's., great focusing lens!, image stabilization is outstanding!
Cons: wish it was a 2.8, it is heavy..
This Lens is rugged, handsom, and most of all, highly functional. It is truly a do it all lens. Heavy?? Yes...but so is a german car....built to last! All the features work...and work well. Best stablized lens I have ever used. I love my Canon 28-300. I've owned for about 6 years now!! WOW! I do wish it was a 2.8 though....
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Nickname: HVargas
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

My Favorite of Canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2010
Pros: wide and tele in one
Is my favorite of canon lens, i have all i need with this lens, a wide angle and telephoto you don't need to change lens with this king; i hope canon make a new version with big aperture of 2.8 at list...great lens i love it..strong like a tank... fast.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site