Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A75

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A75

Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
11 out of 14(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A75
Review 1 for PowerShot A75
Nickname: Phil
Location: Massachusetts
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Second Problem

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2010
Pros: easy to use, good pictures
Cons: unreliable, doesn't last
My wife got me this camera several years ago and I love it. About a year ago I started getting lines on the pictures and went on line to see if anyone else had experienced this. There I found out about the free recall and sent it in. I got it back and all was well until yesterday, Christmas day, when it said low batteries after I used it successfully for most of the day. I replaced the batteries and now it is totally dead. I saw that two other people that have done reviews on this site have had the same problem. I have never dropped or abused this camera either. It is just frustrating that's all. Built in obsolescence?
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A75
Nickname: Cameraman

Powershot A75

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2010
Pros: good images, portable, comfortable to hold, alright preformence., fast, okay videos, tons of features
Cons: stopped working for a while
I got this camera in 2004 and it was a very good camera at the time. I started seeing problems in late 2008. The camera completely stopped working for a year. It always had lines shooting through the photos. Just recently, i just touched some buttons, and the camera started working again like it was brand new.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A75
Nickname: JBS
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great While It Lasted

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2010
I bought this camera 4 years ago, and I was quite pleased with it. The quality of the pictures was good. It offered easy to use automatic features for point and shoot, and it offerd the capacity to customize many of the settings for more specific photo purposes. I'd be happily continue to use this camera, except that it suddenly died on me. It powered off and doesn't power back on. Canon's estimated cost of repair is too expensive for this camera, IMHO. So, it's time to lay it to rest and move on.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A75
Nickname: oldman
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This is an excelent camera. I had problems with it, sent it to Canon. They repaired it at no cost. The person with 5 of these should have done the same.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A75
Nickname: Redneck Diva
Location: Pennsylvania
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Very Pleased

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
Been using the A75 for 5 years. The only problem I have had with it is the LCD screen went black and would no longer take pictures..but I could preview all my previous pictures. Canon fixed my camera and had it back to me in a very short time.
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A75
Nickname: SpartanGirl
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

A Classic!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I've owned this camera for over 5 years, and its still going strong. After 3 years of hard use (I'm a foxhunter , and the thing was dropped multiple times off of the back of my horse at high speeds and surrounded by barn dust much of its useful life) the LCD would at times, not work, but I simply used the viewfinder and the pictures continued to come out great. Outdoor and flash photos are consistently excellent, but without the flash things can get pretty blurry. However, there are generally clear photographs, great features, and the very simple design is so easy to use. I'm moving up to a more advanced camera now, and I won't choose anything but Canon.
Review 7 for PowerShot A75
Nickname: Jonnyboy
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

One of the worst point and shoot cameras ever made

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Flimsy Construction, breaks after a year or two!
Me and a few of my family members owned this camera. It was great while it lasted! Within two years of purchase this cameras screen and lens will not take pictures anymore! It will show you any previous taken pictures but when you take a picture it comes out entireley black. After this camera broke I decide to trust myself to Canon one more time. I bought a powershot sd750 elph and have only had one problem with it. (the problem was fixable through warranty though!) My other family members bought a canon sd850 elph and have not had one problem with it! Great job on those canon!
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A75
Nickname: Delbert
Location: Utah
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera/Great Price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, great price
Outstanding camera. Great features, excellent pictures. There are lots of accessories available for it. Lightweight and easy to carry.
5 stars in every category.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A75
Nickname: chuck
Location: Montana
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Worst camera I have ever owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor image quality, Flimsy Construction, terrible quality
I and my family have owned 5 of these cameras and every one of them failed completely within one year. Canon m,akes a lot of good products but the A75 is NOT one of them!!
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A75
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Ca
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I have had this camera for about 5 years! It has been a very good camera. LOVE it very much! Now I am looking to get the powershot A1000.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A75
Nickname: pictaker
Location: Pomona, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

good vacation camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
Not too bulky to carry when traveling. Easy to use with a little practice..
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A75
Nickname: Rosiesue
Location: North Carolia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
This camera is great, picture quality beautiful. Other than
On the no flash mode pic are a little fuzzy.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A75
Nickname: dads gal
Location: Yucca Valley, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great grab and go

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2008
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
This camera is great when you just want the features of a digital SLR but dont want the bulkiness, weight or having to carry multiple accessories. I have found the picture quality to be as good as the digital SLR.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A75
Nickname: FIJIMAN
Location: LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON NV AREA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

CANON'S SMALL SHOOTER

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: slow shooting speed
A DECENT 3.2 MEGA-PIXEL COMPACT
GOOD BATTERY LIFE
LIGHTWEIGHT BODY
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site