Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / I Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop I Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for i9900

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

i9900

Average Customer Rating:
4.37 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
23 out of 27(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for i9900
Review 1 for i9900
Nickname: mike
Location: wichita, ks
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2011
Pros: fantastic
this has been the best printer for me i have ever used . i take it on location to events and use at home and it meets all my requirments. i hope i will be able to keep using it for a long time..
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for i9900
Nickname: The Pilgrim

I Wish Canon Made Another Like This

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2010
Pros: gorgeous color, great glossies
Cons: no similar model in 17 or 24 inch widths
Bought this printer about seven years ago, when my wife and I thought we might make a little money in fine art and landscape photography. Now it's seven years later, I am selling regularly through a gallery and we are still using the i9900 for dynamite prints! We haven't even needed to replace the print head. What a bargain this has turned out to be.
I dread the day Canon discontinues supplies for this printer, because I am afraid I will not be able to find another printer that gives the same quality results as this one does.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for i9900
Nickname: askmikee
Location: Fresno, Ca
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Still Awesome

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
Pros: wonderful ink usage
Have had this machine for years, replaced the print head once. Prints magnificent pictures, and the color clarity is awesome. A great selection of individual inks (8 color), means you get brilliant colors that last a very long time. Have had some prints for 5 years that look every bit as good as the day they were printed. But like most things the new stuff doesn't give you the options like these old ones have. Both my printers are older canon's, and I will keep them alive no matter what.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for i9900
Nickname: Uncle Deercamp
Location: Detroit, MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

A good printer but...

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2010
Pros: Easy Setup, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, High Ink Consumption, expensive to repair
This printer is a fairly decent value, but when it breaks down expect to pay a bit for repairs. Some things you'll be able to do yourself (like replacing the print head assembly), but other repairs will require a trip to the shop.
I'm happy with the output usually, but from time to time, droplets of color will appear in a print that aren't supposed to be there. Especially on heavy coverage images.
If you plan on printing a lot of 13x19 posters, also plan on spending a lot of money on ink. it's fast and produces nice color, but it's a money pit.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for i9900
Nickname: regulus13

Great Printer one caveat

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
I have had this printer for over three years now. An excellent printer with one minor-maybe major caveat. The photo prints on this are great. They print quickly besides that. I have had people tell me that my photos look better than the professional ones. It is a little slow on text but that is not why i bought this anyway. and it is quick enough for me. The inks tho many are not that expensive and seem to last a reasonable time.
The CAVEAT. I have been trying to print a 60 inch banner on a single sheet of paper. It seems there is no way to do that. I have contacted canon so i will wait and see.
if you have the space, it is large, and do photos this is one impressive printer. And it is a workhorse. Just keeps working and working.
Review 6 for i9900
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Peru, Indiana
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

LOVE this printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: for me there are none!
I have owned this printer since it came on the market. 2002? possibly. I have never had a problem with it and use it often, almost daily. As far as price and value, well, after 7+ years of use and no problems, what can I say! The colors are vibrant( I only use Canon paper and original Canon ink, NO substitutes for me!), and I can make any size I want. Everyone loves the 13x19 photos! My only problem is, the red and green ink tanks have to be ordered. I can still get all the other colors at office supply stores.
Review 7 for i9900
Nickname: Pami
Location: Idaho
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Love it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I have owned this printer since July 2004 and absolutely love it. The quality of the prints are excellent. the ink is inexpensive and easy to install. It prints any size your photo software supports. The borderless prints are easily obtained as well. I use it daily and wouldn't trade it for anything. Well worth the price.
Review 8 for i9900
Nickname: JJ
Location: Spokane, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Good Printer, any size up to 13" x 19" size.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2010
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption
Wow, the guy below who is claiming that this printer only prints standard US paper sizes is completely wrong. I'm a comic book artist, and I print on various sizes all day long. 9x12, 11x14, 6x6, whatever. You just need to setup the paper size as custom in your printer settings. I do this in Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, etc.
This is a good printer, the price was pretty expensive when I bought it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for i9900
Nickname: Brian
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

No 8x10 Printing Support

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2010
Pros: reliable
I have read all of the reviews posted here and am not sure how the person who mentioned getting an 8x10 in two minutes, really got an 8x10. That standard print size in the USA is not supported by this printer. 4x6, 5x7, and 8.5 x 11 are all supported. But NOT 8 x 10. Reading the user documentation shows me the same thing. As a professional photographer, this is a major flaw and will force me to get rid of this printer and find one that supports all the standard US print sizes. I hate having to vend off my 8 x 10 prints!
0 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for i9900
Nickname: shodan/dan1
Location: toledo ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption, hard to find ink cartridges in bulk
excellant photo printer cons are trying to buy the eight ink cartridges cause no store stocks them only be able to order them from canon .com
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for i9900
Nickname: FIJIMAN
Location: LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON,NEVADA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

CANON'S 1ST GEN LRG FORMAT

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, High resolution
VARIOUS TYPE PRINTS AS 13 X 19, 11 X 17, 8-1/2 X 11, 8 X 10, 5 X 7, 4 X 8 AND 4 X 6 INCH PRINTS.
8 INDIVIDUAL INK TANKS
2 PICOLITERS
HIGH RESOLUTION PRINTING
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for i9900
Nickname: JB
Location: Western Massachusetts
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Well Built, reliable - nearly perfect

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2009
Pros: reliable, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
The only reason I checked 4 stars "good" and not excellent for performance is due to some time lag when it process information on very large photos (40+MB or larger) prior to printing, I expect it's time in the buffer and is really not an issue.
I own 6 (professional) printers in my photo shop with 5 of those being other brands but this one has out-performed the others time after time with reliable quality and ease of use. If I had known ahead of time I would have purchased more Canon's rather then the Brand-X items. This is certainly a printer you will not regret owning, the quality is superior, this one is my main "Work Horse". When the time comes for replacing my printers Canon is on the top of the list. If the other models operate as well as this one you can bet I'll be buying many Canon printers for my up-grades.
After owning this one for over 3 years and pumping out coutless photos it is safe to say you can count on this one every day, day in & day out. There is no better test then personal experience and this one passed the tests time after time after time and continues to.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for i9900
Nickname: F1 Fan
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best printer out ther still

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2009
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, great software, good looks/looks great on desk
Cons: Large Footprint, pricey, ink cartridges are expensive
Ever since I saw this product on the Canon web site I waited to see what the reviews were. I read different reviews for months and then decided to purchase this product. Best decision I ever made. I have a Canon Rebel digital camera and hooking this i9900 up was as easy as pie. Everything is compatible and I have never had any problems with this prnter, Great color, easy to use, fast, and the software that came with it was a snap.
Review 14 for i9900
Nickname: Keith
Location: Clearwater Beach, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Awesome - after MANY years!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2009
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
I have had this printer... 4 maybe 6 years?.. .and I LOVE i!
I just shot w pro photographers where a leading manufacturer donated three of their current 10 ink models.. I couldnt see that they printed any better than my trusty i9900!
Amazing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for i9900
Nickname: Yagi
Location: AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

i9900 Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky
Fantastic printer. Great quality, dependable, quiet and photo quality prints every time!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for i9900
Nickname: curlyq
Location: Indiana
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Love This Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2009
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
I've had this printer for about 5-6 years now. I love it. The photo printing options and high quality output are very reliable. I like the individual cartriges. Low cost replacement. Best printer I've had especially being a photo buff.
Review 17 for i9900
Nickname: The Photo Pro
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Outstanding quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, prints on various media
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I have owned this printer for a couple years and never had any problems with it. The images are always top notch quality. It did take some time educating myself as to which icc profile to use with different papers and different brands to get accurate color. Now that I've learned which profile work best with what paper, every image I create prints flawlessly. I have been told that my images are significantly better than our custom photo labs we have in our area. The only printing situation I wish could have better results would be the edge-to-edge printing. I occasionally get ink build-up on the edges. I know that this is not the printers fault since I know that the paper did have a slight curl to it. If Canon could have helped by changing something in it's design to avoid ink build-up on curled paper, I'm hoping they would. I now keep all my media stored flat so to avoid this situation as much as possible. Once you purchase this printer you'll never have a need to have anyone else print your photos or documents for you, except if you want something larger in size!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for i9900
Nickname: Carl
Location: Lincolnton, NC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

3 years of trouble

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2009
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, Easy Setup, fast print speed
Cons: unreliable
I've had the i9900 for 3 years now and still can't figure out how not to get greenish tinted prints. Now I can print a red and white rose or a grizzly bear walking on rocks and the photos come out blue.
3 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for i9900
Nickname: Bat

Expensive Ink

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2009
Pros: reliable
Cons: High Ink Consumption
I had this printer for 3 years now. When it works right it prints good images. But what I find problematic with this printer is that the genuine ink is too expensive. If you try to save your ink and don't print for a while, the ink evaporates by itself. You put a new ink and after a month it just evaporates out. When using NonGenuine supplies, the colors are always off a little bit. Also one time I plugged it into 240 Volt Power and instantly the adapter burned out. It costed me a fortune to replace the adapter
2 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for i9900
Nickname: RawDogg
Location: San Franciaco Bay Area
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

The best printer I've ever owned...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, High Ink Consumption
The walls in my house are full of prints from this printer from 3x5 to 13x24...yes...13x24 and everything in between. friends and family are blown away with the quality and size. I have a picky eye for prints and I'm blown away as well.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site