Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Copiers & Fax Reviews / Thermal & Laser Fax Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Thermal & Laser Fax or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for FAXPHONE L80

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

FAXPHONE L80

Average Customer Rating:
2.174 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
10
5 out of 23(22%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FAXPHONE L80
Review 1 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: cllkpln
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

No win7 64 bit driver

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2010
This is a good printer/fax machine. However, it doesn't have a 64 bit Win7 driver and I am unable to use it.
44 of 45 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: First Ever Review

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2010
Very unhappy with machine and support. I would NEVER recommend another Cannon product. Takes multiple pages at a time making it imperative that you stand and had load a 25 page fax.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: Nano Cow
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Feeder Does Not Work

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2010
The page feeder has never worked since new. Not even two pages. No type of paper.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: kim

very unhappy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2010
I have not been happy with this machine. the feeder does not always work correctly - and frequently spits out numerous pages when faxing and printing. My biggest complaint now is that the printer/fax will not install to my new computer and I have only had this fax/copier for two years. I won't buy another canon.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: Will
Location: Delaware
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Home use only.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2010
Pros: dependable
Cons: hard to to make adjustments, feeder pulls two or more pages at a time
Let me add my 2 cents. First, I too agree with all of the above comments. This is strictly a home use fax and back up printer. The number of pages you can send is limited and it will always pull two or more pages with a full feeder. The paper catcher bar is useless for more then one page at a time. It is NOT end user friendly as to changing settings. It is down right difficult. That said. It is what it is and very dependable. If you are using it for home use its just fine. My recomendations for improvement: Make it so you can make changes on your computer on the fly. Also, make it so you can send a fax directly from your computer from any MS Office application.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: CalvaryTemple
Location: Modesto, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Cleaning helps <><

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2009
For all of the people with feed issues after using this device for any amount of time, I would recommend cleaning the rubber rollers with a damp cloth after you power the machine off. I called in to support and they told me to give it a try and it worked great, Thanks support!
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: MarkP
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

No Customer Support / Paper Jams

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2009
Cons: lack of support for products. i have had multiple
BUYERS BEWARE......if you have Vista 64 bit this will not work and Canon has no plans to create a driver for it to work. For those with other OS, pass on it since the paper jams are far too frequent for smooth printing.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: Secretary
Location: Massachusetts
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Not so good

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2009
This machine worked well at first. Then we started to have to hand feed multipapers as well. Thought it was our paper. But it does the same with all other brands of paper. Also if the paper supply is low it will not receive a fax. Must check the LCD display every day to see if a fax is being held in memory. If they could fix these two problems the machine would be "A" in my book. Instructions manual is also terrible.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: spike
Location: cleveland,ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

under par

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2009
besides everything else everyone complained about, there is a long pause after each letter that is faxed.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: kiki

user frendly

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2009
This machine is not user freindly at all. If you are not savy with electronics stay away from this machine.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: Jo
Location: Oregon
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Secretary

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2009
comment on taking too many sheets. We only have that problem when we use very inexpensive paper. Or paper that has been out in the shop and is even a little damp.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: DTAXMAN
Location: FT Lauderdale, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

This is my machine

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2009
I have used this machine and for the price it is great. In my office the phone operator can receive faxes with a ringmaster number, copy and print. All machines have a limit. This machine is great for small office or home use. Will buy another.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: Disappointed

Not a good machine

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2009
This machine is terrible at sending multi page faxes. We purchased a lot of them for our staff but everyone has the same problem with sending more than a one page fax. You actually have to hand feed the documents or the machine will take multi pages at once.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: Kevin
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Same as others, will not fax

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2009
I have had this unit for 3 years. It is a great printer, but a poorly design fax.
I bought it because it was a fax and I liked the idea of a printer as well. Just like everyone else here, it will not feed the pages correctly to fax or copy. If you have one page... fine. More than one page and it does not work.
I thought it was just my unit until I came across this page. This does make me feel better knowing it isn't just me experiencing the feeder problem.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: Jane
Location: Utah
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Not for the Office

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2009
I bought the L80 for a small office but it was such a hassle to send a multiple page fax. I had to call and send one page at a time. Sometimes it will feed the pages properly and sometimes it doesn't. I tried cleaning the rollers and it still feeds badly.
It is not productive in an office setting that needs multiple page faxing, and copying.
The print quality is beautiful and I couldn't ask for better. So I took it home and I use it mainly as a printer, a copier and fax for my personal use.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: inspector
Location: The Dalles; Or.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

my fax machine

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2009
I have used the Cannon L80 for about 6 years in my home inspection business and found it to operate very well. I am now retired and kept my fax machine as one of my valued tools. Thank you Cannon
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: JH
Location: Portland, OR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Machine!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2009
Pros: laser printing, fax speed / quality
Cons: slow printing but not meant to be primary printer
I have no idea what these other "reviewers" are talking about in terms of the quality of this Canon machine. It has been incredibly bullet proof and has done everything promised.
I suggest some time spent with the user guide, because I set it up properly and have NEVER had a problem with incoming or outgoing faxes. I NEVER have to manually feed faxes - the machine pulls it through perfectly.
The print quality, being laser, is fantastic.
I never write these reviews, but when I saw others putting down this machine I had to set the record straight -- Great overall machine by Canon. If it could scan it would be the perfect office machine!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: Ken
Location: Las Vegas NV
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Absolutely terrible

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2009
I bought the machine about two years ago. Only reason I'm sending a review now is because I just saw this review page. this is by far the worst machine i've ever purchased. I do love the canon brand but they really messed up with this one. After the first two months i got tired of the fax function. I also hated standing there trying to feed a sheet at a time and half the times it would not receive faxs. The only thing I use it for now is a printer. if it wasnt for the fact that the print quality is good id throw the thing in the dumpster. Absolutely regret this purchase.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: Eagles

Mistake

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2009
Cons: manual feeding
I am not sure how you can sell a fax machine that you must stand there and hand feed...craziness! Also, the machine does not receive faxes.... ODD!
I would never recommend this machine.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FAXPHONE L80
Nickname: Michelle
Location: Sacramento, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Worst fax I've ever operated

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2008
I concur with the rest of the reviews. I regret buying this machine. It has not worked properly from day one. The basic users guide is impossible to figure out. Most of my electronic gadgets are user friendly and can be figured out without a users guide but not the L80. The paper does NOT feed properly for sending a fax. I have to stand over the fax and hand feed every sheet one at a time. Such a disappointment.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site