Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM

EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM

Ultra-compact lens with Canon Image Stabilization Diffractive Optics reduce size, boost image quality AF is fast and silent with a ring-type USM; focuses down to 4.6 feet Zoom lock button keeps lens secure when not in use or used at wide angle
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 15(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM
Review 1 for EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM
Nickname: Ggforce
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Not happy

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2014
Maybe it was my mistake but I had high expectations on this lens. I had the opportunity of taking the EF 400 F4 DO IS on a couple of air shows. The Diffractive Lens technology works great on this lens but its not the same with the 70-300. It is a light wight lens and that makes it nice for traveling and not being very flashy as the big white L's. But unfortunately it is not a very sharp lens. Not hapy with it.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM
Nickname: howiez
Location: Wading River, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Almost good enough

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2013
Pros: Super-sharp images
Cons: Semi-sharp images
I really wanted to love this lens - small form factor, cool diffractive optics tech, and decent IS - but in the end the image quality just wasn't there. Sharpness and contrast on the long end of the range was routinely disappointing on my 7D.
I have high hopes for the 70-300 L IS USM I just purchased to replace the DO lens.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM
Nickname: Pf456
Location: Indiana
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Not as sharp as expected

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2013
Pros: versatility
Cons: Semi-sharp images
This makes a good travel lens. It is versatile, relatively low weight and not too flashy. If you are looking for a sharp tele-zoom this is not the lens you need.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM
Nickname: kmcmurtrie
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Small but hazy

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, small
Cons: Semi-sharp images, Poor build quality
If you really need a small and lightweight lens, this is probably the best one you'll find. The rapid focus, small size, and solid IS is nothing short of amazing. I've successfully taken some pictures handheld at night and bumping around in crowds. On the downside, the images are hazy. A large diameter unsharp-mask and black level adjustment are needed in post processing, which about doubles the noise level. Closing the aperture too much while zoomed in causes the front fresnel lens to appear in the photo.
After a few years of light use, I've accumulated quite a bit of dust inside the lens. The internal electronics also needed to be replaced out of warranty.
15 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM
Nickname: pabs
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Nice travel Tele but lacks sharpness

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2012
Pros: relatively light, lock button
Cons: not a very sharp lens
I bought this lens a couple of years ago and have used it significantly while traveling. It is a nice lens, relatively light for the range and convenient in size. Pictures lack the sharpness that i was expecting from an expensive lens. in my case I don't think the convenience in size compensates for the average quality of the images in the far end of the range.
19 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM
Nickname: Napoleon
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Non Better

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2012
Pros: quality, focal length range, quick focus, image stablilization
I have used this lens for over 3 years and I have found that the Canon 70-300mm DO IS lens to be real work horse in photographing historical and battle reenactments and on my travels. I can use the short end to set up the scene and the 300mm for close in and detail pictures.
I bought this lens as a step up from the 100-300mm USM and have been extremely pleased with the results. This lens is sharp, the build quality and light weight of the lens holds up well when running around the battlefield, it encompasses the needed focal lengths and it is reliable! It might not be an “L” series lens but I wouldn’t replace it for anything. Keeping in mind the demands of the consumer, product quality, price point and intended use, Canon has done an excellent job with this lens.
I have owned and used Canon cameras and lenses for over 40 years. I am one of those old fashion photographers that still uses film, I even use my old Canon AT-1 with the 28-85mm FD lens, so I don’t just rattle off a dozen pictures without thinking. Would I recommend the Canon 70-300mm DO IS lens to anybody, you can bet on it.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM
Nickname: Spy Lens Lover
Location: Portland, OR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Spy Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2012
This lens is for someone who...
...doesn't need L quality
...can afford up to $1000
...wants a small lens for travel and/or candids
.
My wife and I call this the spy lens. We do a lot of traveling, and only take carry-ons so size does matter. More importantly (as others have said), people get uncomfortable when you point a huge lens at them. I get great candids with both this and my 85mm 1.8 without subjects realizing they're being shot. I've actually had people get out of my way because they thought I was shooting a building or statue behind them. The IS is also great when the light fades.
.
I have also shot auto races with this lens. The USM is fast and steady. It keeps up with the 6 fps of my 50D nicely.
.
I have limited experience with other Canon zooms. This seems slightly better than the other 70-300, same or better IQ and a bit faster USM. It isn't as sharp as the 70-200 2.8 L, however.
.
The MSRP is too high for a non-L lens. I bought it used for just under $900. If you can get it for under $1000, it's worth it.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM
Nickname: PJDsr
Location: Dallas TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Don't Waste Your Money

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2011
Cons: Slow auto-focus, Semi-sharp images
Never could get a decent photo out of this lens, photos always slightly out of focus, couldn't handle high light conditions at all. NOT the all around lens I expected. Replaced it with the 38-300 L lens.
17 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM
Nickname: BillWSW
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great travel lens!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, small for ease of travel, image stabilzation
Cons: cannot add an tele extender
I have used this lens on a trip to South Africa and the quality of shots I got were amazing especially the numerous birds using 250mm to 300mm tele range settings. The big five and other animal shots that this lens helped me get just made my trip. The cost of this lens really gives you a bang for your buck. The only con I have for this lens is that you cannot add a tele extender.
22 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM
Nickname: Big Bad John
Location: Phoenix, Az
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

My favorite lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, easy to carry
I have owned this lens for three years and have photographed with it in India, Africa, and Europe. I wouldn't travel without it. It is light and easy to carry and the pictures are sharp and clear. This is a must have for traveling.
16 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM
Nickname: FotoFreak
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Nice Lens But Not The Sharpest

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, great portability for such focal lengths
Cons: could be sharper.
This lens is great if you don't want everybody to know you're shooting them. The pics come out pretty sharp but not the sharpest I've seen. No doubt this lens flares I guess because of all the optics that Canon had to use to keep the size down. The lens balances nicely on the camera body. The range is nice (70-300mm but because of the factor of 1.6 you actually get 112-480mm) and can zoom in from amazing distances. I use it to shoot action sports, people at the beach, scenery, sunsets and sunrises. I have had some great results and I am very happy with the portability of this lens (very short although the focal length is long.) Great for all round shooting while just wandering the earth. Combined with a say a 15-85mm (crop factor being 24-136mm) lens it's all you need to cover the entire shooting range. Only one extra lens to carry around what a concept ! This would be my combination for a trip around the world !
89 of 91 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM
Nickname: jwk305
Location: Portland, Or
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

great portrait and wedding lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus, images sharp enough inconspicous, excellent range for 40-50d
Fjor shooting face shots at weddings or other interiors, this is without peer. Fills the frame , works v. well with flash, iso at 1000-1500. Clients love output. Have had/traded several of these, sharpness varies, good to very good, sharpen in post-production. On the other hand, comparable to old canon 135 soft focus if lose focus. Have read other comments, have 70-200 f4 is, v. sharp lens but lacks reach and is conspicuous. Sim, have 100-400 is, great birding lens, but way to heavy and conspicuous for weddings and indoor photos, and it's not that sharp really, is it.
30 of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM
Nickname: Randy
Location: Riverside ca
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Compact

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2009
Pros: light, compact, image stabilization, zoom lock
Cons: Semi-sharp images
I needed a short and relatively light-weight lens that went out to 300mm. It had to fit in my regular camera bag. This lens was perfect. Originally purchased for a Rebel XT it worked great. Since then I've purchased a 5D mkII and, quite frankly, I'm going to let my wife keep this lens with the XT she inherited as the image isn't as sharp as my "L" series lenses and the lense is a bit sloe for concert photography. Saving my pennies for a 100-400mm or maybe even the 400 f4 prime. Nevetheless, this is a very goods lens on a 1.6x sensor. If you need compactness and light weight with a far reach on a 1.6, this is the way to go.
27 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM
Nickname: pro photographer
Location: Bristol, NH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Small yet sharp and practical

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, the size and weight
Cons: price
I have used this for newspaper concert coverage in very low light situations and for freelance work for winter sports and it has performed well even at 20 below zero. The size of the lense is an added plus while photographing concerts in varying light conditions. Not as sharp as fixed lenses, but for newspaper coverage and sports photography the quality of the images is excellent. A very useful lense. The autofocus has performed well for alpine ski racing in very harsh conditions. I have used a tripod with a 2 second delay for low light concert photography with very good results.
58 of 60 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM
Nickname: Bob
Location: Frederick, MD
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

A fantastic, versatile lens.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, easily deployable for a long lens
Cons: Poor build quality
There are two kinds of wildlife photography - setting up with a long lens on a tripod and waiting and those shots where you have to move and shoot quickly before the subject disappears. This lens is absolutely perfect for the second kind where you have to be ready to react and shoot in an instant. The sharpness is very good; color rendition excellent; and the size makes it virtually instantly deployable. Combined with an SLR with the smaller sensor ( a 1.6x effective focal length boost), you can have, in effect, up to a 480mm magnification. Yet, because of the IS, it is very steady and camera motion is quite effectively dampened. Its only two slight drawbacks are that the IS is somewhat noisy and that the lens barrel is slightly loose...even after I sent it back to Canon for adjustment. It does not seem to affect the crispness or clarity of the shots, however. This is one lens I would not be without.
157 of 158 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site